DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version) $14.95 $11.21
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 2
6 2
1 4
1 1
0 0
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Click to view
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2012 10:54:10
Adamant Entertainment distilled some of the best features of the Planetary Romance/Sci-Fantasy genre into their Mars books. The lineage is obviously Edgar Rice Burroughs, with Green, Red and White (Ape) Martians. There is also a fair enough amount of H.G. Wells, but I have a hard time seeing this dying Mars invading Earth. As they advertise this is not the Mars of reality, this is the Mars that never was. This is Barsoom as it were. While not "John Carter of Mars the RPG" it can be played that way. There are even some surprises in the form of the Grey Men of Mars. Hint, they are not the "Greys" of later UFO mythology.

There are plenty of options for characters with an emphasis on high heroism and great feats. Imagine all the adventure of Victorian Times and the Pulp Era with the feel of a Space Opera in a D&D campaign then you get an idea of what Mars can do or be. This all reminds me a bit of the "Dying Earth" genre as well, since Mars is dying. Maybe that invasion of Earth is not too improbable after all.

I enjoyed this and really want to play a game on Mars now!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2012 05:46:45
I downloaded the free preview, and liked it enough to grab the full game. I wanted to jot a quick review while the sale was still going on.

I'd say if you're on the fence about this game, GET IT. I haven't read it cover to cover and haven't had a chance to play it yet, but it is really cool. The setting is great; it does what it sets out to do. They capture the flavor of Barsoom, add a side order of HG wells and a generous dash of HP Lovecraft. The PC white apes are a little more Planet of the Apes than Barsoom (I think, having only read A Princess of Mars) but that makes them more playable as a PC race. THe rules for the Earthman race are cool, and the classes are neat.

A very strong addition to the d20 rule-set is the Stunts rules (Making combat more interesting and swashbuckling), and I like the Device Points mechanic for the Mad Scientist advanced class.

One gripe, and this might just be my ignorance of Savage Worlds in general, is I didn't find it clear if you need the SW core book to play the SW version of Mars. This would be a fun setting in which to explore SW, and I might have tried the SW version if I knew I didn't need the core book. That said, they're both half off right now....

Summary: this seems Awesome! If you like low/non magic swashbuckling pulp entertainment, you'll dig it. Of you're not sure, try it out anyway, it might change your mind.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Francisco J. B. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2009 19:42:29
I got this for the GM DAY sale... A complete steal for 240+ pages of well-know, well-loved material from various sources on one of the most enthralling settings and subgenres to ever appear on written form.

MARS works as very good d20 setting, as the system is fine-tuned to fit the overall atmosphere and feel of the subject matter, and even if you--like me--don't like/use the d20 system that much, the information presented here in a cohesive, entertaining and concise form, will let your imagination roam free and fuel your gaming sessions, and make for a great role playing experience.

MARS is a self-contained game. Every single thing you need to run a game is right here, for you to work with it. So yes, many of the skills and feats are here, again, but localized--where needed-- to the world you are about to enter. That means you don't need additional books to play or refer to while creating characters or running the game.

Then if you, like me, just can't refrain from adding a few thing to it, as it's d20 you can easily port your evil Illithids here to add to the mix of opponents the players' heroes will face over the course of their adventures in this beautiful, dying world setting.

Do yourselves a favour: Buy it. Especially if it is avialable at a sale price.

Adamant Entertainment has yet to dissapoint me with one of their releases, and quite frankly MARS is one of the best they've put out.

LIKED: The presentation, the quantity and quality of the information and it's adaptation to the d20 system.

DISLIKED: The relatively few illustrations. For such a grandiose setting and the sheer amount of source material, this could have had a few more of them pics!

QUALITY: Very, very good.

VALUE: A veritable steal taking into account the quality/price ratio!

SATISFACTION: Extremely satisfied.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Dominique C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2009 10:18:35
I have been really glad to pick up this product during a 1$ sale. As such, it was a gift, for which I am thankful to the publisher. however, if I had to pay 25$ for it, I would have been disappointed: it's mostly a rule-book, with very little of the setting itself. Now, the art is really great, probably the best style I have seen in rpg products, and strongly reminding of Frazetta. So, if you like d20 Modern rules and are searching for a planetary-romance rulebook, this is an excellent product (I would give it 5 stars). However, if you are mostly interested in the setting and very little in the rules (as I was), 25$ is probably too much (I would give it 2 stars).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2008 02:41:09
I got this pdf during an Adamant $1 sale, and does a nice job of offering gaming opportunities and source material based on many of the sagas of the Red Planet so many of us love. A couple of sections seemed a bit skimpy on content, and often this product feels like an accessory rather than a stand-alone attempt. I'm not sure I'd have picked it up at $24.95, but at a lower price, I certainly would again.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2007 19:30:49
This product does present a fair treatment of the sword & planet genre with the professional quality writing, art and layout one should expect from Adamant. My problem with it is that minus the d20 modern srd content [to be fair the d20m classes are presented with separate parry and dodge bonuses as apposed to a single defense bonus, much like Mongoose's OGL Conan, so it isn't a complete rehash], the reader is left with roughly 129 pages of new content. Why Adamant didn't produce this book as a straight d20m supplement, and reduce the page count and the price, I don't know. I bought this book at the current sale price and still feel slightly jipped. I'd like to take a look at the Slavers of Mars supplement, but the asking price is too steep, even at the sale price. Mars is clearly a $6.99 pdf at a $24.95 price.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Kyrinn S E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2007 17:14:53
* Presentation: Good

* Content Value: Fair

* Originality: Poor


The price is too high for what is essentially a complete rip-off of Edgar Rice Burroughs' work, without any real additions of their own.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Sorry that you feel that a game that is described as "a roleplaying game of planetary romance" is somehow "unoriginal" for providing you with the elements of the planetary romance genre. We haven't "ripped off" anyone -- we produced a game in a genre where literally dozens of authors (not only Burroughs) have written. You should look at Otis Adelbert Kline, Lin Carter, Edwin Arnold Lester, Michael Moorcock and Robert E. Howard (his novel, ALMURIC, specifically).
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2007 00:00:00
dissapointing to be honest, especially considering the hefty price-tag


LIKED: illustrations

DISLIKED: lack of detail

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: The Roleplaying Game of Planetary Romance (d20 version)
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2007 00:00:00
Nice treatment of the sword and planet genre. Just enough information to convert to other systems. Could use some more adventures.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates