DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Sci-Blocks
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2012 12:33:09
This is a set of building blocks that can be used to create sci-fi themed pieces from small blocks to large models connected with bridges. The basic blocks are really easy to build, making them appealing to beginning paper modelers. Among other uses, some of these blocks can be placed over spaceship tiles to be used as cover and obstacles, or as terrain pieces on their own. Overall, a nice and effective set.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sci-Blocks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ELVES Set 1 - Forest Ambush
Publisher: PERMES
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2012 12:25:44
An awesome set of paper models presented with great amount of detail and many options. Very nice to play skirmish games, RPGs or build dioramas.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ELVES Set 1 - Forest Ambush
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2012 14:34:06
Capital City is a set of buildings and street tiles that is a good value. The textures have good detail and many options, especially the ones for the street tiles. The buildings are easy to make and have the option to be stored flat. The visual style fits modern settings, like gang wars, superhero fights or zombie outbreaks.

Be warned, though: this set seems designed to be used on its own and preferably with the 1.5" grid tiles, i.e. for the "clix" miniatures. Why? first, because the 1" grid tiles are 7"x7" and the 1.5" grid tiles are 7.5"x7.5", whereas a more common format for modular terrain is 6"x6" tiles and buildings. Also, the size of the buildings match the 1.5" grid tiles. So if you want to use the buildings with the 1" grid tiles, you'll have to reduce the size of the buildings when printing. Resizing is not an issue if you use only this set, otherwise building features like doors and windows will seem smaller compared to other buildings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Survival Horror Urban Magic Set 1: The Amazing Zandi
Publisher: DARKMOOK Paper Miniatures
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2012 18:22:07
Another great set from Darkmook, including the possibility of building it into a diorama and the crazy flying carpet base. Might be useful for magic, horror and pulp games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survival Horror Urban Magic Set 1: The Amazing Zandi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

LOST REICH: Starter Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2012 18:18:40
This product is a good value if you like mechs, papercraft or strategy games. It includes the game's rules, eight models (five mechs and three different vehicles), 3D terrain (hex blocks of different heights to create cliffs and walls) and terrain tiles. The game seems a bit basic at the moment -- yet it took me reading the rules twice to get it, as some information is easy to miss (like the tracking of damage) or only briefly explained (e.g. the use of "reserve power".) I liked the design of the mechs -- most parts are boxes or simple prisms glued together, so I hope they will be easy to assemble. They also look very good, fitting the "weird war" theme. The only thing I miss is the customization of weapons but I hear that's coming in an expansion.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
LOST REICH: Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Into the Fray - Complete Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Moss Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2012 18:00:10
This is a great bundle of the strategy game Into the Fray. It is a high fantasy skirmish game where players build armies composed of pre-defined units (a unit may be a single hero or a group of weaker soldiers, for instance.) It uses an alternating activation structure and dice pools to resolve actions performed by each unit. Anyway, the core rules are free, so you can check them out before buying. Each of the booster packs include paper miniatures, bases, a booklet with additional information about the included units and reference cards. The style of the miniatures is distinct and consistent among them. Although they have small labels to aid keeping track of them during the game, this does not prevent them from being used in other games too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Fray - Complete Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Models, First Responders
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2012 10:43:03
A nice set with policemen, riot cops, firefighters, paramedics and doctors (two of each) in mostly neutral poses. A welcome addition as these types aren't that easy to find as paper minis.

All miniatures have distinct fronts and backs and they come in two sizes. The outlines seem good and easy to cut (some other paper minis have very intrincate outlines that take forever to cut manually and I don't own an automated cutter.) The colors seem a little faded on screen but I still have to print them to see how they look on paper.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Models, First Responders
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix Collection [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2011 12:19:19
Although it is easy to find modern and near-future military paper models, the same is not true for the gangers, cyberpunk heroes and general civilians. These sets fit this need nicely with a variety of character types and illustration styles. They come ready for printing in flat-folding, A-frame or trigonal styles and the only reason I'm not giving a 5/5 is because if they had back images they would be even more versatile.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix Collection [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

War of the Dead: The Digital Dead
Publisher: Daring Entertainment
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2011 12:16:07
Awesome set of tokens for modern and zombie games. If you use a digital tabletop program there's no reason not to grab this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Dead: The Digital Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

KOBOLD Guide to Board Game Design
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2011 18:03:59
A good collection of articles by board game designers, dealing with the creation process, prototyping and turning the game into a finished product. You might find much of the advice in good game design books but I found this easier to read.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
KOBOLD Guide to Board Game Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

It is Warm Work Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
Publisher: Crookedhead Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2011 18:01:40
I'm a newbie to naval miniature games but I found this easy to understand and fast to play. The rulebook goes straight to the point so, if you're a newbie like me, you might have to look for some terms in Wikipedia to better understand them. On the other hand, the rules are clearly written. As the product description says, this will shine in large battles with many ships where the simplified rules pay off.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It is Warm Work  Age of Sail Naval Rules 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Havok
Publisher: Rebel Minis
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2011 11:48:19
This can be seen as a "lite" version of Chain Reaction 3.0, with some added information and three new scenarios. Overall, I'd say that it runs faster than the full CR 3.0 since there are less character states (for instance, no Hunker Down), simplified reactions and a modified melee system. As such, I think that it is worth for introducing the reaction system to new players or playing with larger numbers of figures while maintaining the speed of the game. The scenarios are also nice, especially the two for gangs and police.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Havok
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2011 11:31:58
Terror Network is a focused role-playing game. Players assume the roles of counter-terrorism agents working together in a variety of operations. Personally, I like games like this, which set out to do one thing well. Everything is tied together: character creation options, action resolution system, even the adventuring system (or operations as they are known in this game.) Furthermore, as another reviewer has already written, the game is to the point. The rules take less than ten pages and give the framework to resolve most situations.

This book is well organized. It starts with the nearly mandatory introduction to role-playing games, with a twist: it includes an overview of the game, with terms that will be used throughout the book. It follows with character creation and equipment and then the game rules. After those, there are background chapters on terrorism and counter-terrorism, ideas on how to run the game and a sample scenario. There is also a useful index at the end.

If there is one thing to complain is that I really liked the concept of the "Character Network" and I wish it could have received some more attention on the rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror Network: A Counter Terrorism RPG by Bedrock Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scale D Core Rules
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2011 10:49:11
Scale D is a lot more like a combat system for a role-playing game than a miniature skirmish system. It uses square grid-based terrain and an action point system to determine actions that each character can perform on a game turn (characters have a set amount of points and each type of action has a certain cost.)

I can understand that the goal of the authors was to allow a more varied range of actions during the game rather than just moving and shooting, as is often the case. However, the result is a complex system, with a considerable amount of bookkeeping per character in the skirmish. For instance, it is necessary to roll and keep track of initiative for each character on each game turn. Now consider doing this for even a dozen figures on each side of a skirmish, besides tracking their action points and other statistics. There are references in the text that seem to imply that the game is played with one character per player and even a "game master" is mentioned (for instance in pages 6 and 13). These facts made me think that the game is a lot more like a combat-oriented "lite" RPG than a skirmish game.

Information is not well-organized in the book. Character attributes are described right away but then, character creation rules go into the character development chapter (the last in the book.) Rules for movement are spread throughout the book. The long list of possible character actions is not organized in any pattern that I could distinguish. Information isn't complete, either: there are no scenarios and no examples of play besides a few diagrams. The authors mention that "specific books" would supplement these core rules with more detail (for instance in pages 6, 11 and 26) but I suppose that those were never released.

Visually, the book has a readable layout but the authors decided to add a thick black "noisy" border on each page, so that I would never even think of printing it. The whole book is set in black and white and the illustrations follow the same "noisy" style. The diagrams illustrating movement and some other actions are clear and useful.

In summary, I think that for a skirmish game this is too complex without any added benefits. There are other skirmish games with task systems that allow for different actions in more elegant ways. It might appeal for groups of players looking for a "lite" RPG focused on combat but since there are so many combat-heavy RPGs out there with more source material than this, I'm not sure if it would be worth, either.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scale D Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Quest
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2011 09:55:37
A simple encounter-based game that is playable with minimum setup and learning time. I'm not sure if I'm missing something but spellcasting seems a little weak (or expensive, depending on how you view it.) Although the game is playable by 1 to 4 people, I think it really is fun with 3-4 as the tension from choosing between exploring a bit more or trying to complete the game before someone else does becomes greater. For solo play there are other options, including Chronicles of Arax from the same publisher.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Quest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 95 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates