DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Modern Soldiers Set $3.00 $1.80
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 10
0 6
0 2
1 0
0 0
Modern Soldiers Set
Click to view
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2012 17:38:29
This set contains modern soldiers in varied poses, most of them carrying an assault rifle, although there are also a sniper, a soldier with a rocket launcher and one big guy carrying a machine gun. Some of them are in desert camo (like the one in the product image) while others use a jungle camo outfit. Besides the grunts, there are a medic and a sergeant -- however, the medic comes only in desert camo and the sergeant only in jungle camo... There are also a few other figures, including a sailor, paratrooper and officer, all of which seem to me a lot more like WWII than modern uniforms, and a soldier in a gray outfit and red beret marked as paramilitary. Figure scale is "true 25mm," with figures measuring around 23mm from feet to eye level. Poses and facial expressions are good, and the lighting adds volume to the figures.

I'm giving this four stars because it would be great to have all soldiers in both camo outfits (or even in a single outfit.) As it is, the jungle camo soldiers don't have a medic and the desert camo ones (which in my opinion look better) don't have support weapons or a sergeant.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2011 23:18:48
I love this set, except the vehicles. They are Tri's. I wish they had been box like the German and American WWII sets.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by will t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2010 15:04:42
Every set I have bought so far has been a great addition and this one is no exception. Want to save tons of money over metal mini's then this is for you. I am able to try out all the miniatures rules I have sitting around without breaking my wallet (it's broken enough!) Thanks again for another fantastic set.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Antonio M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2009 20:37:45
I am very impressed with this product. I especially like the tri-fold minis. The colors are also very good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by George L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2008 15:26:41
Great Product. Great Art. Includes Vehicles.

Good Company.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Stuart L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2008 17:13:56
Good looking figs, easy to construct. I like the fact that you have a choice as to the type oc fig you can make

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Troy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2008 02:14:22
Very handy for my upcoming zombie uprising night.

Needed some extra pre-chomp fodder

Good selection and high quality

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2008 13:21:58
This is just what I needed!!! The art is great!!! Now to print off hundreds of them!!!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2007 14:42:50
If you are playing an adventure that requires modern day soldiers in it, Graham and Arion Games have the figures for you!
The set is an excellent figure set in itself or an excellent stop gap measure until you save up the oodles of currency to buy metal figures.
Cannot beat the price!
Graham's artwork, skill and attention to detail is the best in the business!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2007 03:21:00
Nice set of varied modern soliders.

Liked: Quality

Disliked: The 4 pages of assembly instruction which are generic and so would be better as a seperate free download

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2007 00:00:00
This is a very disappointing set of paper miniatures. I suppose even the best publishers have their worst products, and this is certainly one of them. Several of the figures are just to beefy to be believable. Some of the figures are in woodland camo, others are in desert camo, but there aren't enough of any type to form a single squad. There are only two figures that are actually pointing their weapons at anything. I had purchased this set a while ago but I don't like to write my reviews until I've actually had a chance to use the product. I thought that I might find a use for this set, but even in my military horror campaign set in the modern day Middle East, I just can't use these figures. It's a real shame, too, because the figures are well rendered, and with the exception of the beefy guys, they look really good. There's just not enough of any one type to be able to use.


LIKED: The art is beautiful, as always.

DISLIKED: The set should have been expanded to include more poses, and more useful poses. Better yet, it could have been broken into two sets: woodland and desert camo, and each one expanded.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by lee s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2007 00:00:00
Nice Set, a good selection of models.
Now just need some Middel East sets with Non Combat types and I will be set.


LIKED: Sharp pics, good use of color

DISLIKED: Not all are Tri Figs, which would have been nice if they were

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Dennis Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2006 00:00:00
This set is well worth the money! Great looking mini's. Will buy More Sets. Looking forward to new sets.


LIKED: Good looking mini's.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jens H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2006 00:00:00
Very nice Artwork and realistic miniatures. Especially for Gamers , Gamemasters this Set is a very useful tool to get a lot of nice miniatures at a very low price.
I use them for GMing or for my tabletop skirmishes:-)


LIKED: The graphics are very detailed and the miniatures look very realistic.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Soldiers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2006 00:00:00
I have bought several of the fantasy themed sets and was happy with them, but this set is a little disappointing. Some of the figures have been taking too many steroids. They have huge bodies and tiny heads, even I didn't look that thick in body armor. The figures saluting could use a little work, you only salute in the rear, or salute officers you don't like at the front. I would suggest fielding a squad of figures, include the RTO (radioman), and a man with a grenade launcher, the rocket launcher should be an AT-4 or LAW, or even a Javelin. Include a heavy weapon like an M-2 (.50 cal). The vehicles would work better as four sided stand-ups. Also include a SAM site or SCUD launcher, the guys need something to blow up, and include a squad of badguys.
But in the sets defense, the price was good, and the quality is acceptable. I was just expecting more I suppose after the other sets. The detail is good, and the figures print out nicely.


LIKED: The price, and quality was OK.

DISLIKED: Some figures are a little out of proportion. The set could use a little more work.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates