DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Dark Dungeon, Mini-Game #18
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2011 22:11:10
A fun little solo game with an "old school" feel. Comes with all components needed to play (except dice, if I must say so,) although you may want to fiddle with some of them before printing, like downscaling the character counters or changing some black areas on the dungeon tiles to a lighter color that won't use so much ink. Rules are simple and resolution tables (for encounters, monster behavior) work well. For a more detailed review, you may check http://fantalonia.blogspot.com/2011/05/review-dark-dungeon.h-
tml

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeon, Mini-Game #18
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2011 17:56:53
When I saw the modular dungeon samples for Inked Adventures, I immediately found myself wanting to run an old-school dungeon hack. I found the artwork lovely, although it may not fit everyone's tastes. The basic pack includes lots of modular pieces like corridors, rooms, doors (stand-up and flat), stairs, along with bits to add detail. As with other modular flats, I suppose it's best to glue each tile or piece to cardboard, foamcore or something like that to prevent them from sliding on the table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Slagtown: Eden
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2011 17:47:09
This is an excellent construction kit to build post-apocalyptic terrain/scenery. As such, I think that most of the fun with this product comes from planning your next project and putting it together with the existing parts. In this sense, it is a different experience from models that come ready to be assembled into a pre-planned way, and this may be a good or bad thing for you.
Bonus points for the "cheater wheels" option on the truck -- I think that all paper models with wheels should come with this option for easier-to-build wheels.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slagtown: Eden
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Total Chaos
Publisher: Cerberus Illustration
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2011 10:52:22
A good value, given the amount and variety of figures. Note, however, that some figures have distinct front and back, while others have mirrored backs which are fine for miniature wargames but may not satisfy those wishing to use them for RPGs.

LIKED: The graphics style, which is consistent throughout all figures and very detailed. I particularly liked the textures on the wings of the Vrock. The huge 2.5D Balor and the undead chariot are my favorites of the entire set.

DISLIKED: Several figures are placed in a centered, one-per-page layout, which is wasteful especially if you're printing to cardstock. I understand that, for RPGs, you might want to print a single model of a given type but even then, if they were placed on the top of the page, you might be able to print two on the same sheet (just place the same sheet upside down and print again.)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Total Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mule2
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 22:01:52
Another great model from Finger and Toe, as usual with effective use of shapes that are simple to build.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mule2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

NCC Army [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Slick's Miniatures
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 22:00:24
A great value in my opinion, all the troopers are well detailed and the power armor is just sweet. As the troops come in two color schemes, with this bundle alone it is possible to create two large forces for a sci-fi battle.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NCC Army [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arsenal: Checkpoint
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:56:24
These models look great when built and the gate matches exactly with the Green Line walls. I only had a little bit of trouble aligning the columns to the top piece, but then again I was building it at half size (for 15mm minis) and with regular paper -- and even in these conditions the model built correctly.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arsenal: Checkpoint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Ruins Paper Models Set
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:51:37
High quality models, with several options of texturing. With little effort it's also possible to cut one low ruins building into two or more pieces to have half ruins or corners. Combined with the crosspieces sets, you can make ruins of large buildings.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Ruins Paper Models Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Publisher: Stargazer Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:46:03
A simple but effective fantasy RPG. I have used it for more narrative-oriented games but from its framework, I believe it could work great for old-school dungeon exploration too. The core concept of using classes as attributes is great and has been adapted to other settings. Really worth reading and playing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear and Faith Horror Rules
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:42:29
A flexible set of rules for horror skirmish games. The rules are kept simple by using the Song of Blades and Heroes engine. The fear mechanics are a nice addition that fits the theme, but they may slow down the game a little. What I like the most is that several different horror scenarios can be created with this system, differently from other more specialized alternatives (like many zombie apocalypse miniature games that can be found.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Faith Horror Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Multi-gun
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:35:12
I have just built one model in light cardstock (180gsm) without finding any trouble spots. Just make sure to hold the gun barrel to the main body while the glue dries.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Multi-gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Outpost Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:29:07
Excellent product, just as other models from Dave Graffam. Simple to build, uses a single sheet of cardstock, lots of options for colors and details on the outpost.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outpost Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Final Days miniatures game rulebook
Publisher: Kenzer & Company
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:10:45
From my first read of the book, the game didn't look promising: "i go, you go" mechanic, card-based (which seemed to make solo play more difficult due to hidden information) bookkeeping for wounds, ammunition and other effects.

Then I played a solo test match based on the first scenario and was pleasantly surprised. The game flows quickly -- it was over in less than 30 minutes, and that was my first play after one read of the rules. Much of the bookkeeping can be simplified once you notice that many characters are built simple. Playing solo is possible -- just try to make the best use of all cards that are drawn.

The book has well-written, clear text that includes an index (always good, even if the page count isn't that high.) A quick reference sheet would have been useful too. The grayscale illustrations are nice and match the theme; the scenario flats that are provided are also good. I only wish they had included some counters for the characters too.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Final Days miniatures game rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ShadowSea - Conquest of the Underground World
Publisher: AntiMatter Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2011 19:35:06
To be honest, when I bought this book I was afraid that it might either replace my other Song of Blades and Heroes (SBH) books, or be redundant. Still, I bought it, attracted by the game setting (which, from other reviews I'd read over the 'net, sounded quite unique) and the new magic system, which I hoped could be adapted back into SBH (by the way, it surely can.)

That fear proved to be unfounded -- even though Shadowsea is also a fantasy skirmish game (like SBH), the authors have done a good job of making it into a distinct game. The core rules feel like a revised edition of SBH with some stuff added from the supplements, but on top of that there is a lot of new material -- special abilities, rules for non-combat actions, interactive scenic items, magic, technology, and so on. The book includes six pages on background and over thirty pages of force rosters and creature stats, but the whole text is permeated by the flavor of the game setting. I think that maybe it's this blending of setting and specific rules that gives it the distinct feel.

Regarding the presentation, the text is well-written and includes some rulings and clarifications that appeared in FAQs or in the discussion group for SBH. The book also contains many beautiful illustrations that help set the theme and mood of the game. The layout is clean and functional. The detailed table of contents doubles up as an index, although some would prefer a "real" index at the end of the book.

One thing to note is that many units from the rosters have from three to five special rules, besides special items that also modify gameplay. This means that they require more attention from players, but also increase the strategy involved in warband construction. Players new to miniature wargaming or those who intend to play with their children, for instance (as I have seen in some battle reports and blogs on the 'net) may find Song of Blades and Heroes a better starting point. On the other hand, the book does include rules for point-based creation of new units, so it is possible to create simpler units if one wishes (or adapt the game to other settings).

So, to sum it all up, Shadowsea feels, to me, like a more sophisticated Song of Blades and Heroes created with a specific setting. To me, it was a worthy purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ShadowSea - Conquest of the Underground World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Song of Wind and Water
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2011 07:26:00
This is a very good supplement for Song of Blades and Heroes (SBH). The rules on terrain and weather effects, and the new scenarios gave me ideas for setting up different battles. It also brings new special rules (I find Drain, Running Blow and Standard Bearer particularly useful). Since SBH is a simple and coherent rule set, you could make up your own rules but if you don't have the time to do that (and playtesting house rules also takes a lot of time) or if you prefer to stick to the official rules, this supplement is well worth its price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Wind and Water
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 95 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates