DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Year of the Zombie - Fleshmongers
Publisher: UKG Publishing
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2005 00:00:00
This is a great sourcebook for any post-apocalyptic setting, besides just Year of the Zombie.

The subject matter is VERY mature and handled as carefully as it needs to be.

Slavery is an issue often avoided in most campaigns be it fantasy, or Apocalyptic.

All too often people tend to gloss over the bad and horrible parts that were a reality in society where the strong could opress the weak.

I am glad to find a product that finally has the integrity to discuss and work with the very real possibility of slavery and slave communities as it pertains to a Role Playing Game setting.

I also found the information to be useful for fantasy RPGs where the commonality of slavery and slave owning/trading society is more likely.

What the non-humanoids don't kill they catch.

This book gives a good idea what human slave owners might do, but in most cases their so beastial it would not be hard to imagine an Orc or Goblin doing the same or worse to their captives.

In truth some of the groups presented here (the Douglas Farm in particular) are so despicably sickening you really wonder who the monster is between the Risers and the Fleshmongers.

Great job!


LIKED: Good details and examinations of slave societies and slavery in general.

The flavor text is as usual for Tim Willard, quite frank and enjoyable to read.

I am additionally glad that Tim chose to present slaver groups at different points in the apocalypse to better tailor the encounters to a GM's specific needs as it pertains to his time frame.

The vehicle modifications and information alone is worth the price of the book and for anyone who's ever wanted to run a modern game with armor plated cars and guns, this product will give you definite ideas as to what can be accomplished.




DISLIKED: Truthfully, I would have loved to see more slave communities, and slaver groups detailed in the book, but the ones presented are quite hideous and more than enough to keep your players busy in YotZ, in between surviving day to day life in the aftermath of the Zombie apocalypse.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Year of the Zombie - Fleshmongers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi John In truth we too would have liked to put a lot more in, but every page costs more and we have to balance each book to sell at a certain price. That said with the amount of new work coming out for our YotZ universe you will find a huge amount of material coming out in the future, for Year of the Zombie. There are currently around 20 sourcebooks and adventures at various stages, to keep up to date on whats happening please log in to the fansite www.yearofthezombie.co.uk Excellent comments well thought out, and which give us, the publisher, ideas about what our customewrs want.
Blood and Guts 2: Combat Procedures Manual
Publisher: RPG Objects
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2005 00:00:00
This baby adds a host of new things to make your D20 games better by making them more realistic.

Body armor that actually works like it's supposed to (it don't make you harder to hit it stops damage!), and a host of optional combat rules that can make your players think twice before taking a shot.

If you're tired of PCs just shooting their way out of everything, drop in a few of the gritty combat rules like cross fire or friendly fire.

After they've killed off enough civilians (and maybe each other) they might cut back a bit on the gunplay.

This supplement has a very good hit location system which is also great for those times when PCs want to play more realistically during a game, such as police who shoot for the legs to wound first instead of outright dropping people with massive hit point damage.

Overall there's lots of good things to use in this supplement and it definitely helps keep it "real" in a D20 Modern game.

Bonus: With a little adaptation parts of this supplement can easily be translated over to D&D 3.5, such as the hit locations, horrors of war, and the Armor DR.

LIKED: Lots of options, lots of ideas, lots of ways to tackle things more realistically.

DISLIKED: There's not much to dislike about the product. If you're NOT looking to add more realism to your game stay with the core rules.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts 2: Combat Procedures Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Player's Companion: Tomorrows' Hero
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2005 00:00:00
This supplement adds some seriously good meat to D20 Future.

If you're thinking about running a D20 Future campaign, you'd be well served to pick this up and add it to your players list of books.

There's nothing in here thats overpowering or game imbalancing, so long as the rules are adhered to (which can be said of most D20 products).

But what you do get is further character ideas out the whazoo!

Want to make a genetically engineered person like Khan from Star Trek? The template, cost and ECL are here!

A little more options for your robot PC? It's here.

Don't want to be a "plain-ol-human"? Add some biotech, or even make your own aliens with guidelines from this book.



LIKED: LOTS of new options, and very well-written and thought out.

DISLIKED: I do wish the robots section had been expanded a bit further with more options and gadgets, but the book is still well worth it.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Player's Companion: Tomorrows' Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Instant Action: Mischief Night
Publisher: LPJ Design
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2005 00:00:00
Less of an "adventure" and more of an idea for one.

This is a short scenario which hopefully a GM will have backed up with a regular plan.

If you're counting on this to save your game on a night when you're clueless, you're advised to look elsewhere as this scenario will take all of an hour of your gaming time.


LIKED: Nicely arranged and laid out

DISLIKED: Too, too short and open ended. This would be better as part of a larger pack of scenarios than as a standalone.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Instant Action: Mischief Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hold at all Costs: Zero
Publisher: UKG Publishing
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2005 00:00:00
Hold at All Costs Zero is good stuff.

The mission is very tight and detailed. It has the feeling of a real military mission and if you add in the Rising, things can flip/flop to the dark side.

I am glad the designer had the forethought to include the knowledge (tactics) checks because my group is not military in any way shape or form and would likely try to "spray and pray" their way through every engagement otherwise.

The real kicker for the adventure is the high level. It seems unusual to "start" a campaign out with this adventure (Independence Day Massacre is a better start for first levels), but a clever GM can work it out as an "alternate series of tales" during the beginning of the Rising. Another idea is to run a regular military campaign (blood and guts) until the characters are high enough level to handle it then spring this series on them.

It'll shake em up when all the folks they've greased start coming after them for payback.



LIKED: I especially like the section on the ZSU-23-4 and I'm sure after seeing it, my players will want to steal the next one they come across.

DISLIKED: It is a little limited in that groups who are not militarily inclined may have a rough time with it. I'd recommend most GMs who have a more "regular" group of folks (civvies with no mil background at all) be a little more forgiving, especially in the actual hostage area (where one screwup can cause the hostages to be turned into chipped beef in seconds).


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hold at all Costs: Zero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
we are obviously going in the right direction for you John as this is your first 5 star for us. Many Thanks Keep the comments flooding in we may not reply to every one immediately but we look at them all immediately and also try to act on the more intelligent coments.
Blood and Brains: The Zombie Hunter's Guide
Publisher: RPG Objects
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2005 00:00:00
A huge source of things for a zombie apocalypse campaign (and boy aren't those popular nowadays?!), or just a campaign that deals with zombies on a regular basis.

Good stuff here for players and GMs alike.

Lots of new occupations, and prestige classes for the players.

Loads of new monsters and ideas for GMs.

You have to appreciate the level of detail paid to this material, yet somehow it doesn't take itself too seriously (unlike another zombie product out there).

LIKED: The new feats are straight out of "Army Of Darkness", as well as a few of the occupations (Y-Mart Employee).

Some really unique critters (TV Zombies?!), and some dastardly NPC classes (Bokor, Necromancer). Good stuff.

Critical hits for zombies? YAY! My players are gonna love inflicting those! Finally undead they can actually get a sense of hurting!

DISLIKED: The artwork really turned me off. It's so cartoony and silly-looking (which may have been the intent as the product is firmly-tongue in cheek) that it detracts and distracts.

But that's really the only complaint I could muster!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Brains: The Zombie Hunter's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QuickShots Mission File: Bravo
Publisher: Peeper Corner Publishing
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2005 00:00:00
I bought quickshots Alpha nearly a year ago and loved the way the scenarios and variations were brought out to just fall perfectly into place with whatever I was working on running.

Bravo is more of the same, but relies more heavily on the Urban Arcana setting to draw it's material from.

With over 16 different mini-scenarios to choose from a quick-thinking GM can run one scenario and lead it into a larger campaign(thanks to the hooks suggested) quite easily.

LIKED: The little dialogues at the beginning of the scenarios gave a pretty adequate idea of each.
I will never forget, "Run lil niggah!"

DISLIKED: Leans so heavily on Urban Arcana, that if you don't have that product, you can pretty much forget using Quickshots Bravo.

One of the things I liked about Alpha was that it relied only on the core book to come up with some pretty cool scenarios (headless biker? YEAH!). I wish Bravo had been able to follow that.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QuickShots Mission File: Bravo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Year of the Zombie
Publisher: UKG Publishing
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2005 00:00:00
A well detailed system for running a long term flesh eating zombie campaign, in whatever vein you prefer.
Has a sort of Twilight 2000 feel to it, as it brings in a lot of military vehicles and organizations as well as their gear and the sense that the campaign should be kept "on the go", rather than operating out of a base and bunkering down like many zombie holocaust film/scenarios tend to.
Has pretty much everything you need as far as zombies and such.

LIKED: The multiple options for campaigns, as well as touching on so many different variants of zombies (some straight out of the newest films such as the Dawn of the Dead re-make, and Land Of The Dead) to keep things interesting.

DISLIKED: And therein lies the problem. With basically only one sort of zombie to deal with on a constant basis, things could stagnate. I advise someone thinking of long term running this product to add in some variant zombiefied critters (ala Resident Evil Outbreak File #2), as well as a few chemical critters from D20 modern to help break up things every once in a while.
It's a real shame that Wizards decided to publish D20 Apocalypse, with the "Viral Death Spawn" template. I fear most people will overlook this product in favor of the mainstream.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Year of the Zombie
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks. I would just like to say one thing keep an eye on new releases for variants or use the support site www.yearofthezombie.co.uk to get some updates straight from other fans and the Author himself
Independence Day Massacre
Publisher: UKG Publishing
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2005 00:00:00
A nice, gory little scenario in the vein of a good zombie film.

LIKED: The scenario puts the GM in more or less total control, as the players start the scenario with pretty much no items (you going to be carrying your Barret Sniper rifle to a beach bash? I don't think so!), or a few limited items. It then forces players to have to work together in unique ways to survive (I'm betting at least one player will toss a fellow PC to the zombies in order to escape getting munched himself!).

DISLIKED: Some of the zombies the players encounter are really tough (25 hit points) and if encountered in multiples (which the designers throw a lot of at the PCs), it's pretty much a death sentence for PCs whether they be using the pregens (does anyone REALLY ever use pregens anymore?), or regular D20 Modern characters of the levels suggested.
The GM is advised to take a hard look at the scenario and the numbers as to whether he wants PCs to get frustrated with the scenario by "turbo-death" or keep them in the state of "constant edge of death" that works so much better.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Independence Day Massacre
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates