DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition $19.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 13
14 5
2 0
1 0
0 0
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Click to view
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Peter G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2011 17:14:22
It's a good, mostly simple, system. Lately I had really wanted a superhero campaign, and I looked through this, Champions, and Heroes Unlimited. This is probably the easiest system of the three, and led to some fun gaming. I recommend it to anyone who doesn't despise the d20 system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Peter F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2010 00:32:02
When I first heard about Mutants & Masterminds, I was a bit skeptical to say the least. A d20 superhero game? Really? And what's with that name? The whole thing just reeked of bandwagon-ism. As an old Champions fan and a more recent buyer of Silver Age Sentinels, I was more than a little dubious.

Then I read it. The original Mutants & Masterminds was a brilliant example of both how to reimagine a system for your own purposes *and* how to do a superhero game. It captured both the mechanics and the spirit of superheroic adventure perfectly. Simple combat systems and a clean but infinitely-expandable character creation system, rivaling Hero Games in potential but vastly easier to use, made M&M the best superhero game since Champions revolutionized gaming twenty years earlier.

When I read the guidelines on converting from First to Second Edition, I was once again unsure. I loved the changes to skills and Hero Points, but the apparent alterations to Extras and tweaks to Feats, both power and regular, worried me.

I should've known better by then. To paraphrase from another hero's catch phrase, they're still the best at what they do. More streamlined and balanced, easier than ever to read and play, Mutants & Masterminds 2e isn't just the best superhero game on the market, it just might be the best overall roleplaying system ever. There's a reason they've done expansions for fantasy and anime. It just works.

Now, as of this review, M&M is down to ten bucks. Ten bucks! Not only is it one of the best RPGs on the market, as a PDF it's one of the best deals you're likely to find. So. Are you ready to save the world, hero?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by James F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2009 19:35:55
I am really enjoying reading this rulebook and can't wait to run my first game.

My only complaint is that the Bookmarks are not working on the Second Edition, 4th printing. I sent an email to Green Ronin but haven't heard back yet. I'm sure they'll fix it and send us the updated version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2008 12:01:25
Mutants & Masterminds, second edition is an excellent product with only a couple of flaws.
It's a solid d20-based system, that takes the core mechanic all the way to it's extreme end, and does so beautifully. The core mechanic of rolling a d20 and adding stuff, then comparing the total to a target number (DC) is used for almost every aspect of the game, from attacks to damage to skills. It's elegant and pretty consistent.

The powers system is extremely accommodating. With a bit of thought, I have been able to reproduce every power and power set possessed by every fictional (or non-fictional) character I've thought of. From the miracles of Jesus, to the powers of a Green Lantern, to the magic talismans of the Jackie Chan adventures, it's been quick and fairly painless. The extras and flaws mechanics, combined with power feats, does a great job of providing nearly limitless customization; with a few additional flaws and extras (usually worked out by myself and the guy running the game, for really odd ideas) I've been able to do exactly everything I've wanted to do.

Unlike most d20 games, you can actually have all of the feats and skills you want, right now. And at exactly the values you want. Wonderful.

The PL cap system is brilliant, allowing a costumed human detective and a flying, super-strong alien to operate at the same level, fighting the same villains, while still feeling like completely different characters. It effectively allows two different styles of progression, one where you get more rounded and another where you gain more raw power, and you can even combine the two.

The example archetypes included in the book are pretty good starting points, though they seem to make greater use of the Impervious extra than they really need to.

There are a few highly unbalanced combinations of powers. These include being Concealed from all senses (except touch), being completely incorporeal, being able to fry someone's brain from your bomb shelter on the other side of the planet, and several others that are pretty obvious when you sit down and read through them. These powers can still be fair and fun, with a little bit of common sense and utilization of the existing flaws.

LIKED: Simple elegance of the basic design. Extremely flexible powers system, coupled with fun and interesting drawbacks / complications mechanics. Brilliant Power Level system to keep most things roughly balanced.

DISLIKED: Unique subsystem for most powers; while this makes each power feel special, it makes it very difficult to remember how many powers work during the game. Movement powers quickly become dominant; if you don't have any movement powers then you are at a serious disadvantage once things get mobile.

VALUE: Outstanding

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Arlene G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2008 15:50:33
exceltnet buy and they fix issue with the original game system. Easy to read, especially the PDF formated one, and a fun game to pay.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Martin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2007 19:33:28
This is, hands down, the best superhero RPG in the world! (I have tried Champions, and was an avid player for YEARS, but I adore M&M so much MORE than Champions!) This game is easy enough for my non-RPG playing friends to pick up and play...

Most of the difficulty for virgin players lies within the process of creating a character from scratch. But with a little help and a calculator, even the dumbest players can still create the character that they want to play ... and none of my players are idiots by any means! And, I am the GM, so I know my players!

All of the art within the core rulebook is on par with comics that are being published today, and Steve Kenson is a frakking genius!

The game play is well thought out, yet not too restrictive. It's flexible enough to play virtually any genre, and with the supplements to flesh out the world of Freedom City and beyond, it's a wholly entertaining experience for GM and Players alike!

All in all, I would give this product a 10 out of 10 rating. Most of the supplements are in the 8, 9 or 10 out of 10 range, too (especially the Freedom City Sourcebook and the Instant Superheroes book, which are both 10 out of 10 to me!)

BUY THIS BOOK! You will never regret it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2007 00:00:00
This is simply great. It is a tremendous game.




LIKED: The amazing flexibility of the system.

DISLIKED: Character generation can be a little complicated the first few times, but it's not as math heavy as other point-buy systems.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2007 00:00:00
This is the best system for the comic book superhero genre I have ever seen. Its effect-based system allows you to duplicate almost any power you can think of, and the mechanics capture familiar conventions of the genre like spontaneously pulling off incredible stunts with super powers or giving everything you've got in a pinch. It's clear that this game was thoughtfully designed by people who love comics, superheroes, and roleplaying.


LIKED: It's an excellent system, the book has great art, and having a copy in PDF is extremely handy.

DISLIKED: When I purchased my PDF, it wasn't current with the publisher's latest errata. Buyer beware.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2006 00:00:00
As a veteran Champions/HERO system gamer, I couldnt resist. Their art, layout, and marketing is fabulous. And, for those who are afriad to stray from the overly-restrive but structured and defined world of d20, M&M is a pretty fun game. It is to the superhero genre of today what Villans and Viligantes was to the original AD&D 20 years ago. If you're stuck on using d20 and want a supers game, this is the only show in town. But I'd still recommend trying the HERO system, which truly allows unlimited flexibility in creating a character.


LIKED: Beautiful, and really amazing how they twist d20 to create a playable supers game--if I didnt see it, I wouldn't have believed it could be done, but they did!

DISLIKED: Hey, its based on d20, a system designed for medieval fantasy. They really have to twist the heck out of it to make it work, and, coming from a HERO system backround, I found it to be very constrained as far as what you could design your character to do.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Luca T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2006 00:00:00
Very good product, some of the problems of the 1st edition has been adressed. This is the best Superheroic RPG system.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Kenneth N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2006 00:00:00
I like the game system, it looks good, plays well and is adaptable.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by R G. E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2006 00:00:00
I am still reading through this book but I am very impressed and looking forward to running the game.

It's greatest strengths to me are applying a very simple Points Buy character generation system onto the D20 system, and having effects based powers that are very flexible.

A great game, and if you are planning on setting your game in a city of your own design (or a real world city) this book seems to be all you need.


LIKED: The full colour artwork, the simplification of the D20 system and the points buy character creation system.

DISLIKED: A number of powers are just other powers with some modifiers or a different descriptor. I woudl have liked all the core powers (e.g. Blast and Ability Drain) listed and then a section showing how to combine those powers (Disintegration being Linked Blast and Ability Drain).

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2006 00:00:00
Fantastic update of what was already the best superhero rpg


LIKED: Art, writing, layout all top-notch

DISLIKED: I think that all rpgs should include a demo encounter with tutorial of game concepts, and I'd apply the rule to MnM as well. Not a negative so to speak, more a suggestion.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by George O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2006 00:00:00
Very good game and a good value. I especially like that updated files are free (that include errata).

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds, Second Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2006 00:00:00
I've been looking for a good superhero system for a while. I've been playing the classic marvel game adn Aberrant for ages, however, both systems are no longer supported.

I was pleased to discover M&M, but waited a while before I picked it up. I wish I hadn't it's a great system that I can only recommend to others.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates