DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Zodiac Ring
Publisher: Lame Mage Productions
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2012 14:34:11
A good resource for almost any superhero campaign. Zodiac Ring works as an adventure or better yet a mini-campaign within an established ongoing game. There is a lot to like here, from the well thought out set-up to solid advice on how to progress through and finish the storyline.

The artwork and NPC roles are less inspired, but it doesn't take away from a low-cost campaign that is easy to read and ought to be just as easily to implement in your superhero campaign. It is intended for Mutants & Masterminds but could work easily for most superhero games.

- I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.co.uk/2012/12/zodiac-
-ring-review.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zodiac Ring
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secret of the Dead Man's Satchel
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2012 05:07:06
It isn't the adventure that will convert all non-believers to Macabre Tales and it could do with expanded information for the Referee in a couple of key places. However, it isn't a bad adventure and in the hands of a horror veteran Ref', this could provide a good evening of entertainment on whatever system you enjoy.

- I have a more in-depth review at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/macabr-
e-tales-secret-of-dead-mans.html

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of the Dead Man's Satchel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knowledge Illuminates
Publisher: GM Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2012 06:47:02
For a low price you get a small, well-mapped and entirely playable dungeon environment, some exterior sites, a little background for the writer's campaign world and that's about your lot. Usable but unimpressive.

I have a more in-depth review of this adventure at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2012/02/knowledg-
e-illuminates-review.html

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Knowledge Illuminates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Woodland Warriors At Sea
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2011 18:35:01
A fine addition to an already well-developed game line. This puts a little grim guts and glory into Woodland Warriors but doesn't overshadow any of the work that has come before it. It lacks some details but in other respects it is a good addition, with new rules, many new character options and a new setting to play in.

I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/12/woodland-
-warriors-at-sea-review.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodland Warriors At Sea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dogs Of War
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2011 09:00:54
Dogs of WAR is a game with a lot of potential. The system is quick and easy to use, where it expands on Barbarians of Lemuria it does so well, and there is some nice artwork hidden between these pages. However, the layout and presentation really let this one down, and the game is crying out for a revision, perhaps one that expands to encompass other action/espionage material.

I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/08/dogs-of--
war-review-part-i.html

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dogs Of War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2011 06:39:21
Quite possibly the finest swords and sorcery role-playing game out there. With a simple, intuitive system, a focus on bold adventures and sagas, BoL tosses out anything that doesn't belong in a world of savage bloodshed, thievery and dark magic. Recommended without hesitation.

I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/08/barbaria-
ns-of-lemuria-review-part-i.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS! Comic Book Role Playing Game
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2011 17:47:04
An easy-to-learn, quick-to-play superhero game that sticks to its guns on the kind of comic adventures it emulates, ignoring modern "dark" heroes in favour of the colourful and iconic silver-age style. Well-written and solid in implementation, Supers! is a good book indeed.

- I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/07/supers-r-
eview-part-i.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Comic Book Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Woodland Warriors Out West
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2011 04:22:20
A well-implemented variant setting. Your mileage may vary depending on your interest in a fantasy-western mix, but if you have even the slightest interest in the ideas and rules presented here, I'd recommend this one. A substantial outing for Woodland Warriors, superior to Greyrock Isle.

I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/07/woodland-
-warriors-out-west-review.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodland Warriors Out West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Woodland Warriors Greyrock Isle Setting
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2011 05:15:03
A solid, workable campaign setting with a Robin Hood vibe. It adds kind, classes, and some optional rules that fit snugly into the core game. The lack of an adventure is the only real failing.

- I have a more in-depth review at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/07/woodland-
-warriors-greyrock-isle-review.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodland Warriors Greyrock Isle Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Woodland Warriors Rpg
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2011 09:23:27
Woodland Warriors is a toolkit role-playing game built up from an old school rules set that doesn't 100% work for it, but does serve well enough. It is not entirely a bare-bones product, presenting a setting and reasonably good quick start adventure. For anyone who likes the idea of intelligent and civilized animal characters without a hint of anime-furry basis, but who couldn't get into Mouseguard due to the oddities of the Burning Wheel rules, this is a good choice.

- I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/06/woodland-
-warriors.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodland Warriors Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Piledrivers and Powerbombs: Chokeslam of Darkness Edition
Publisher: Prince of Darkness Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2011 16:07:36
P&P tosses out huge move lists and complex fighting mechanics and replaces it with a quick bluff/fold playing card system to get through matches, interviews, etc.

The focus here is the heated feud between wrestlers. If you’re expecting to get the bone crunching move-by-move element of pro’ wrestling, this isn’t for you, try Wild World Wrestling instead. Otherwise, this might be what the role-playing wrestling fan has been waiting for.

- I'm also doing a more complete review at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/ over this week.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Piledrivers and Powerbombs: Chokeslam of Darkness Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wild World Wrestling: Main Event Edition
Publisher: Timeout Diversions
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2010 18:19:38
I playtested the original Know Your Role rpg a few years ago, and was sorely disappointed when it finally crept out and went ignored and unsupported. So when I heard about Wild World Wrestling I had to take a look.

There is a lot to like here...

A well-considered revision of the d20 rules, and a clear attempt to bring out the major aspects of professional wrestling. Gimmick enhancements replace replace feats, and classes are thankfully gone. The classic D&D abilities are gone, with wrestling styles instead, DEX is now athleticism, STR is now power, etc. Flaws are excellently handled too, with your opponent picking when to activate them to best effect, so no-one is taking inconsequential disadvantages that will never crop up! The manouevre creation rules look a lot tighter too, though I suspect they can still be broken horribly by someone who really tries.

I've read it through, tried a few matches and found them to my liking. While it will take a few shows for me to get the hang of all aspects of the rules system, I think they are well-reasoned. In all respects, this is what KYR ought to have been.

As for bad points...

A .pdf without proper indexing is just lazy. Also the cover art, while not terrible is oddly out of place with all the interior photographry. It isn't the prettiest book going, but I can easily accept that this wasn't the highest priority. While not truly a negative, some rules cheat sheets would have been nice.

Overall...

For a mere £3.22 this is a top quality product and a must-buy for any gamer who is also a wrestling fan. It is quite clearly written with an appreciation and understanding of the sport, and a grasp of how to bring it to life in a game. I definitely hope to see more material for Wild World Wrestling. The genre is very niche in this hobby, and while this doesn't have the licensed name that Know Your Role did, it is in every respect the superior product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wild World Wrestling: Main Event Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mirror Universe : : Volume 6
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2008 16:35:34
I previously marked down this volume of Mirror Universe due to some technical errors that meant the .pdf didn't contain the advertised material. Inspired Device got in touch with me soon after, apologized, corrected the error and provided me full downloads again to make up for it. That's some fast service folks! Fastest I've ever seen on here - So ignore any negative review or rating from me if it remains here.

Anyhow, to review this product is easy enough... It's another fine addition to the range, and I now own all of them! So clearly I think the set is worth it. More cartoon style superhero art (think Justice League Unlimited) provided in colour and b&w, some suggested origins be they hero or villain. Fine stuff indeed. My other reviews are more concise, so I needn't repeat myself here, suffice to say the high quality is upheld throughout and I can't wait to see more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mirror Universe : : Volume 5
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2008 10:14:21
As I've now bought all of the Mirror Universe sets, I'm reviewing 3, 4, and 5 together here. 1 and 2 I reviewed recently and 6 I will review later.

3, 4 and 5 continue the line at its basic strengths, nice looking, cartoon-style superhero cut-out art cards. The good/bad alternates for each are as inspired as the first two volumes, though there is now greater variety I would say. The overall vibe is still very much a silver-age/bronze-age one which is fine for me but maybe not perfect for anyone hoping for more dark and gritty heroes/villains.

Ultimately these are a fine tool for use with any superhero campaign, especially as either quick heroes and villain inspiration, or simply as visual tools. Oh, and check the Inspired Device homepage for previews and freebies if you're undecided, or if you fancy a horde of faceless footsoldiers, heh.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mirror Universe : : Volume 3
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2008 10:14:15
As I've now bought all of the Mirror Universe sets, I'm reviewing 3, 4, and 5 together here. 1 and 2 I reviewed recently and 6 I will review later.

3, 4 and 5 continue the line at its basic strengths, nice looking, cartoon-style superhero cut-out art cards. The good/bad alternates for each are as inspired as the first two volumes, though there is now greater variety I would say. The overall vibe is still very much a silver-age/bronze-age one which is fine for me but maybe not perfect for anyone hoping for more dark and gritty heroes/villains.

Ultimately these are a fine tool for use with any superhero campaign, especially as either quick heroes and villain inspiration, or simply as visual tools. Oh, and check the Inspired Device homepage for previews and freebies if you're undecided, or if you fancy a horde of faceless footsoldiers, heh.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 60 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates