DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Sci-Fi Civilians Set $5.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 11
1 4
0 1
0 0
0 0
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Click to view
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2009 07:55:27
Arion is still the industry standard. These figures have appeared on so many of my gaming tables that it would take too long to enumerate them for this review. I'm sitting at my home office desk and can see several on a shelf and I have several drawers in a parts box filled with figures from this set alone. Highly useful for most sci-fi settings, and probably all sci-fi settings with a forgiving (or predominantly near-sighted) gaming crew. This set has stood the test of time. If I lost the file, I would download it again, if I couldn't do that, I'd pay full price again.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Tony T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2009 02:01:06
Great looking minatures at a price that will keep my wife from killing me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by larry s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2009 00:39:47
Excellent value for you money. Arion Games is a great source for inexpensive, light weight and hard-to-find props. Their historical, medieval, pulp, modern and scifi paper minis look good and add an extra element to gaming. I use both plastic/metal minis and paper minis. The option of flat or tri-fold is great- the tri-fold fit better with the 3D minis i have, but the option for flat is nice to have.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2009 17:11:04
What can be said that hasn't already? High quality, diverse, immaginative. A must-have for any SF activity.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Brett G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2008 21:40:32
Pewter or plastic minis are great but can be cost prohibitive when amassing a reasonable variety for a campaign. Arion Games paper minis are a cost effective alternative that look great and can be printed in whatever quantities are needed. When printed on cardstock, they are also fairly durable. Most come in both 2-sided and 3-sided formats and all are in full color. Even if you intend to acquire more traditional miniatures over time, these paper miniatures are an outstanding base from which to start. Highly recommended!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Herbert P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2007 00:00:00
Just what I was looking for. I am not a RPG player, but SciFi diorama builder and those ar just perfect for my new space port. Thanks, indeed.


LIKED: nicely done and good detail

DISLIKED: all OK!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Brad F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2007 00:00:00
I have had this set for awhile and it among a few of the other minature sets available from Arion have been very useful in my campaigns. Generally, I'll bust out the ol' paper minatures when I am having a complicated battle or to prove a point. Lately, though, it seems to help to have a few set up as NPC's so that it is easier to imagine the senario. Anyways, good set.


LIKED: The artwork is gorgeous.

DISLIKED: It left me wanting more and more figures! Plus my fiance making fun of me playing with my paper "dolls".

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi, Thanks for the review. I am glad you like the figures, but i am afraid we can't help with the fiance!
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2007 00:00:00
Another A-1 Arion set.
It was long waited for; I had been waiting a while for this set.
Unfortunately, the only thing really wrong with Arion is that there is only one Graham.
As a result he can only come out with ~6 sets a year, but they are all great quality.
Shame he does not have a clone or two.



LIKED: Civilians at last!
Plus, there were needed police and other civilians vehicles present.

DISLIKED: Need children.
I do not mean to sound bigoted, but all of the games I play are human only.
As a result, too many aliens and not enough humans in the set.
Need more human civilians!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Barton S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2007 00:00:00
The figures were acceptable, I was only SLIGHTLY disappointed by them.


LIKED: Good price for the product. Some figures were very well done.

DISLIKED: Some figures do not have a good "sci-fi" flavor to them. They look more like moderns (21th century).

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2006 00:00:00
A great set to fill my space station for a sci-fi minis game I run. With the aliens here matching the other sets it made it easy to create races and keep them consistant through out.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Daryl D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2006 00:00:00
V. Good set--possibly targeted toward some D20 system--the green guys with the ears (like the girl on the cover) aren't my style of alien....


LIKED: Good mix of NPC/PC types

DISLIKED: the Greys, LGM characters--kinda pulp Sci Fi.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Dennis Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2006 00:00:00
This set is well worth the money! Great looking mini's. Will buy More Sets. Looking forward to new sets.


LIKED: Good Looking on the board

DISLIKED: nothing. everything i expected

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2006 00:00:00
Possibly my favorite set; a mix of characters that could fit anywhere from near-future to space opera.


LIKED: Plenty of civilians that could fit into a near-future campaign.

DISLIKED: A few too many aliens for me, but YMMV.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Christopher Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2006 00:00:00
Bought for use with Blue devil games Dawning Star RPG most counters will work well apart form the alien species, but hold onto them as the Helios rising will have aliens.

Anyhoo I found the civilians set to provide a good mix of Male/ Female and a few children, everything I need for a samll colony.

The robot walkers are quite useful too, as is the Car but the single seat speeder looks to much like an certian elf like jetbike from a popular sci fi minis game for my liking.

Overall very happy with this, I also purchased the sci fi soldier set to save these unarmed civilians colony.

And this week up till 13th of July 2006 you get a free set of the little green men Darcassians I think.


LIKED: Good mix of Male/Femaland children and occupations for a hard sci fi setting

DISLIKED: That funky speeder bike

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Rob M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/29/2006 00:00:00
If you are like this reviewer, you have neither the desire, nor space, nor cash, to ?collect? traditional miniatures. Yet, with the tactical combat systems used in many game systems these days, being able to bust out the battle mat and a set of minis is often necessary. Thus you find yourself looking for a practical and inexpensive option for your miniatures needs. Paper miniatures meet this need. When they are packaged as a PDF, you are provided with a readily available source of minis for your games, being able to print as many of a particular figure as you need, without having to invest too much money in them, or time and effort, in the case of those who paint their minis. In short, paper minis are an attractive option for their low cost and convenience, and are also logical options for ?collectors? needing a particular miniature, or several of them, for their game.

The figures in Arion Games? miniatures sets come in 3 styles, ?A-frame?, ?Flat?, and ?Triagonal?. The ?A-frame? and ?Flat? figures can be constructed from the same sheets, depending on how they are cut out. The ?Triagonal? minis are constructed from a separate sheet. These construction choices provide additional options in preparing your minis for use in the game, major characters or monsters can be constructed as the ?Triagonal? versions to provide a more visual flair, and to emphasize their importance. Other figures can be done as ?A-Frame? or flat versions to make them easier to handle or distinguish them from each other, thus providing a functional use beyond their graphical characteristics. Vehicles done as Triagonal versions of the minis work very well, giving a better impression of their relative size.

The instructions, which are not included in this PDF, but are available on the publisher?s website, are easy to follow and assembling the minis is quick and painless, just requiring a bit of work with scissors and some glue. The minis look good, even when printed on plain paper. Each figure is drawn from a 3D rendering (done in Poser using figures provided by DAZED, according to the credits), providing sharp detail and life-like shading, even when printed.

This 5 page PDF (6 with cover) provides a set of 30 figures. It includes three Cop figures, which all look good, two Engineer figures, two Pilot figures, one Agent figure, one Scientist figure, one medic figure, twenty general Civilian figures, including five different types of aliens as well as humans. The aliens include a cat-type humanoid, a Twi-lek looking alien, a green skinned alien with large pointed ears, a statuesque purple-skinned female type, and a white-skinned imperious looking humanoid alien species. There are two examples of each alien species except for the twi-lek looking one. All of the alien types look good, and would be easily adaptable to most SF RPG?s. It also includes 4 ?vehicle? figures, two Police Patrol Walker type robots, a Hovercar, and a Skorpion Personal Transport.

Overall, this is an excellent product from Arion Games. The array of figures and variety of costume types is very good, the aliens are good looking and adaptable to many settings, all of the vehicles look good. Many of the figures can be used in modern and near-future settings as well, and a few in fantasy settings, giving you extra bang for the buck. Adding in the fact that you can print as many as you need, and prepare your own figure sheets, this is excellent value as well. If you are looking for some extra?s to fill out the set of your space station shootout, all of these figures would do nicely. The large number of figures is also a plus as a well, making it a better than average value.



LIKED: Purple skinned alien chicks, Police Walker, large number of figures.

DISLIKED: No wookies, no slave girls!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates