DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Other comments left by this customer:
TORN WORLD's Torn Armor Set Two
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2013 13:12:40
The only reason this isn't a five-star review is that eight is a very low number of distinct figures for the price point (the quoted number 18 includes duplicates of the same figures).

While the Sisk Hoplites are kind of generically menacing-looking and Greek-looking, the art is absolutely excellent, and the remainder of the set is exceptional (Riftblade, specifically, may be one of my favorite pieces of fantasy art).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TORN WORLD's Torn Armor Set Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Torn World's Heroes of Torn
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2013 13:07:43
This is a really spectacular set of standups; while technically it's specific to the Torn Worlds universe, the majority of these characters could pretty much be used for any fantasy or fantasy-styled steampunk (I'm especially thinking of Victoriana here, which has a similar mixture of sapient species). They're evocative, the sort of standups that can produce instant character ideas (which is also good for Ganesha Games' Tales of Blades and Heroes, which uses a "start with the miniature" character generation system).

The only "bad" thing is that some of these illustrations are good enough that I want physical miniatures instead, and I know those won't be out for months (possibly longer, for those of us who missed the Kickstarter for them).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Torn World's Heroes of Torn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battlemap: Degra's Offering
Publisher: Kuroiame Realms
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2013 17:16:18
This is an absolutely gorgeous map. As soon as I picked it up I went to try to have a copy printed out -- but the software I was using stated that the image was too small and at the stated 20x30 would print heavily pixelized. I tried another piece of software and the same thing happened.

I finally worked out what was wrong using GNU Image Manipulation Program. The image is indeed 2000x3000 pixels, and at the expected 100ppi that would work out to a 20x30 map. (Which is a little low, I'd expected about 140ppi, but it's certainly good enough). However, for some reason the image was set at *500 ppi*.

I was able to get the original intended size by resetting it to 100 ppi (which is actually a little low for an image with this much detail). The actual image is perfect, but I am docking one star for the serious technical fault. A computer noob would have had NO clue what was wrong or been able to fix it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap: Degra's Offering
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Cynthia, thank you so much for your review! I very happy you liked the map, and I'm extremely grateful that you brought the PPI issue to my attention! I've fixed it and the zip file has now been updated. :)
Battle! Studio Paper Miniatures: Human Adventurers 2
Publisher: Battle! Studio LLC
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2012 04:37:00
As with the previous entries in this set, these adventurers are drawn in a very kinetic style, perfect for lighthearted fantasy gaming, beer & pretzels play, kids' games, and so forth. The style is deceptively simple and very attractive on the table, but they don't mix well with other companies' artwork so I hope more sets (such as monsters) are released soon so a consistent table look can be achieved.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle! Studio Paper Miniatures: Human Adventurers 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle! Studio Paper Miniatures: Human Adventurers
Publisher: Battle! Studio LLC
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2012 19:41:23
On the one hand, these miniatures give a friendly, jaunty feeling to the table, perfect when running a game for kids or a game that doesn't quite take itself seriously. They really convey a feeling of fun.

On the other, this style of miniature doesn't mesh that well with more realistic-looking paper adventurers. I hope they come out with more sets, especially sets of monsters and monster humanoids like orcs, so you can maintain a consistent look on the table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle! Studio Paper Miniatures: Human Adventurers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fursona -The Definitive Guide to Creating Anthropomorphic Characters
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2011 12:34:06
I was expecting much more of certain things here -- and much less of others.

I was only a handful of pages in when I first ran across the word "yiff," a sexual term in the furry fetish that doesn't belong in this book. There are other ... comments ... laced throughout, as well as certain disadvantages and one of the templates, that are common things in the furry fetish but will be totally unexpected to Pathfinder players.

As to what's missing ... no turtles? No otters or weasels? The book claims that weasels and otters have the same statistics as rats, and that turtles have the same statistics as dolphins. I looked over the stat blocks and I have grave misgivings about that, and these aren't uncommon or obscure species they're skipping. Meanwhile we have entries for dragonmorphs (useful, but not really relevant) and shoggothmorphs (WHAT?)

The 660 million possible races figure seems to be arrived at by simply figuring out how many possible combinations can be thrown together without any rhyme or reason. It's like claiming that Dungeons and Dragons has hundreds of possible character classes because it contains feats. Not to mention, this also includes a LARGE number of "racial abilities" that are nothing of the kind -- social disadvantages, telling magic riddles, berserker rages, the flippin' Ranma 1/2 curse ... it's not a racial ability if a member of any race could have it or acquire it!

Also: rules for playing video game sprites, cartoon characters, Earth humans turned into furries, and Neanderthals DO NOT BELONG IN THIS BOOK.

I bought this book hoping to be able to use it to add normal furry races to my campaign world -- the sort found in Spellsinger, Ironclaw, World Tree, Usagi Yojimbo, etc. I'm finding myself having to do a lot of "well, I can use THIS to mean THIS, and I can substitute THIS for THAT" just to create major characters from those properties, at which point I'm thinking I could just do it myself from scratch and that I wasted ten dollars.

As is, for all these reasons I wouldn't be comfortable handing this book to a player and saying "make a race," and that's the whole ball game right there.

I'd recommend:
Pull ALL even remotely sexual or fetishistic material (including the Half-Willing Prey template, which is playing to a fetish I don't even like thinking about), maybe for another book.
Abandon scientific classifications and find a better way to group animal types; multiple entries for subcategories of canines and separate entries for whales and dolphins don't help, and disparate animals like those mentioned above shouldn't be lumped into categories together.
Overhaul the racial advantages/disadvantages list to restrict it to things that are inherent to racial PHYSICAL traits like flight and water-breathing, making sure nothing that could be acquired is listed as inherent.
And remove the silly templates.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fursona -The Definitive Guide to Creating Anthropomorphic Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FREE PREVIEW 1 from HOT CHICKS: The RPG
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2010 12:43:01
I'm not sure what the point is of a free preview that doesn't include enough information to play it. Without the full Hot Chicks RPG you only have a few characters, an alien race that isn't much more than a source of squick and serve as pop-up targets, and some comic pages and art from deep, deep inside the Uncanny Valley.

And if you already own or want to buy the Hot Chicks RPG, why would you bother with a free preview?

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
FREE PREVIEW 1 from HOT CHICKS: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vending Machines 3D paper scenery
Publisher: Mega Miniatures
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2010 15:05:29
Great for unnerving your players when placed at the bottom of dungeons or in forbidden caverns.

Much more useful, though, as a small side object for modern and futuristic games, not to mention as a replacement for the impossible-to-find vending machine 3-D object for Heroclix.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vending Machines 3D paper scenery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Brat Pack Escape!
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Cynthia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2010 00:01:37
There's practically nothing here.

One page of rules, which come down to a lot of dice rolling -- there's about as much strategy as Candyland. Roll 1d6 and move, roll 1d6 to see if you have to make another roll or (ludicrously) go back to start.

There are different characters to choose from but no balance between them.

The statement that the game is "revealing" comes down to players being told to tell a story about themselves or the character they're playing at the end of each turn. It has nothing to do with the rest of the game; you could throw a similar rule into anything.

The gameboard looks like it was thrown together in Photoshop in five minutes. It's just an ugly neon-green grid with a single linear path; all spaces are the same.

It doesn't look like any effort whatsoever was put into this game. There's a lot of promise in the concept but this doesn't even touch on it. Even at $1.00 this game is a total ripoff.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Brat Pack Escape!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
This game was designed as part of a mini-game-a-thon, where two designers pumped out as many mini-games as they could in a month. Hence the price being a dollar. We're sorry you didn't appreciate the absolute craziness of this event or the product. We pride ourselves off of NOT ripping people off. Kick us an e-mail and we'll send you a refund.
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Dakkar Unlimited
Dakkar Unlimited
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Other products (177)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate