DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2014 13:01:51
Out of the 197 pages, 190 are the book.
It was added here on August 15, 2005 (9 years ago!).
Since then, no updates, or any support, etc.
I've checked their site (Battlefieldpress.com): nothing there.

After reading the other reviews, I have to agree with certain parts: Tri-stat d20 power/traits, STR, copy/paste, etc.
It could have been better, but seems either rushed, or half done in some ways.

I'm hoping they'll add some sort of update to improve and clarify some parts; it would certainly help.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy8s
Publisher: Aegis Studios
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2014 14:11:13
Of the 17 pages, 13 are the content.
No table of contents.
Typo (P12): Under Myths of Many Lands, Hopi shaman (Harpy shaman?). Who knows?

A few pages of CGI cheesecake.
The currency seems to be Srip? Makes a change from gold I suppose.

No magical Items. No healing potions.
A list of appropriate skills is given on page 1.
Some interesting playable races: Skeletons! Orcs, Yumboes (faerie folk), Draco, Felines, Constructs, etc.

I would say the Fantasy8 PDF is open to your house rules. Adaptable even.

As said before; at 60 pence ($1), you can't argue.
Worth a look.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy8s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Stephen, Thanks much for the detailed review. For clarification, the Hopi is a tribe of Native Americans located in the Southwestern U.S. More information on them can be found at http://www.hopi-nsn.gov/ \"Scrip\" is a term used historically to represent a substitute for actual legal currency which you can learn more about at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scrip Glad to hear you liked the race choices. We are planning to add more in future supplements! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Magic8s
Publisher: Aegis Studios
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2014 13:47:00
A 9 page PDF (5 pages are the content).
Those 5 pages aren't too bad.
The magic system has 2 domains (Prime & Principle).
So, to cast a fireball, if I had 2 levels in Create (Prime), and 3 in Fire (Principle); that gives me +5 for the Casting roll result, which you then gives you the magnitude of effect (P4 table).

I tried the aegisstudios.com site to see what they had on Crazy 8's, but they have a problem with their webhost, so not much there unfortunately.

One thing I've noticed about the Crazy 8's PDFs: no table of contents.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Magic8s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Stephen, Thanks for the in-depth review of Magic8s! Glad to see you\'re enjoying the systems. Allow me to apologize for the difficulty in navigating our homepage If you utilize the link at the end of the \"While we get our hosting concerns sorted out, you can look at our movies, comics, games & reels here.\" sentence, or visit the \"Games\" link under the \"Useful Links\" sidebar, you should be able to find the section of our site that covers our RPG products. In regards to the table of contents, I decided not to include them in the Crazy 8s product line given the small page counts of the Crazy 8s products and the fact that we are already sacrificing pages for the Open Gaming License. As you note in your review, the 9 page PDF includes 5 pages of content. I felt that adding a table of contents or index would simply not be prudent. If/when we collect the Crazy 8s line into print, I will certainly add a functional Table of Contents and index. Thank you very much for your thoughts! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Crazy 8s Editable Character Record Sheet
Publisher: Aegis Studios
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2014 12:08:59
An editable character sheet for free: pretty good.
Yes, it's editable.
I gave it 3 instead of 4, because of the thick black/dark grey border.
Ink intensive (just a bit).
A light frame (if needed), of a light pattern, might be less on the ink.
But; it's free and editable (good).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crazy 8s Editable Character Record Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks much for the feedback! We will look to adding a printer-friendly option to the next file update! Also, for those wishing to conserve ink, the font should be of sufficient thickness and size to be well legible on most printer\'s draft setting with the current version, though your mileage may vary. Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
Publisher: Aegis Studios
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2014 12:00:29
At 8 pages, the system is 3 3/4 pages.
Each page is double column.
I found 2 typos on P1 (right column): woll 2d8 instead of roll 2d8; and under Health: appropriate nmber instead of appropriate number.

At 0.60p ($1), it certainly is a rules lite system (and that's not a bad thing).
I've seen other rules lite systems for £5-£6 here (and not worth it).

It certainly needs more definition on what's written on the 3 3/4 pages.
Am I right in thinking that (on P3), that a massive firearm (shotgun/assault rifle) will give me a +6 on my ranged combat?
Talking of P3; the 'cheesecake' (CGI) that was mentioned throughout the PDF; how the hell does she wear that outfit comfortably?
I've purchased the other Crazy 8's PDFs, to see if the add more definition, clarity, etc to the rules.

At 60 pence/$1, it's worth a look; but it looks like you'll need the other supplements to 'fill it out' so to speak.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Stephen, Thank you very much for your detailed and thoughtful review. I appreciate the notification regarding typos and we will correct those in the next file update. You are correct that a shotgun/assault rifle does add a +6 to a Ranged Combat roll. This translates to a higher chance to hit with a higher possibility of massive damage. The outfits certainly do look uncomfortable, especially on page 3.... The core rules are intended to be very basic, with expansions to those rules being covered in supplements. The idea is that you can pick up and go with this system almost immediately, but if you wish to add additional elements, the supplements will create more detail and broader options. Thank you very much! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Ogres and Underworlds
Publisher: New Realms Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2014 14:24:41
Ogres & Underworlds is 64 pages (62 pages, not including the front pages and contents list).
The contents list has the page numbers linked, which is good. Gets you to the page faster.
The system (page 41-47), informs you on how to resolve an action:
1: Determine Difficulty. 2: Determine Skill. 3: Determine Ability (6 of them).
4: Determine Action Level. 5: Modify Action Level. 6: Determine the Difficulty level.
7: Determine the Action Number. 8: Determine Target Number. 9: Determine success.

The solo adventure on pages 4-8, does actually help you become familiar with the system.
The monster section (pages 50-57), does not give any monster examples (a pity).
The only slight example, is in the solo adventure (giant rat).
The monster section gives you the 'framework' to make your own.

There is a small character sheet on the last page.
I've submitted a character sheet at the New Realms Publishing forum: (jsplace.freeforms.net), in the Ogres & Underworlds section.
Magic is done through the elements (fire, air, water, earth), enchantment, essence, thought, etc.

The system is certainly different to other RPGs.
Try it; see what you think.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres and Underworlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Into the City: Map 0
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2014 13:16:13
I agree with the previous 2 reviewers; good maps.
I look forward to the 'full set' that comes out.
These can be used for practically any genre, as stated earlier.

I've enjoyed the previous map sets (zombie, sci-fi, dungeon maps, etc).
Really good maps made with so called 'antiquated software', as I was informed.

A good preview; worth downloading.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the City: Map 0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 3
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2014 11:20:37
24 out of 26 pages are tiles.
They are very nicely done.
I like the water effect, and the gravel effect in the background.

I submitted a scenario for Age of Shadows on the Age of shadow wiki recently, which was based in a sewer system.
This was then stated on Google Plus, which Mr Richards is also on.
Half hour later, I see him put a sewer tile sample on Goggle+ for me to look at and get an opinion.
I and one or two others agreed on the other samples he made for me for the AoS sewer scenario.

And now; this Expansion set 3 looks just great for the AoS sewer scenario.
All I can say is, well done. Very nicely done indeed.
A page of 'tokens' for sewer rubbish would have been nice.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Basic Set - DM's Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2014 13:17:59
The scan of the DM book is pretty good.
Prints out well.
Quite clear; and cheap at £2.94.

I tried finding the error that was mentioned, but couldn't seem to find it ( I might be reading it wrong).

Wizards: PDFs of the Expert, Companion, master, etc WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA.
You've done a good scan of the basic set; get the others done (or is it too much to ask for?).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set - DM's Rulebook (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Basic Set - Player's Manual (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2014 13:01:16
A pretty good scan of the Player's Manual.
And very good at £2.94.

I just wish Wizards would make PDFs of the Expert, Companion, Master, etc.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Basic Set - Player's Manual (BECMI ed.) (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 2
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2014 12:40:00
20 out of 22 pages of rather nice dungeon tiles.
This set has narrow corridors with some rooms and some extra doors.
And under £1 as well.

Nice mosaic paving stones.

Once again, the option to change the dark stone background would be nice to save ink.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 1
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2014 12:29:33
12 out of 14 pages of some very nice dungeon tiles.
Graphically fantastic.

The only slight downside is the stone background (which does look good) on each page, which would drain a lot of ink.
Make sure you have many cartridges (much ink).

Very good for the price (88 pence).
The choice of altering the stone background would be good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Basic Dungeon Tiles
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2014 12:20:23
22 pages of some very nice dungeon tiles, with added alcoves, dead ends, etc.

well worth obtaining the 2 expansion sets as well.

You'd be daft not to get them, since all 3 are cheap, and good quality.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Some Corner of a Foreign Field
Publisher: Morningstar Productions
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:23:28
£1.20 seemed too good to be true for a set of rules; so I gave them a try.
The rules are only 2 pages (yes, 2 pages); and the army list is 9 pages.
There is also a faq/walkthrough for players to get an idea of how the game plays.

It uses a D20 (no, it's not D&D type/rules), so to speak.
There are rules for spotting your target(s), Hand-to-Hand combat, morale, etc.
The army list has a squad sheet for filling in.
The only thing missing is vehicles.
There is some off table support (snipers, artillery, helicopter, etc).

It's actually quite good; and the price is very good; much better priced than Skirmish Sangin (Radio Dishdash: £7.50 PDF, £25 book).
Some light vehicles might be interesting to see (jeeps, technicals, etc).
Well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Some Corner of a Foreign Field
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fireteam to Fireforce
Publisher: Simon Yang
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:01:59
£7.77 for 32 pages: front cover & introduction, 6 pages of scenarios.
That leaves about 24 pages for rules (Suppression, splitting fire, overwatch, etc).

There are 2 versions, which include a printer friendly version.

The price of £7.77 seems too much for 30-31 pages. Perhaps £3; £4 at the very most.
The mechanics seem quite good (using d4, d6, d8, d10 & d12).
The weapons/equipment is mostly USA/USSR; no British, European, etc.
There could have been more pages (British, European vehicles, weapons, etc).

4-5 stars would have been given for a 'fuller' product.

Fairly good rules, too pricey.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fireteam to Fireforce
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 83 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates