DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
 
$70.00 $0.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 9
4 3
1 1
0 0
0 0
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Click to view
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2012 16:09:47
Just a quick FYI, these rules are actually slightly outdated. What this rulebook really provides is the background setting and great history about the world.

It also included a nice painting guide and army guides for building your units.

But the rules have since been updated, and you'll need the Heavy Gear Blitz! Field Manual for that. I would consider this a supplement with great fluff and some painting guidance. But it's free now, so perfect!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2012 12:08:04
HG Blitz is the basic rule book for Heavy Gear. You will need the Heavy Gear Field Manual to go a long with this if you purchase the book. The book is laid out fairly well with a lot of diagrams and pictures for you to reference. The rules section has been replaced by the field manual. But that is OK most of this book contains the background information on Terra Nova. It also hosts the information you need to build most of the armies you are allowed to play in Heavy Gear. If I didn't purchase this product I would not have found a new miniatures game to play.

HG has some unique approaches to their game mechanics. The first is Margin of Success (MoS). Basically players roll a number of dice equal to their skill level and take the highest die roll. Then they compare the roll and subtract to get the difference. The difference determines failure or success. I think it is one of the best dice mechanics out there.

The second, is it is an action point system. That is each model or combined model has x actions. Actions can be used at any time during your movement. It requires one action to move at top speed.

The third, is it is a game of combined arms. Your choices vary from list to list but you get to choose from infantry, gears, and tanks.

The final unique item is command points. Command points add a whole new element to the game that I am yet to experience.

What I really like about Heavy Gear is that the game is truly about the tactics you employ. You do need to have a good understanding of what is in play and what the terrain allows for, but the good news about that is it is the same for everyone.

We have a lot of videos on Heavy gear over at gamer-goggles.com feel free to check them out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Rolando M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2012 11:57:55
A good magazine for a great game.

It have enough of everything to be a good buy, and it is free.

Background, stories, rules, scenario ideas... if you are beginning in Heavy Gear Blitz! like me is good to know what have passed before, if you are an old timer its a good way of having new ideas for scenarios and stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Christos S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2012 11:28:20
Very nice. As complicated as it should be (we are talking about HUGE Mechs).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2010 20:27:05
I call this one Battletech with Chrome. Easy to play as miniatures and or role playing. Good unit histories and background on the equipment. Well illustrated. Definitely can burn out some ink cartridges, which limits my printing to the GEARs (battlemechs) and has me take my lap top to the gaming session.
Well worth it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Harry G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2009 18:24:13
Another great book from DP9, makes for good reading along with a great game system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Pirkka J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2008 01:39:29
I got in to Heavy Gear with the original Blitz! rules about a year ago. The game was interesting, but had some oddities. Locked & Loaded fine tunes the rules, balances the whole game, corrects the language, adds better layout and combines all the previous books. It's just great. This is just what I was waiting for.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Ash B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2008 07:41:53
Okay; I can't really give much of a review at this point because I've yet to be able to download this file. As soon as I do that I'd love to give this book some honest opinions.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2008 03:11:52
The greatest incarnation of the Heavy Gear miniature game yet! Great and elegant rules. And significantly less typos than in previous DP9 products. Due to both the price and the updates, the PDF is definitely the format to go with.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Joe E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2008 13:00:26
First off, if you haven't played Heavy Gear Blitz, you owe it to yourself to run out and play this ASAP. This game is fast, fun, and contains a high degree of realism despite its streamlined play. Gear bashing never flowed so smoothly.

This version of Heavy Gear Blitz combines the key ingredients needed to run a tabletop game, a campaign or a tournament all into one easy to read source. All the major factions are treated in depth, the rules are clearly explained with good examples, and there is very little wasted space.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Donald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2008 10:30:27
Having played Heavy Gear for quite some time, I was very skeptical about this reworking of the system. I have been happily and repeatedly surprised by the improvements that Blitz! and now Locked & Loaded have made to a game that I already loved.

Heavy Gear is by far the best giant robot/mecha game available. Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded is just an example of DP9 continuing to improve on near perfection within this genre.

Please try it yourself. I am confident that you will agree.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2008 16:30:47
A great set of rules to play with. The exact right mix of stream lining and detail creates a fun game with some very realistic qualities.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Samuli A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2008 13:14:24
The second edition of the Heavy Gear Blitz! rules, the material in this book replaces that in Heavy Gear Blitz!, Swords of Pride, Shields of Freedom and Hammers of Faith. The rules are even tighter than before and better explained. There are plenty of color pictures which illustrate the setting beatifully.

This is a all in one rules package for playing tabletop skirmish games with beautiful 1:144 scale sci-fi robots, tanks and infantry. Highly recommended for tabletop miniatures games fans.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates