DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets $14.00
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 4
1 1
1 2
1 1
0 0
Gimmick\'s Guide to Gadgets
Click to view
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2005 00:00:00
It was was "OK" to me. I felt in made a system that was quite perfect as being simple VERY complex for not other reason, expect for being complex.




QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by J. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2005 00:00:00
This book has extensive rules for technology in your game. Computers, Robots, Power Armor, A.I.s, you name it. It is perfect for anyone who wants to add high tech gizmos or strange devices to their game. I highly recommend this book to, not just playing Mutants and Masterminds, but anyone who plays D20 Modern or D20 Future games as well.

LIKED: It was beautifully detailed, highly descriptive, and easy to intigrate into any D20 game.

DISLIKED: I only got one download and I lost it. So I ended up paying for a book I no longer have thanks to computer error. I wish the site had account, back up.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2005 00:00:00
Wow! All the technomania you could hope for for your M&M campaign.

LIKED: It's the M&M book on superhero technology - so it's got the hyperkitchen dimensional sink and more. I particularly liked how they had a list of gadgets, at least one for each Power. Also, the new archetypes are nice - the Sniper is a bit funny (except for an NPC/villain, since most heroes don't set out to kill villains execution-style with enormous rail gun rifles) but the Agent is essential. I felt they could have used a Green Arrow/Hawkeye/Captain Boomerang gadget-projectile archetype, since it's such a classic, but whatever.

DISLIKED: There wasn't as much as I'd have liked on Reed Richards-style hypertech and McGuffins, but I guess they couldn't fit in everything.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Harald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2005 00:00:00
This is the right stuff for people who want detailed rules on gadgets. What's missing is 'interesting' stuff about gadgets, like multi-part gadgets that turn into something else when put together, synsergies and interaction with non-device-powers.

I didn't like the graphics except for the picture of gimmick that's from the core rule book.

Nonetheless, there is a good measure of common sense inside as well.

LIKED: There is a good measure of common sense inside as well.

DISLIKED: not enough 'fluff' (would have loved more inside info about the meta4 universe, but this has not been written by super unicorn), the graphics are not comic-style enough for me

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Lowell F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2005 00:00:00
Tremendous. By far the best tech/gadget creation rules I've seen. Others, like Hero and Gurps go to the overly complicated and insanely technical. While some end up having no flavor (DC Heroes for example). This does a great job of finding the middle ground. Excellent examples, great layout and a really useful system.

LIKED: Pretty much everything.

DISLIKED: Normally I'd find at least one negative but this I really enjoyed.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Allan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2005 00:00:00
Excellent, I'm looking forward to the print version.

LIKED: I'm running a Sci-Fi game using the Mutants and Masterminds system and this book coveres several things about gadgets that were kinda glossed over in the core book.

DISLIKED: Nothing so far, although I havent read all of it so there might be a few little spelling mistakes or a mechanic i dont like... Who knows?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2005 00:00:00
Huge fan of all of the Green Ronin stuff sofar with very few exceptions.

LIKED: I liked the sample gadgets and the templates

DISLIKED: Major Pet Peeve regarding the PDF. If you print out the document double sided and then bind a copy, the page numbers are on the side with the binding unless you insert a blank page after the title page somehow.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gimmick's Guide to Gadgets
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Dave H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2005 00:00:00
I havent had the book long but am very disappointed. It basically takes an easy to understand device system and complicates it to the max. Gone will be the days of taking a simple ray gun (energy blast with device flaw). Now it will be much more complicated and cumbersome. This book is well writen but compleatly unnecessary. Stick with what you already have people. That said Technophiles might greatly enjoy this book. If you really want your campain based upon devices this is the book for you.
The new powers Marksman and Weaponsmater are far from worth the points required (5pts/rank).

LIKED: The look. The Archtypes.

DISLIKED: It greatly complicates a system that works perfectly fine with only very minor adjustments.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates