DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Initiative Cards (Free) $0.00
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 11
4 1
5 1
1 0
2 0
Initiative Cards (Free)
Click to view
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2011 16:12:44
This was a brilliant idea and a must have for any d20 3.X GM. There is also a version for d20 Modern.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/27/2011 06:22:32
Sometimes it's the simple things that make the best accessories. These initiative cards answer the age old question that's bedeviled gamers for as long as games have existed: Who's turn is it?

The cards are much more useful than just determining initiative. There are monster cards, character cards, and end of round cards for concluding effects. All of the cards are editable in Adobe.

The character cards cover class, race, level, AC, all the d20 attributes and saves, speed, vision, select skills useful in hiding and spotting, languages, and special notes. The monster cards are similar but more open-ended, with space for attacks, open-ended skills, and a scratch area for hit points.

The cards all have a spot in the top right for initiative. The game master records initiative on each card, shuffles the deck accordingly, and then cycles through the cards and each opponents' actions. Since there's limited space to fill in initiative, it's likely game masters will be printing multiple sheets of these for each character and each encounter.

This concept – cards as a critical accessory to role-playing games – is so intuitive that it eventually became a proper part of Dungeons & Dragons 4th Edition. These cards can also be used for a variety of D20 games that use similar statistics. And best of all, it's free!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Andy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2010 17:21:25
Fantastic cards! They're roughly system-independent, even though they were designed to work with 3rd Edition OGL. They work with 4th Edition D&D as well, though. In fact, these are easily on par with the cards made by the 4th Edition Character Builder, but more flexible, allowing for DMs and players to write in their own values. And it's free--who can complain?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:49:31
Facts:

1 - Everyone needs initiative cards, even if you don't think you do.

2 - These are great initiative cards.

3 - They are free.

Conclusion: You are dumb if you don't download these initiative cards.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2009 08:40:22
This item set the standard for our campaign on how to track not only initiative, but also tracking monster information.
The only down side was when the monster got it, if you were using the card to track HP, you had to pull it out of the initiative stack to record it and sometimes it went back into the wrong spot.
This was only replaced by the Paizo Magnetic initiative board several years later.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2009 13:56:03
These are the best 3.x initiative cards I have found. I use them in all my face to face 3.5 games. I think they are the best because the designers managed to find the right trade off between the size of the information boxes and trying to get the biggest area for each box.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Chadd D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2009 04:20:37
Good

Initiative Cards are one of the greatest rpg tools I've ever seen, they streamline combat and make the gm's job easier by providing a tool to make tracking combat simpler, I've tried using spread sheets to track games to no avail., but the card are simple and easy to use.

Bad

I wish they made them for more then just D20 based systems.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by DeWayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2008 20:38:09
Thought this would solve a problem but they didn't

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2008 01:09:05
Its free. Why bother reading a review? I threw them away because I had them confused with another product, and I don't use the system they were for, but they were FREE, so no harm done.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2008 10:27:18
This is such a simple idea, and presented so simply and beautifully! I know I get frustrated trying to keep track of all the NPCs, monsters, and summoned critters running around. These cards are the perfect little tool to solve that problem. These are one of those things you can't imagine how you ran your game without them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Dawn R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2005 00:00:00
These came in very handy for my games. I handed each player one and let them roll their init while I rolled for the monsters. By the time I was done, one of my players had all the PC's in order, all I had to do was add the monster card. Also handy for remembering when the round ends (for those silly end of round actions) and who's not standing anymore for whatever reason (death being the majority).

They're free and would be well worth paying for.

LIKED: EVERYTHING!

DISLIKED: The only problems I had was having to find my monster card when the PC's were beating on them, and keeping track of which monster was on which PC. I still need a seperate index card for that - but no big deal. These cards did as they were supposed to - I just wanted more than what they were.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2004 00:00:00
They are are free and quite useful. What more can I say about it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Initiative Cards (Free)
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Marcel E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2003 00:00:00
Superb.
Giving away dis for free is too cheap.
OTH it is more or less the idea. You can also use fileboards and write your stuff on.
They also included an end of turn card. This is an absolutly must for every d20 GM out there.

winternight@web.de
PS. Please excuse any bad english - I hope I got all typos out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates