DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Basic Roleplaying
Publisher: Chaosium
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2008 05:40:22
I have had this RPG book for some time have found it to be a very simple system to use. Things I like about BRP are the use of all the dice and the fast character creation. The system uses D100 or checks and the other dice for damage (similar to D20). Its simple making it useful for when the young and new players (with 16 pages its not very daunting read for a young player) or when the GM is away. It does require an experienced player to act as GM.
What the system does not have is a Magic system or an extensive Monster section. This does mean that a GM has to do a lot of the work but If you like customising game systems it gives you a great start. I would like to see Chaosium Basic Roleplaying Creatures Book and Basic Roleplaying Magic Book available as a PDF download as these are not available in the UK.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Counter Collection Digital v.2.0 SILVER (2005 Expansion)
Publisher: Fiery Dragon
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2006 16:01:06
Total Rip-off. This product contains an ISO file (what ever that is?) and no instructions on how to use it. I have the original Counter Collection Digital and as it says whated to expand the collection. I was hoping for jpeg files (like in the original CD) so I could burn a new CD with the new images. If you know how to use ISO files, this product is fine. If not, (like Me) this file is a wast of money and time.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Counter Collection Digital v.2.0 SILVER (2005 Expansion)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Props :: Kit 01
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2006 00:00:00
I can honestly say that this is one of the coolest products I have come across. I used it last night at the Role-playing Club I go too. Worked like a dream and made the evening more fun. I like using props in my games and this has been one of the best.
The assembly was easy but I had to use the mirror function on my printer for the middle wheel so it matches up with the blank mini-map in the booklet. I did have some problems keeping track of what squares I had marked on the rotating wheels. A mini-rotating version of the battle board would have made life easier or more runes.
I cannot comment on the d20 stats and rules options as I?m running a campaign using the FUDGE system but the prop is generic and scenario ideas are a good starting point. I used the labyrinth with a Fudge styled ?Deck of Many Things? (another dungeon prop that Inspired Device could do?). The prop can only be really used once but at this price that is no problem.
I look forward to seeing more Dungeon Props.



LIKED: Cool looking prop, generic enough to use in any system.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Props :: Kit 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

People, Places, and Things: You are Here
Publisher: Second Rat Games
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2006 00:00:00
With this product you do not just get a bunch of battle maps butyou also get an 80 page book (plus front and back covers). The Battle Maps are functional but compared to other battle maps that are available, these are somewhat amateurish. The Maps are created with Dunjinni and has its logo on the bottom right hand corner of each one. Again I have seen better quality maps done with Dunjinni. Nearly all the maps have buildings which have corners or edges that go over to another page leaving ? of a page with a blank square grid. A few have a complete page with a blank square grid.

The book has a scaled down version of the battle maps for each location. Here the maps work well and are better suited to this use. The Book uses about 2 pages for each location which includes a general description of the place, its owner(s) and 3 plot ideas, usually one for supernatural, one for super hero and one for spy/espionage genres. The book has a number of silly typing/spelling errors and some of the page numbers are half covered by maps. The Artwork is in the form of general clipart but is OK. Despite it faults, the book is very useful and I have no regrets about buying it. I can see myself using it a lot for my modern RPG games and is a truly generic product. I hope to see an update soon and would consider buying any generic fantasy or/and Sci-fi products like this but must be at a better quality.



LIKED: The Book, a Generic Modern RPG GM tool which has a lot of potential.

DISLIKED: Silly spelling errors. Page numbers half covered by maps. The battle maps I am not even going to bother to print.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
People, Places, and Things: You are Here
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2006 00:00:00
I like these small useful little maps over the big 20 tiles plus E-adventure sets. However, there does seem to be some bits missing like a Bar and one of the centre support posts seems to cut through one of the tables and resting on the floor rug. I hope that this will be corrected anf updated.


LIKED: Useful small map and outstanding artwork.

DISLIKED: Missing Tavern parts and errors.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hack-n-Slash: Fantasy Roleplay
Publisher: Digital Alchemy
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2006 00:00:00
As the Fudge Rule book already has its own Fantasy system I had some misgivings about getting this product but I am glad I did. What you get is a very good Fudge supplement or players handbook for Fantasy RPG using Fudge. The absence of a GM section means that you cannot call it a complete system. However, it does have a limited but useful Bestiary. I would like to see a Hack n Slash DM handbook to follow this one. Ideally with a simple dungeon creation system like that in the old DnD Basic as well as an expanded Bestiary.


LIKED: Useful as a player?s manual for Fantasy games using Fudge. Condensed and simple content with good artwork.

DISLIKED: No GM section but I hope that Digital Alchemy would produce one in the future. No Back and Front Covers.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hack-n-Slash: Fantasy Roleplay
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OVA - Open Versatile Anime Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Wise Turtle Publishing
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2006 00:00:00
This is a rules lite style Anime RPG full of High quality Artwork. The system uses 2d6 dice pool style with additional dice added or subtracted as modifiers. Only the highest die is used but doubles are added together. Characters are made up of Abilities and Weaknesses plus basic stats for age, gender etc but the system does not use ability stats like Str, Dex, Con, etc. The rules have a very good selection of sample character and NPC as well as how to examples throughout. Overall, Rules does have a BESM feel to it but is a rules lite.

The Artwork is outstanding; the rules contain 10 full page illustrations plus other colour artwork throughout. However, this is a problem, as a PDF its high cost to print makes it expensive. If you are in a part of the world where you can get it printed, do so. If like me, you do not live in the USA and only have an inkjet, its going to cost you. A printer friendly version with just the front and back covers, with the Black and White interior line art would be very welcome.


LIKED: Sound Lite RPG system with outstanding Artwork

DISLIKED: Overdone Colour Artwork makes is a High cost PDF product to print. Would like to have seen a Printer Friendly version. Hence my value rating is "Disappointed".

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OVA - Open Versatile Anime Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2005 00:00:00
An excellent gaming aid, empty caverns and dungeon rooms will never be the same (and any room or location that seems a bit bland). The only thing I dislike about it is the d20 element in some of the Bits but it is still usable with any fantasy RPG with very little alteration, but I would have preferred a totally generic product. Still it is a very useful DM tool and well presented will good layout and graphics. I like the random use where you can roll d100 for a bit to fit into the adventure when things are getting dull. As a bundle this product is a great saving.


LIKED: Well presented and useful DM tool

DISLIKED: The D20 element, I would have preferred a totally generic gaming aid

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00
BASH uses a simple and common sense approach Role-playing. I got this on the strength of the Super Hero Rules and I have not been disappointed. In fact I would say its better than the original. It is better set out, no type/formatting errors (that I have seen so far), and separate PDF file for the printer friendly version. At first when reading through, it started to look like just a rehash of the original but in a fantasy setting with the powers just becoming magical powers. But the next section puts the powers into colleges of magic based on elements and renamed to fit the genre. The Colleges of Magic I really like and will be using in my games. The Rulebook has a very good selection of common fantasy monsters, a sample adventure and sample characters. What really sets this rule book apart form others is the Attentive Fantasy setting section at the back. It gives scope of a lot of games beyond the normal fantasy genre. I think I will be using this rulebook a lot and for some time.

Again some minor faults that is in the original Super Heroes Rules:
One illustration is in color which is not in keeping with the rest of the illustrations. I do like the grayscale illustrations.

Still, I would have liked to have seen some rules for using miniatures and battle maps as I have known from my own kids they do like to use them. But it should be easy to include these in your game.


LIKED: The whole lot and would like to give it 6 stars.

DISLIKED: None really

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Well Steve, glad you liked the book. We will be coming out with a Science Fiction book as well in the future, which will likewise deal with the varying sub-genres, hopefully pleasing fans of everthing from space opera to cyberpunk to Jules Verne! I am currently also writing a story-arc for BASH Fantasy set in the Swashbuckling setting and another set in the feudal Japan setting, both of which will be in commercial release in the near future.
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00
BASH uses a simple and common sense approach Role-playing. I have been looking for a Super Hero RPG for some time and have no regrets about buying this one. Not long after I had downloaded the rulebook and told my kids about it, they wanted to play it. You will have had to have some experience of Role-playing as these rules are not for the beginner but I have got a little feed up with rules that seem to spend some time telling what a role-playing is about. The System is based around comic book theme with pages instead of rounds and a panel for character actions.

There is a few minor faults that I hope Basic Action Games will change make the rulebook perfect.
As the system was originally designed for kids I have found one of the illustrations unsuitable for kids (Pyre needs a flame resistant Bra) and my kids prefer the illustrated version over the printer friendly.
Illustrated and printer friendly is on the same PDF.
Some minor typing/formatting errors: The Golden Rule text changes font which looks odd, ?What can I do in a Panel?? Goes 4, 5 and 6 in the printer friendly section.
One illustration is in color which is not in keeping with the rest of the illustrations. I do like the grayscale illustrations.
I hope to see an update with these improvements as I really do like these rules.

I would have liked to have seen some rules for using miniatures and battle maps as I known from my own kids; they do like to use them. But it has been easy to include these in our game.


LIKED: The whole lot. Good solid RPG system.

DISLIKED: Only minor faults given in the comments above. Still gets 5 stars.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Basic Action Super Heroes (Original Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your enthusiasm! I hope you and your family enjoy playing this game as much as I do! I have been using miniatures and battlemats to play it since I first wrote it. I guess I could add a page emphasizing that this is an excellent way to represent the action.
Customizable Battlemaps, dungeon rooms Vol.II
Publisher: 0one Games
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2005 00:00:00
These comments are directed to the "?one Bundle: Complete Customizable Battlemaps" which include both Vol.I and II. I realy do like the customizable feature of these maps and the easy to use interface. I do not know about the "3000 different maps" but I like the fact that I can have the map the way I want. The A4 size works realy well as it give enough room for combat with minatures and does not dominate the table. With both sets in the bundle I have enough maps to last me some time but I could do with some customizable corridors.



LIKED: Everything about it.

DISLIKED: Can't think of anything I did not like - great product. I would have like to have seen a Line Art feature which I have seen in some of the other product demos

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Customizable Battlemaps, dungeon rooms Vol.II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

True20 Campaign Planner
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2005 00:00:00
I got this product on the strenght of the True20 Rules but was dissappionted with what I got form the Campaign Planner. Some guidence is given about how to use the forms but I had hoped for some guidence on running or setting up a campaign. Creatures and Minions sheets take up a whole page, you may as well use a character sheet. It would have been more useful to have 2 to 4 Minions or Creatures per sheet. I do like the Location/Building and City/Town Forms.


LIKED: The Idea

DISLIKED: No Guide on how best run a Campaign.
White Text on Black Backgound makes it costly to print and my printer has problems printing this a good quality.
A lot of money for a bunch of forms.

QUALITY: Poor

VALUE: Ripped Off


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Campaign Planner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2005 00:00:00
What can I say, It's d20 but not as you know it. If you are looking for a system which is not Dungeons and Dragons, and is not over complicated, adaptable to what ever you what to play with out the game designer telling you how things should be, but uses the d20 system, give this one a try. I look forward to playing it.

One thing I like is the system has 3 general class which can fit into any character type you could want. Another is it uses Supernatural Powers which replaces the magic system. This means you can fit the rules to any genre be it modern or Sci-fi. The system also does not overburden you with long spell lists (which can take up most of the book in other systems).

What I would like to see as expansions to the rule book are:
Monster/Creature Book - Creature states that expand on the list from chapter 8
Random adventure system (Generic Please) - for DM who do not have the time to prepare.
Generic Sci-Fi Equipment.
Rules summary - for players (free download please).


LIKED: Clear text and well lade out. Generic system and complete rules. Not overly simple or complicated - just about right.

DISLIKED: It did have a think black line on the top and bottom of the pages but they have now updated the rulebook with out this, so it is more or less perfect.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Future Tiles: Star Freighter
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2004 00:00:00
I was a bit disapointed at first but the upgrade overcame my disapointment. As always with these E tiles, the Artwork is of the highest standard.

LIKED: Very nice little space ship

DISLIKED: Corridors are split over 2 tiles. Some odd sized tiles, I would have liked to have seen 6 by 6 or 9 by 6 tiles throughout. This would make it expandable. I also would have liked to have seen an Airlock tile and a ramp tile (to join onto wilderness tiles).

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Future Tiles: Star Freighter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

genreDiversion i Manual (Generic Quick-Fix RPG Rules)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2004 00:00:00
Nice simple, well presented set of RPG Rules. I look forward to using them.

LIKED: That is has some adventures to support this rule set. Simple game mechanics.

DISLIKED: Some parts of the page layout can be a bit heavy on the Ink Cartridge.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
genreDiversion i Manual (Generic Quick-Fix RPG Rules)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates