DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Cyberpunk v.3
 
$32.00 $16.00
Average Rating:2.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 1
3 2
4 7
6 3
0 10
Cyberpunk v.3
Click to view
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Ubiratan A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2010 10:10:01
This was a disappointment for me. The layout is actually painful to look at on a screen, it's hard to find the rules you want, and enough has been said about the doll art that I don't need to elaborate further. Plus, the book is incomplete - the print version has some 18 extra pages that aren't present on the PDF. If you absolutely must own this game, go with the print version.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Will W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2009 12:59:46
I love Cyberpunk and there is a lot in this book that make it's purchase well worth it.

Unfortunately I have to give this a fair to middlin' rating as it's a very inconsistently put together book that has more value as an update tool for 2020 than a game in it's own right. It appears to have had large sections of the 2020 text copied and pasted into it including references to no longer existing rules, in addition some paragraphs mysteriously end mid sentence and there seems to be at least one entire section of rules missing from the PDF.

I think that the use of action figures to illustrate the book was a noble try, but not one that the fans hoped to see from R-Talsorian games. It's fairly ignorable but has caused players to not take the game as seriously as they could otherwise. Re-using 2020 art would have been less jarring I think. Other than that the book is beautifully laid out and has a lot of good ideas (and a few iffy ones) to bring your Cyberpunk campaign up to date.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2009 08:33:07
I've been playing Cyberpunk for 8 or 9 years, off and on, and i always enjoyed it, the system was simple, lots of books to play with, and it managed to capture the feel of the genre, but it was never as good as i thought it could be. And thats the same problem i have with this version, it captures the feel of the new cyberpunk, with all of its trans/post humanistic trappings, but its not quite there yet. Some people complain about the bad pictures, and they are terrible, or the horrible color choice, equally bad, but these are incidental to the core of the product, a game about being more than human, about living a lifestyle beyond human, and coming to terms with that. Whats lacking, really, is enough information to play the game. You've got just enough information to get into the trouble, and thats its, nothing to help you expand it into a full campaign. And thats sad, because it has a lot of promise. maybe after they release a couple of AltCult books (the first one for the Edgerunner having finally been released) will make it playable, but in its current form, its nothing for a toolkit for a 2 shot adventure.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Jacob S.
Date Added: 01/08/2009 00:11:02
This is not as good as the original. But it'll do.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Rohan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2008 03:42:34
The new edition tidies the rules up in some areas, and makes them somewhat more playable, with more diverse characters possible. This time they've actually allowed for combat medics who can survive a fight, for example. If I use it I'll probably use the updated rules in the CP2020 setting, though. The equipment lists are a straight rehash of the last edition, and has a lot of the same problems. Where are the small-calibre high velocity guns with huge magazine space that are probably where weapons evolution's heading? Also, the book is full of links to undeveloped sections of the R. Talsorian website.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Wynand H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2008 16:05:22
As a big time Cyberpunk 2020 fan I must say I was very dissapointed. This book needs a lot of work to be completed. There are loads of missing information and large gaps in explanations.

Come on guys you can do better, bring out updates and supplement so we can all build up stuff and put the Cyber back in our Punks.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by jamie i. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2007 07:28:41
A poor successor to a fantastic game. I was very diaspointed with this product and would recomend anyone looking for a cyberpunk genra game to track down Cyberpunk 2020 by the same author.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Waldemar I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2007 03:55:13
Cyberpunk v.3 is actually not cyberpunk. The game has changed focus into post-cyberpunk with some transhumanist themes. Many of the concepts are quite clever, and I did not find the change of rules system from Interlock system to Fuzion too bad. The problem is that despite so many years in development the game still feels rushed, both in editing and in the performance. A good analogy would be to compare with two other games in the same genre. If Transhuman Space by Steve Jackson Games is the Nebula award winning novel, and Ex Machina is the innovative short story collection- then Cyberpunk v.3 is the B-grade movie. Ultimately, while it may provide some good ideas it fell short of my expectations.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2006 19:57:06
I brought this the day it came out, Was on the forums as well.. All I can say is Mike you screwed up.

The complaints we leveled on their forums apparently caused the forums to be shut down, Talsorian don't care what we think, and it is really evident in this book, gone is the ability to customise to your hearts content, gone is clear rules, in it's place are Copy and pasted sections from 2020 (to the point btw that some stuff even still referances 2020's page numbers) and a messed up system for generation of characters.

The setting update might have been decent yeah but it's not much use if the rules don't work, are busted and missing whole chunks.

I wouldn't recommend this system to anyone.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Luke N.
Date Added: 09/26/2006 10:29:54
A lot of reviews focus on the Art; This isn't one of them. Forget "Art" forget that they're "dolls," because Art doesn't make an RPG. Setting, writing, and system makes an RPG. Don't let the artwork distract you from actually sitting down and reading the story behind the world of 203x and understanding that THIS is an evolution of the tenets of cyberpunk.
GOOD
The setting has evolved to engender a lot more conflict and a lot more reasons to get allies. It has expanded the ways you can transcend your humanity, and allows you to explore it from an RP standpoint rather than a mechanical (Empathy/Humanity) standpoint. Online support and expansion for story / setting / game materials.
BAD
The rules systems are in need of clarification and referencing. The customization of your characters is below-average, forcing everyone into archetypes and not allowing enough "play" for individuality in most cases. More variety is desperately needed in every altcult!
BOTTOM LINE
This is still a grim and gritty future. The landscape has changed, but danger still looms everywhere. The big difference is a paradigm shift ... you can't just walk down the street, grab the spike-haired netrunner and walk into a bar and grab a solo to do a run from the burned-out safehouse anymore. Now you have to skirt the edges of societies to find who you need, go right to your mission area and take it. You have to dance on the outskirts of society, walking a fine line between outcast and acceptance. This is the dark future, make no mistake. Nobody loves you but your momma (and she could be jivin' you too).
FINAL WORD
For those 'punkers who think it's all about the 'Ware, check out the awesome articles on RTG's page about 22 Cyberpunk movies and what makes them Cyberpunk even when they don't have chrome and wires.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Brian P.
Date Added: 09/21/2006 08:55:05
ADDITIONAL:
You know what the worst part of this is? Mike tried to give us what he thought we wanted, at least according to messages he's posted on his website. EIther none of us spoke clearly enough, or it all got lost in translation. As a side note, I was NEVER a fan of the Fuzion system. While Interlok has its flaws (and many of them), melding it with HERO to make Fuzion is definitely a situation when the cure is worse than the disease.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Brian P.
Date Added: 09/21/2006 08:49:52
I loved Cyberpunk, ever since 2013. There are some things I wasn't too fond of, such as the lack of any real 'meat' to the backstory. This is where another long-running cyberpunk genre game was always better. But it was still a great, really gritty, future noir game. And now this. Inferior system, Barbie-Doll 'art,' and an absolute butcher-job of the setting, such as it was. This isn't Cyberpunk anymore. I'll still play 2020, I'll run it at Cons, I'll buy whatever CP2020 products I can find...used, so R. Talsorian doesn't get any more of my money, to spin into tragedies such as Cyberpunk v.3. Mr. Pondsmith should return to Redmond and work on computer games; he's lost his touch with this Dark Future.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Alex R.
Date Added: 08/06/2006 18:43:27
First off, I want you, the reader, to realize the depth of my conviction for this review. I made an account JUST to write this review.

I looked over a friend's copy, and knew I had to say something.

That being said, I'm going to look at a few things.

Let's go with the obvious first. The artwork. No... not "artwork", the "pictures". The pictures are dolls in "cyberpunk" fashion. I'm sure that someone somewhere liked and maybe even got paid for making the attire for the dolls. Barbie and Ken and even a couple of cyborg dolls decked out in miniature outfits. Personally, I think that SOMEONE could have used pencil and paper or even a digital art program like Bryce or Poser or even gone to Daz3D and gotten some decent artwork. But then, I think that the artwork has been deteriorating with each new "version" or "upgrad". The art in the Big Black Box was good; CP2020 v1.0 artwork rocked; CP2020 v1.01 was not as good; CP203x (and WHAT is w/ the "x"???) umm... sucked. And that is being polite.

Moving forward. Character background. They've introduced "Giri", which is your character's level of obligation to his "AltCult" (which I'll touch on in a minute). So.. this is a psuedo-stat that fluctuates according to how your character treats and is treated by his fellows. I'm sorry, I thought that was left up to ROLE-PLAYING, not RULE-PLAYING.

Leaving that behind, and on to "AltCult". Hmm.. best way to describe it is kind of like ethnicity, but more like political party. It's where you grew up and who you want to be associated with rolled into one. Again, not to my liking - back to that whole "RULE-playing" scenario.

Character creation is actually one of the half-way decent things in the book - if you're one of the old school gamers and look in the back of the book "4 Advanced Punks". (yes, they actually did the number four, instead of "for"). They basically give you 4 different ways to make up a character old style, plus. Even then, they wasted 3 pages for "Flash PC's". Basically, you roll percentile dice, find that line, and those are your stats. Wham, bam, thank ya, ma'am. Oh, and you STILL have to pick your AltCult, and fill out the template for your character.

Combat... I looked at some of it. Part of it is still based on Friday Night Firefight, which is a good thing. The rest, I will say, I didn't look at.

My overall reaction to this whole thing? Nausea. I literally wanted to get sick, thinking that my friend wasted his money. I'm glad that I didn't. In all honesty, if I could have given negative or even zero stars, I would have.

Mr Pondsmith, if you ever read this, I would recommend that you claim someone stole your identity, and that you have absolutely no knowledge of this book, nor of how someone attached your name to it.
Then, I would find a group of us loyal fans who have been with you since the Big Black Box, and start working on the REAL 3d Edition of Cyberpunk.

Many Thanks for taking the time to read this review.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2006 10:31:19
There are some good ideas here but there is also one overriding flaw. The editing. Quite simply it is the worst I have ever seen in 15+ years of playing RPGs.

There are:

1) Large sections of rules directly copied and pasted from CP2020 (which used the Interlock rules system and so no longer make sense).

2) Many (many) contradictory passages and examples which have been copied and pasted from the basic Fuzion rules and don't make sense because Cyberpunk V3 has changed some of those rules.

3) Many cases where the mechanical effect of equipment or cybertech does not make sense because it refers to non-existent or different (perhaps earlier?) versions of the rules.

The Netrunning system also doesn't make much sense, but I'll let that slide because it wasn't much better in any of the previous versions.

I'm rating this book 2 stars instead of 1 because there are some good ideas here. It's not traditional Cyberpunk by any means - the nanotech is so far beyond realism that it might as well be magic, and there is a distinctly anime flavour to it, but there are still plenty of things I might use in some other game.

Overall I'm disappointed but I'd say it could be a worthwhile purchase if you're prepared to do a lot of work reworking the rules or if you just want to cannibalize ideas for another game you're running.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Maciej S.
Date Added: 04/19/2006 03:44:42
I've seen old 'punk, i've played it. I've seen new 'punk and it is great. The cyberpunk world could not stand in place, it had to be taken further into the future. I agree, new edition lost it's old fashioned 'punk edge, but on the other hand it offers something different. For me,2020 lacked a few things,ie. besides medical use nobody used nano, now they do; biotechnology almost did not exist, now it is.
Anyone can still play old style (Edgerunner altcult, old cyberware)or utilise a whole new ideas or technology.
One more thing, cyberpunk, by definition is a short distance future, 2020, when the distance is too short, it becomes reality. Sometimes th word "short" is relative.

Mind my english.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates