DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1 $3.60
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 12
2 16
0 1
0 0
0 0
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Click to view
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by bryant s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2009 02:53:12
Good when your tapped for ideas or just want something fresh from someone else's perspective. 12 characters(1/2 good, 1/2 bad) complete with origins that just scream use me. Personally like some of the origins they came up with, some are just the character cast in a different light while others are a complete 180 from eachother, heck one is a what if the character screwed up on the 1st day, Nice touch.

Timm-esk artwork only makes it better.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Nick K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2009 15:43:12
I have loved the Timm Animated art style for years now and am excited to have found a program that offers fun characters, as well as a way to create your very own. I think it's incredible that you can also just download the program onto your computer. I look forward to all the fun in continuing to create my own Timm art.

Great idea and product!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2008 06:16:53
The second MU set I've purchased, but the first sequentially. Happy to say that everything I liked about volume 2 seems to stand for volume 1 also. The same style of art and iconic heroes/villains holds up, though I do think the characters from volume 2 were slightly more interesting visually.

The stand-up cards are fine, just as before, and overall I think the product is very good. I do think a nice addition might be A4-size images of each character added into the .pdf, while I know this would increase the size of the files considerably, it'd also be very nice for players and GMs during the games.

As before, my only real issue is that I think these are slightly overpriced, which while it might account for the work gone into them, also prevents me from immediately buying another set... So I'm not sure if a slight price drop might not be viable if these are proving popular enough...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Cliff S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2008 04:41:50
This is evocative artwork that should give players and especially GMs character ideas. The origins are minimal, probably 6-8 sentences at most. The origin covers the subject, though - enough to get the creative juices flowing. Though Mirror Universe 1 was not my favorite of the bunch, I certainly would recommend this product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Franklin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2007 21:54:39
I am primarily interested in 25mm to 30mm scale cardstock figures; that's the main reason I bought this product. What this product actually contains is a large-scale stand-up for each of the characters, one per page, with a smaller-scale stand-up (the 25mm scale figure) in the corner of that character's page. Each character actually has a full-color page as well as a black-and-white page, so that's a plus for those of us who cannot afford color printing. But since my primary interest is the 25mm scale figures, I was disappointed in not having *ALL* of those 25mm scale figures collectively on *one* page. (I doubt I'd use the larger-scale stand-ups myself, but they are rather nice.) This lack is the only reason I've not rated this product as a "5"...(that's a not-so-subtle suggestion for a possible update).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2007 19:51:06
As someone with zero artistic ability it is always helpful to have a resource for character artwork. I like that this product give a Good and Evil version of each character and having each of them in a black and white version allows you to color them in to your liking. My only wish is that in the Black and White versions the logos on the characters uniforms were removed so you could draw in your own on the blank templates. Overall this is still a great product for the artistically challenged Super Hero RPG player.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Mark O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2007 13:13:55
Clean artwork in the DC animated style, very good characters that would make interesting heroes/bad guys in any campaign. I was very happy with this purchase. I have bought them all as they become available. I like that there is a version for either good or bad. This was a real good idea and I'm glad it is available.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2007 00:00:00
I picked this up because like pretty much all GMs of superhero campaigns, I'm always looking for more interesting characters. So is it worth it?

What you get:
12 character portraits done in the JLA Animated style. Pre-colored versions for folks who never learned how to use their crayons and line versions for you to customize and add your own effects to. These portraits are presented as small standees for players to put in front of themselves at the table so that everyone can see what everyone else looks like. I can see these being very useful at conventions.
Character tokens for the table, both in the Cardboard Heroes style of standup and the Villains & vigilantes square token.
Status flags to hang off each portrait.
6 character names, with two concepts attached to each and a picture for each concept. The concepts are a fair-sized paragraph each, and they tend to represent very different people with different powers (one pair of descriptions describes a character who simply had one pivotal event in his life go two different ways).

What you don't get:
Character stats of any kind.

On its own, I can see this series doing well with people who want graphic representations of characters, but aren't artists themselves. The colored images are quite nice, but I can see the line versions getting a *lot* of reuse with only minimal graphic manipulation.
Regarding Mutants and masterminds, I think that this product does very well when paired with Instant Superheroes. While that book provides stat blocks, it doesn't do much to flesh out the alternate takes on the archetypes. With Mirror Universe, you can get more mileage out of that book, adding depth to otherwise unassuming "physical boosters" and "eternal champions".



LIKED: As I mentioned, the images are very nicely done, and it's interesting to see how different two characters sharing a name can be.

DISLIKED: As mentioned in another review, the status flags should be on one page so that you don't have to print out everyone to have them all (or so that you don't have to go through the effort of photoshopping them together). Also, I would have preferred it if the images were bigger, say half a page, with a separate easel to be printed as needed, rather than reduced in size to have everything for one character squashed onto one page.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the comment. Good news for the Tokens, in the past we had a similar request from some of our customers and we released (for free) a web-enahcement addressing to this "problem" :-) (all the tokens in one page) . Check out Inspired Device's website (http://www.inspireddevice.com) and you'll find a couple of surprises.
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/28/2007 10:07:03
An RPG Resource Review:

Intended to provide ready-made superhero (or supervillain) character images, particularly for those who like to create their own original characters and perhaps whp are not very good at the comic-book art style, here is a collection of 12 to choose from.

Each one is depicted as a full-colour 'stand-up' display figure, with a matching miniature stand-up figure of a suitable size for those who like to use miniatures in their games and a counter-style one. For Mutants & Masterminds players, there is a set of condition markers you can hang on the large stand-up to show how well he is at the moment. And, if you don't have a colour printer or prefer a different colour scheme, the whole lot is also available in line art.

Moreover, if you are in need of quick ideas, each character drawing is accompanied by a one-paragraph outline of who that character could be, in fact 2 paragraphs one with him as a superhero and one for a supervillain. The range is wide, with both male and female, muscle-bound and swift-looking... and of course there are several more volumes if nobody here takes your fancy.

Overall a useful adjunct to superhero games, especially if you like to use minatures or character markers during play, and for those occasions when a verbal description just won't do!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Robert G. E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2007 08:06:38
I liked the idea of the stand up art pic and the miniature counter - and the suggestion to use the B&W ones to colour in yourself was nice.

The damage tokens are a good idea (and to be honest the main reason I tried this product), however I expected a single page to show all the tokens. As it is each token is printed on a character cut out page - so in order to print off all the tokens ('Staggered/Prone', 'Stablized/Dying', etc) you would need to print off all the colour standups!

Unfortunately I did not read the description of this product thoroughly enough and had expected full M&M stats to be present for each character, however only text concepts are present and the art. However this is no fault of the product.

I did notice a few minor typos as well (e.g. Benjamin Rock tried to hide is mutant "edge" - "is" should be "his").

Overall a good idea with a slightly flawed implementation. Adding M&M stats to the mix would make this a much better product (though I accept a likley more expensive product).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the comment, we are sorry for the lacks of game-stats (we'll try to state it more clearly in the future) but the Mirror Universe line was intended as a prop. Good news for the Tokens, in the past we had a similar request from some of our customers and we released (for free) a web-enahcement addressing to this "problem" :-) (all the tokens in one page) . Check out Inspired Device's website (http://www.inspireddevice.com) and you'll find a couple of surprises.
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Chason L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2007 00:00:00
Mirror Universe is a nice product, it explores a well used plot device from the comics genre and wraps it up in a fun player friendly book.


LIKED: Nice art, and some different concepts than you may see in some games.

DISLIKED: By the discription I expected a full page picture of each of the characters, not just the foldups.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2007 00:00:00
I was impressed with these products in general. The art is spot on, very much Bruce Timm-inspired, and I've used the concepts a number of times for NPCs.


LIKED: The art primarily, but the generic nature of the concepts allows them to be integrated easily.

DISLIKED: Not much.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Marcus E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2006 00:00:00
The look and design of these characters are excellent. Very reminiscent of a certain popular Super Hero animated series.

I love the mirror universe concept. Infact, I'm using the Good/Bad Thunderstorm character standees to tie into a plotline of a M&M campaing I'm running.


LIKED: Wonderful character design.
The inclusion of B&W as well as color standees is a plus.

DISLIKED: Either my printer, PC, or my version of Acrobat has a huge problem printing the pages. Right around the point of printing the giant standee, the printer slows to a snails pace. From here, it takes about 90 minutes to complete printing. If there is some way to optimze the PDFs for faster printing, that would be great for future releases.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2006 00:00:00
I love the Mirror Universe series, the Bruce Timm style characters and the duality of the characters is awesome and the entire series has proven to be one of the most useful character sets I've ever purchased.

Keep up the great work.


LIKED: The clean and colorful art and design.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 1
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Ted W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2006 00:00:00
I think these guys are great, in some ways they seem even more appropriate than using miniatures(and i'm a HUGE mniatures fan) for Superhero Games, as they add a great comic-book feel when placed on an appropriate battlemat.

Can't wait to see more


LIKED: Character designs and ease of use

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates