DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS $5.00
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 4
2 5
2 0
0 0
0 0
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Click to view
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2010 18:13:50
This is a good, basic, description of the Nazi menace in pulp adventure. As many others have pointed out here, it's hardly and exhaustive discussion, and much of the information included should simply serve to drive the conscientious GM onto the web to look up extra information for him/herself.

There are a large number of excellent plot hooks in this volume, and plenty of ideas on how to work the villains into your campaign. While I don't actually play Thrilling Tales, I do use the information contained in these volumes to help liven up my Call of Cthulhu scenarios -- and while this one is more clearly than most set in the mid- to late-30's, eventually (if they live long enough) my players will get there. And what will they think about the Nazis after confronting eldritch horrors for over a decade and a half? Hmmm.

The technical data included in the book is excellent and generally restricted to the time period being discussed -- no anomalous Tiger tanks here! And while I suppose you could accuse the authors of some mindless pedantry if you're so inclined, I generally felt they did a good job of selecting the material included and described in this supplement. The "bad guys" range from your average SA thug to more dangerous opponents including the ever-popular Nazi Sorcerer (by all means, check out "Ahnenerbe" on the web -- you'll be surprised!)

Still, there were a few surprising gaps in the volume, but an assiduous GM should be able to fill them in with little or no trouble if he's just curious enough to spend an evening surfing the web. DriveThru did their usual excellent job or reproducing this one -- no problems reading any of the material or viewing any of the art work. The biggest problem I had with this one is that it was too short. It could have easily been twice as long without wasting any space. Still, a good solid "4" effort.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Txabier A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2009 14:12:39
While basic in terms of historical information, it's holds its own as useful and game-specific tidbits to spice up your pulp campaigns.

It does well to point out that the "nazis being typical pulp villians" is a modern misconception, for they appeared as such near the end of the pulp era. Still, gives plenty of room for you to create a detailed campaign where your players have a go against these opponents in the pre and early war timeframes.

Used in conjunction with Zeppelin Adventures, you can have lots of hours of fun in a pre-WWII setting where Europe is in the brink of chaos, spies are everywhere and there's nothing a determined pilor/hero can't do to save his paramour, his reputation and the world, all at the same time.

The crunchy bits are the typical high-standard you can expect from Adamant Enetertainment and conforming well to the d20 usual fare. Still, there enough information in there to translate it to any system without having a nightmare pf a time doing so.

This is a nice addition to any pulp enthusiast's rpg collection. I recommend it heartily.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Brian T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2008 12:17:43
Very good work! Historically accurate, but leaving enough room for some fun pulp fantasy as well. The section on the U-boats and tanks was awesome, and can easily represent other countries tanks and subs! And what RPG geek wouldn't want to fall into the clutches of that Temptress (excuse me...I have to clean up the drool). While real Nazis (past and present) are no trival matter, the pulp version allows us wannabe heroes the chance to teach them a lesson. I have more Adamant products on my wish list, and, if this issue is any indication, I have no doubt I will be as thrilled with them. Now, Im' off to foil some Nazi plans!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2008 08:28:32
Its Pulp Nazis, the kind Indy punishes for being on the wrong side in the wrong place at the wrong time. Loathe them, hate them, then punch em the face. A good simple tome to get some understanding of a classic pulp villian.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2006 00:00:00
This describes Nazi thugs and plotters from Hitler's rise to power to the "close of the pulp era", that is, the outbreak of WWII. Thus, these are Indiana Jones' Nazis, not the opponents of wartime. The document contains a history of the Nazi party, iconic equipment and vehicles (including a zeppelin and a U-boat), standard NPCs and pulp-style plot hooks.

I won't complain that the history is simplistic and sometimes biased towards legend over fact, because the author has cleverly pointed this out in the introduction. However, in some ways, this doesn't go far enough. It seems at a couple of points (thinking particularly of a couple of the weapons) that facts have been included out of pedantry rather than for the purpose of _fun_. At other points the facts would have been more interesting and useful to the game than the cliches.

The standard NPCs range from SA headkickers to Nazi Sorcerors, and are solidly designed for the roles that they are intended to play. The Nazi Mad Scientist will require Thrilling Tales: Mad Scientist to play as his Mad Scientist class abilities are not described.

Not a bad short introduction to pulp Nazis and would have been a higher rating, at a lower price. edit: On second reading of the plot hooks section, it's got quite a bit in it, probably worth another star. Good occult stuff.

The PDF is not bookmarked or printer-friendly though it is short and not too intense on the graphics. It includes a Secret Squadron bonus code.









QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2006 00:00:00
Despite the fact that only in the more recent times have Nazis been associated with the pulps this is a decent resource. It allows you to combine different d20 Modern/OGL material to create adventures like Indiana Jones or the Richard Chamberlin King Solomon?s Mine.




LIKED: It contained a good deal of historical data, enough to start off any campaign set in the late 1930s.

DISLIKED: There wasn?t enough information on the Germany's Nazi Occult Bureau for my taste, but they did a good job with the material they did present.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Dave A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2006 00:00:00
Great information for use with a d20 campaign from the late 1920's through the beginning of the war. I am currently using this supplement on a regular basis to get ideas for my WWII d20 campaign. My players are in love with the era, now.


LIKED: A great history section helps enhance my DMing of Nazi Germany. The author obviously did his homework.

DISLIKED: I would have liked to see some information through the end of the war, but that was beyond the scope of the work.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2005 00:00:00
Nice piece of work. Lots of interesting information for those looking to add Nazis to their Pulp setting. It will give you the correct feelings to play these villains in your home campaigns.


LIKED: Tons of historical information for people to use for background info for their game.

DISLIKED: Wish I would have known that Modern Dispatch: Weapons of the Third Reich (#37) that lists it as a preview was more of a duplication of an equipment section here. I missed that part.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Modern Dispatch 37 is listed as an "excerpt", which should have made it fairly obvious that it was material taken from this release.
THRILLING TALES - Pulp Villains: NAZIS
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2005 00:00:00
This is just done well on all counts. In the RPG industry, that is a mjor accomplishment. See below for specifics.

LIKED: The tone, it was exactly the right for the genre. The line about Zepplins was particularly amusing. Also found the NPCs provided to be exceptionally useful. Beyond that, it was executed in a confident, clear manner.

DISLIKED: Well, I think that there could have been a little more in the way of Nazi specific weapons and equipment.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates