DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Hex Tile Maps - Sea and Coast Pack
Publisher: Dreamworlds
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2013 23:24:16
Good Buy.

An interesting selection of tiles around the coastal theme.
Lost of rocky shoreline and beaches, seaside villages, two one hex islands, an estuary with fortified manor.
These gave some good options and you would be able to make several unique multi-hex islands from these.
There are also a couple of river entrances.

I disliked the advertising of 36 tiles when it is in fact only 28 coastal tiles and 8 blank ocean tiles. The ocean tiles are simply water blue with no features. There is a page of four blank ocean tiles and the remainder are scattered over different pages.
My recommendation is that either:
(a) features are put onto several of the ocean tiles - such as sand bars, or reefs; perhaps even a sinkhole or wreck for something interesting?
(b) group the page of four ocean only tiles together so that they all connect. This way one could make large multi-hex tiles quickly - to fill out large areas of ocean.

I have given this product 3 stars.
If the generic ocean tiles are improved it would get 4.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Sea and Coast Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval Maps - Countryside Hex Tiles Pack
Publisher: Dreamworlds
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2013 01:44:46
Excellent.

75 tiles of which 1 is a blank green tile.
The set is a very comprehensive collection of terrain, improved areas such as villages, farms, lonely towers, manors, isolated farms, bridges, roads, lonely cabins, and a couple of small castles and keeps with and without hamlets.
There is a very good selection of village tiles which can combine to form an extensive community.
There are a large number of forest tiles which I appreciated. Some have roads through, some have dwellings.
There is a good amount of river tiles, some hills and plenty of roads.

The overall theme is definitely Normandy/England medieval, specifically the village and farm tiles which make good use of hedges.

Some highlights are a swampy lake with tribal village, a classic Italian fortified hill town, and a road passing through a hill gully dotted with caves.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Maps - Countryside Hex Tiles Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Tile Maps - Castles and Fortresses Pack
Publisher: Dreamworlds
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2013 01:18:50
20 different fortification tiles including:
lonely tower, road gatehouse, star fort, concentric castles, keeps, fortified village & castle, hamlet surrounding a fortified compound, motte and bailey, and my favourites: two variations of a palisade hill fort with internal animal pens and round houses.
All but two tiles have a road and several have rivers.

An excellent collection designed for fantasy and medieval but perfectly useable for ancient through to 17th century: the rectangular walled compound with a small farming community around it being an excellent example - it could equally be a cleric's temple complex or a Roman garrison fort.

I am using one of the hill forts as a Pawnee Village for my Deadlands meets Pathfinder game.

The product is well priced at 20 master tiles for around $2 at time of review.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Castles and Fortresses Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Horrors From Beyond 1
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2010 19:15:18
Great product.

Everything it claims.
The ground tile is multi-layered with an optional 1" grid, trees, stumps, a log, bones, bloody body, arcane symbols, 2 wells, and a pond!

I look forward to seeing more in this collection. Horror, or more correctly Lovecraftian Mythos inspired creatures, are under-represented. THis product takes a good step forward to correcting that.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horrors From Beyond 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval Ground Tiles
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2010 19:06:03
AWESOME!

The sheer permutations you can accomplish with the layers are truely astounding.

Excellent quality images.
Excellent presentation.
Extra layers (literally) of depth to product.

I wish I had purchased these before looking for non-road tiles. You can create clear, patchy, muddy, grassy, rocky grassy tiles - not just roads.

I will be purchasing all the town buildings from Dave before my next fantasy/pirate campaign.

THOROUGHLY IMPRESSED

Would love to see some different grass tiles in the future please Dave! dry grass, srping flowers, would be good additions.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Ground Tiles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiles [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2010 19:02:17
AWESOME!



The sheer permutations you can accomplish with the layers are truely astounding.



Excellent quality images.

Excellent presentation.

Extra layers (literally) of depth to product.



I will be purchasing all the town buildings from Dave before my next fantasy/pirate campaign.



THOROUGHLY IMPRESSED

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiles [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Western Statix 2
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2010 18:51:55
Very good product.

All minis come in 4 formats:
tri-fold, bi-fold, 2d, and army!
The army collection is a single miniature copied to fill the page. Quite useful if you want a bunch of townsfolk or soliders.

Good product, everything it promises, and to a high standard of presentation and layout.

I would like to see even more western characters!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Western Statix 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Western Statix 1
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2010 18:50:10
Very good product.

All minis come in 4 formats:
tri-fold, bi-fold, 2d, and bi-fold army!
The army collection is a single miniature copied to fill the page. Quite useful if you want a bunch of townsfolk or soliders.

Good product, everything it promises, and to a high standard of presentation and layout.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Western Statix 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds: Horror Toolkit
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2010 06:04:45
I was bitterly disappointed with this product.

I found nothing within the Horror GM's Toolkit to be of any value, and I would go on to say that it may even hinder a young GM's growth in the hobby.

I would expect the content of this book in a d20 OGL product - that is - not really containing ANY horror elements at all.

The entire pdf feels like a d20 splat book for people who want to give their dungeon crawl a venier of horror (and still failing).

....Horror equipment you may want to consider: holy water and garlic....really? really? I paid for that gem of wisdom? This is not an isolated example. I found the entire book to contain this level of unimaginative thinking.
For example, one of the "new equipment" is called a corpse-catcher, but really its just a man-catcher from the DnD 3rd ed players handbook, re-named for a horror feel.
Other equipment such as repeating crossbows, garlic bullets, holy water grenades, neck protection. All this does nothing to add to a horror GMs ability to deliver fear and, well. horror. Its just a dungeon hack toolbox with vampires and werewoves in each 20x20 room.

Some other sections are slightly better, most are not. I dont really want to spend another 200 words on this product. Please just do some research on this particular book before you purchase.

I hate to bag a product, especially from authors and companies I regularly buy from, but this pdf is truely terrible and I strongly recommend both beginners and old hands to leave this alone.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds: Horror Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faulkner's Millinery and Miscellanea
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2010 07:08:19
Excellent product, innovative presentation.

Well written.

Given this a 5 to encourage more of this style of product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faulkner's Millinery and Miscellanea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Realms of Cthulhu
Publisher: Reality Blurs
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2010 07:06:11
Outstanding product.

This is everything Savage Worlds should have had for the horror genre.

Excellent writing, excellent presentation, excellent content.

The Madness/Insantiy system works in a similar but slightly different way to the normal Savage world Damage system. levels of madness and levels of insanitys work very well. As do recovery mechanics.

The spellbooks and evil tomes section is a great balance between old style CoC and modern pulp, retaining ALL of the good stuff that makes Cthulhu Mythos such fun to research.

Monster section is a great brief on the Mythos with relevant stats. Excellent.

The Adventure/setting provided is great. not my cup-of-tea but a well written and useful section.

Adventure generator a useful tool for the newbie and idea drained or overworked GM


Cannot recommend this highly enough. If you have bothered to check out this product and read this review...you WILL LOVE this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tavern Menus: Wild West Saloons
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2010 06:58:36
Good product, well presented, exactly what you pay for.
Not disappointing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tavern Menus: Wild West Saloons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: City Guide
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2010 06:57:20
As with all of the Magical Society series, a little old in style and layout, but without peer in content and value.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: City Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Silk Road
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2010 06:56:28
As with all of the Magical Society series, a little old in style and layout, but without peer in content and value. Highly recommended if you want to create your own trading tables with realistic/sensible reasoning behind it...and have a good idea of how and why...this is YOUR resource.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Silk Road
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Shadows: Music for Trail of Cthulhu
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2010 03:16:43
The music is excellent.

I was however surprised that 2 of the 4 tracks were only 1 minute long.

Anagnorisis 03:13
Pulp Trail of Cthulhu Theme 00:59
Purist Trail of Cthulhu Theme 01:01
Ruminations 03:07

I would have felt better about my purchase if I was aware of the track lengths and that the total music time was only 08:20

The 1 minute themes are meant to be "opening credits" music for your adventure. I love that, but 1 minute seems of limited use as once offs at the beginning of each play session. My players can take that long to realise there is music playing and thus settle down.

The other two tracks can loop fairly well for 20-30 minutes which is fine for they are intended to be used at specific points throughout an adventure, not the entire soundtrack.

I would like to see future releases build on this great work providing for different scenes, and more tracks that can be looped in with these for "downtime", research, exploration, etc

I do hope this composer continues to put out excellent original pieces - I am quite happy to pay a premium for them as compared to buying Original Sound Tracks of movies, but I do expect there to be some length to future work.

I have given this product 3 stars:
4 for the excellent quality of the music - original, full, professional, and appropriate to the genre.
-1 star because I expected 4x 4+ minute tracks not 2x 3 minutes and 2x 1 minute

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Four Shadows: Music for Trail of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates