DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Traveller Main Rulebook $39.99 $23.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 7
7 1
3 1
1 1
0 1
Traveller Main Rulebook
Click to view
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by John G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2014 09:43:52
This is an expensive product for something that was ripped straight out of the d20 3.5 SRD with just the mechanic changed from d20 to 2d6. It's very much like CT in what it does and only the mechanic and skill lists are new, really.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2014 10:38:08
The art work is crap. Sorry but this is what helps set the pace and feel of the game.
It had no connection to the past art of the game, too much FANTASY looking, not very Science Fiction looking.

And the ship floor plans are a nice touch, adding even the fighter. BUT they changed too much and non for the better.

This is first impression once I looked at it. Now I have not read the content, its surface glance. (It looks like the mechanics of the game match up with the old....)
BUT this is often a indicator of if it would get a person to pickup the game and run with it.

The character sheet is TOO busy, I liked the clean simple form from the Classic Traveller. It s like who ever wrote the book and commissioned the art has no idea what Traveller is.

I am happy it is not the crappy Steve Jackson version.... but it has so much wrong:

* Poorly organized. Its hard to tell when one section ends and another begins.
* Art is HORRIBLE CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!-
-
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
* The floor plan are NOT matching the ones already established. If you are going to deviate that much offer more then one, so to give players the notion that these varry...
* PSION? Not Psionics? And my gawd! You make it over powered looking! It suppose to be rare, subtle, and well.... WTF happened!
* The editors and authors need to look at what Classic Traveller is, even Mega Traveller, and maybe Digest Group Publishing's past works....
* Clean up the silly stupid character sheets.

Regretting I bought this majorly.... Sticking to Classic Traveller now. In the immortal works of Eric Cartman: "Fudge you guys, I am going home!"

I am going to re-edit this crap to a tolerable level on my own.... wow..... I was expecting improvements, better art then even before.... ARGH! Absolute opposite!

So I ask:
What happened? No, I mean it.... what happened???????

(There are players who do not care or seen to notice the art in a book, but I do. What are you trying to do? Make it look like Dragon Ball Z?)
Where is the soap? Need to wash out my eyes....

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2013 14:50:17
Excellent - a wonderful re-working of a classic! It's clear and succinct, but has a lot of depth and flexibility. My only niggle is the illustrations - they're too 'cartoonish'

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Peter T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2012 21:53:49
Great update to an old classic. I now have an original version, the GURPS version and this one. For playability this version wins hands down.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2011 14:53:39
I have been playing Traveller since the late 70's and early 80's.
If its not broke don't fix it. The classic game Books 1,,2,3 and the detailed Branches 4 Mercs
5 Navy, 6 Scouts, 7 Merchant Marine was the peak. Character creation was a mini game in itself. Unlike the this one.
The current book covers the basic ideas but loses the flavor.
My main reason for buying was to use with the Hammers Slammers expansion.
Sorry but this one missed the mark.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Dara T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2011 19:33:30
Interesting character background generation. The jumping around the book was a little bit confusing but the searching capabilities helped a lot.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Ryan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2010 13:53:07
What an amazing book! I've always feared Space Opera style RPGs, but this thing is... Amazing! A total gem to find RANDOMLY while I was just looking around on the website. Excellent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Dominic A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2010 21:47:11
An excellent release of the rules. In feel, it goes back to the original 3 small books before High Guard and Striker (not that those were bad products). The power is somewhere between the original and the later supplements, but all the character bases of the supplements are covered in the one book. The overall publishing quality is good. For the Traveller fan (or any Sci-Fi loving RPG player) a must buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2010 05:35:04
Thousands of sci-fi worlds at your fingertips with this toolbox. Everything is concisely and comprehensively written into this book, meaning it's the only one you will ever need to own. The layout is simple, but very easy to follow (this being the point), and it's as felxible as you want to make it. Totally recommended - and the first truly progressive update on the Classic game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2009 15:46:03
This is the single best reinvention Traveller has yet experienced. The core rules are everything you could ever want, and does a fine job of selling me on the supplements by virtue of its polished and complete nature....put another way, the core book is so well done it compels me to by the supplements.

LIKES: provides an excellent ruleset from which to run classic science fiction campaigns, and touches on expanding to settings outside of the classic Traveller universe setting of the Imperium.Clean layout, good index, and the V2 edition has some very nice art. This edition is spiritually and mechanically closer to the original CT and MT than any later editions, as well...a good thing for me.

DISLIKES: not much to complain about. Early purchasers for the first print dealt with a few odd bits of errata, but those are all fixed in the PDF edition.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2008 08:52:52
The old Traveller updated, exactly as what you'd expect. A bit overprized for a pdf, though.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates