DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License $39.95
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 24
0 5
0 2
1 0
1 3
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Click to view
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2013 21:30:16
I bought this system on the strength of the other user reviews. I am a deaf roleplayer and thought the chat-window orientated nature of this product would enable enjoyable online roleplaying. It may well do, but the system is so incredibly hard to use I may never know. I expected that there may be a Help file or toolkit that I could read to familiarise myself with the product but no, all I can see are a collection on tutorial videos hosted on youtube which I cannot hear. Ultimately, this was a waste of my time and money and I am pretty annoyed that anyone would release a product without providing clear instructions as to how it works.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hello Michael, Your feedback is unfortunately very valid. The user manual we used to ship with the download has been deprecated since many of the screens referenced now have a different appearance. We have started to rely upon video instructions for many of the steps without properly considering what that would mean for the deaf community. I would be happy to send you the slightly out of date user manual. It won't cover the newer features, but it does show you the basic functionality which still exists today. In addition, I think you would find that there is additional online documentation on the www.fantasygrounds.com site and a helpful community willing to help. If you are unhappy with the product and support, we would grant a full refund of your purchase. You can contact me at support@fantasygrounds.com. - Doug
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Rick K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2013 17:05:58
This product is almost perfect.
The only thing I didn't like is when buying rulesets, beware that they may not get the attention of being updated (see my review of Iron Heroes for FG2).

But however, I did enjoy playing with other players and GM'ing that I did upgrade to an Ultimate license.
This utility hase everything you need to play a pen&paper game online, however you do need to buy supported rulesets to expand beyond 3.5srd

Playing with the addition of a voice chat client speeds up your game over Fantasy Grounds greatly.
The community of players is large, so the only problem is finding those who can attend at your prefered times. I have created a friendship with a dozen other players that play in my games consistently (all of them full license users) and I have hosted games for those who only have the demo version.
You will be surprised at how many Ultimate License holders host games so demo players can experience a "full" game experience.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Krystofer R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2008 17:57:08
This product is worth every cent. Very functional, and beautiful to work with (unlike other software around that may boast more features, but are downright eyesores.) Everything needed to play is in here, and functions as expected. Client and server versions extend its value further. Great product!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2007 15:53:16
It's good. Works well. Brings the tabletop to your PC. In combination with Skype or Ventrillo, brings you as close as you can come to getting together to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2007 03:34:24
I really enjoyed this product and have used it quiet a bit. I am looking forward to trying the second version of Fantasy Grounds!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2007 09:21:46
This program is absolutly great. I have players all over the midwest and we are able to get together and play whenever we want now. I would like to see a few things made easier: changing rulesets, maybe the inclusion of using a percentile system instead of D20 all the time. However, I would definantly say that if your players can't always make a session, or you have players that move away, use this program! As GM you have control of everything, and can have private conversations with individual players, while players can't do the same to you:) I use this for almost all my gaming now, at least to include one of my players who travels around the US.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by John C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2006 00:00:00
Excellent piece of software, very helpful for online replacements / supplements to FTF.


LIKED: Useful tool for sharing maps online with friends

DISLIKED: The only thing I really needed was to share tactical maps online which I could then update; therefore this was quite expensive. Not the fault of the software as such, but painful for me. I have tried to use the campaign management elements, but I have found the apparent need to edit within the UI cumbersome, as I have found the UI for editing of data itself to be cumbersome.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Stephen K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2006 00:00:00
This thing is pretty easy to use, and highly customizable. If it currently doesn't do all the things you want, it's not difficult at all to modify it to handle the way you play your game. The support community for this program is pretty good to boot, and if you can't figure out how to do something, chances are someone can show you how to do it. If you're short on time, check around the Fantasy Grounds forums and store - likely someone else has your game system up and running, or the schema is available in their store.


LIKED: highly customizable, capable of supporting nearly any game system you can think of (with a little work).

DISLIKED: entering custom content (like monsters) can be time-consuming. The lack of built-in user licences with purchase of a single full license makes it a bit expensive, and something people will only buy if they trust all players are going to pitch in and get a license as well.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Shawn G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2006 00:00:00
I haven't actually had a chance to use this product yet, but the interface is pretty slick. It seems to be more feature-rich than Screen Monkey, though it is specific to D20. It also lack's Screen Monkey's ability for players to connect through a web browser, requiring all players to buy at least the "lite" license.

A GM with a solid understanding of XML can customize the game in a number of ways, even replacing the ruleset entirely. The next patch promises to add LUA scripting ability to expand the customizability even further.

Overall, I'd say Fantasy Grounds is great for D20 players right out of the box. If you use a different system, I probably wouldn't recommend it, unless you have the ability (and patience) to customize the interface significantly.


LIKED: Nice graphical interface and features. Ability to customize (even if it's not easy).

DISLIKED: Focus on D20. Updates have been a little slow. Documentation is sparse.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Kevin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2006 00:00:00
Where to start with this wonderful product?

This allowed me to continue roleplaying when one of our players moved to New Zealand!

The software recreates very well the feeling of sitting around a table and playing.

The ruleset is written in XML and with a little bit of time and inspection you can easily create any RPG and play it with this software.

Add to the fact that Smite Works coninue to support this software updating and bug fixing. In fact the next version 1.06 looks to completely redefine what this software will let you do!

In short, if you want to roleplay accross the internet... BUY IT.


LIKED: Everyting!

The mapping has proved brillant when exploring the sewers under post apocalyptic New York city, the masking is easy to use, and really add to the atmosphere, when the players are crawling evading mutants etc.

DISLIKED: There is no way to save the maps with tokens in place, so if you end a session mid map you have to remember where the tokens were at the next session.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Bo V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2006 00:00:00
This is amazing. I have never used that description on game product but I use it here.

Get the bundle of Full and lite versions to save yourself a little money or simply get full versions for eveyone in your group. What you save in gas will vastly outwheigh the cost of this product.


LIKED: This is the friendliest most game table like interface for a cross internet gaming product on the net. It is still improving but what is there is already the basis for a great part of my week. If you gave up on gaming because people moved away or because you don't know people in your area you need to try this product. You still need all the WOTC books but now you can use them to play with friends who might be a thousand miles away.

DISLIKED: It is still a growing product and not enough players use it yet.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Cristiano D. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2005 00:00:00
I think this is a great product!
That product recreate the feel of a pen & paper game and can be customize even if in a non easy mode! I hope that in the next future the company can
fournish a customization tool.



LIKED: All...!

DISLIKED: I think that this product need a customization tool and the possibility to add easly differnt languages!!!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00
Fantastic piece of software - well worth the asking price if, like me you cannot make it to a regular PnP game.


LIKED: The UI is very good, and the fact that you can create / import your own rulesets and character sheets using XML is very nice.

DISLIKED: No music support yet, but aparently that is on SmiteWorks 'ToDo' list.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by kurt s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2005 00:00:00
A decient system, though it has its flaws. I've been using it with a group for several months now and have had a great deal of fun using this program.


LIKED: The interface is intuitive, just like an ordinary chat room. It is rather easy to set up a connection (unless you are on the other side of a fire wall). There is also a great deal of customization in the program (through the creation of house rules and such).

DISLIKED: There are stability issues, the more people who connect the more unstable the system becomes. This is increases if there are people connecting at different connection speeds, and can cause problems when using the map feature. There is no way to change the size of the windows, which is not as bad as it sounds, but can get in the way.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds II - Full License
Publisher: SmiteWorks
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2005 00:00:00
I have been using FantasyGrounds for about 3 months now. Although it does have it connectivity quirks, I must say overall it is extremely fun and effective. The interface is quite simple but very intuitive and allows me to play tabletop D20 RPGs when I otherwise could not.

I've read other peoples reviews and for those of you that have had connectivity issues must understand that this program rquires that you have at least a Broadband connection and have a limited knowledge of IP routing and troubleshooting.


LIKED: Great for one-on-one play! The dice rolling (With drag N Drop modifiers)

DISLIKED: Occasional connectivity issues (unable to transfer cleint XML files at times. Not good for large groups. I would say 2-3 clients MAX!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates