DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook $44.99 $15.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
32 7
7 2
3 1
0 0
0 0
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Click to view
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Paul H. D. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2013 08:37:21
At first this special edition appears to be a rehash, a recombinant of the Shadowrun universe. True, the original information is reiterated, the state of existence that veteran readers of the genre know by heart, is referred to yet again, but this is done in a completely original and creative way. What came before is addressed from a fresh, new perspective that is very compelling because it is give by a person, a native of this dark, dreary projection of the future. The book also expands on the Shadowrun universe, adding additional layers to its history and creating events that bringing new and imaginative concepts to the writer's desk.

The art is evocative and inventive. It gives a great first impression to those who are unfamiliar with Shadowrun and offers a new look to Catalyst game labs' world of the late 21st century. The digital quality is indeed high. It makes me believe that no print edition is necessary because the clarity of the images is so fine.

Well done, CGL, keep up the good work. You deserve nothing but praise.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Stefan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2013 13:01:19
Really amazing game, and great digital quality.
One of the best things about the system is the grimmy-low fantasy and the matrix-system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2012 04:20:14
Shadowrun takes the biscuit for being the stupidest concept ever for a RPG setting (Cyberpunk with ELVES! to paraphrase a well known sci-fi author). Yet, the quality of production, art, and it's sheer playability have kept this game and IP going strong for decades - even when the cyberpunk fad itself has faded. It deserves it's classic status, and this is a really gorgeous book, with clear dice pool rules and lots of setting material. Highly recommended for even casual or skeptical fans.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Leigh T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2011 18:02:18
Well written with good pieces of fiction before each chapter to give a good idea of the world flavour. You can easily play Shadowrun with just this book, though the other books provide more depth and options.
My biggest con on this is that the front and back covers are put together as a montage which makes it difficult to view and navigate the rest of the book. I don't know why this was done and would much rather the book was set up normally with the front cover and then the back cover so navigation would work normally.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2011 18:23:20
This latest version of Shadowrun is fairly streamlined, and as always, I love the setting.
The rules for each activity (magic, tech, combat) work under fairly similar logic, which makes playing faster and easier.
I like how the Matrix has become even more pervasive and integrated into daily life.

The point buy is very flexible, and creates reasonably competent characters, though it is very tempting to minmax.

The illustrations are color and very pretty, and I like the short stories before each chapter.

This may be a problem with PDFs in general, but I find that the pages lag terribly when trying to flip through the book. Not too bad once you can remember where everything is, but still annoying.
As part of the revision from 4th Edition, a lot of the page references have changed, and several of them are off by a page or two.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Sebastian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2011 10:55:33
And 4th
Yea I´ve played it now about 2 years. Its ab good game, but the problems you got in the 3rd are still there.
The rules aren´t really so much faster as said and a lot of the compromises and atavisms of the 1st and 2nd Ed are still there.

NOW to the really nice points, the book got top art, good stories and an overall nice appeal.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 13:03:28
This is a beautiful book and well organized. They have cleaned up a bit of the rules from 4e but its essentially the same game. If you are an old time fan looking to get back into Shadowrun or new to Shadowrun this is probably the book you should buy. While I do prefer older editions SR4A is streamlined and arguably easier to play. New players may want to pick up the runners toolkit for PACKS as this new edition adds to the slowness of character creation by using a point build system. The Matrix rules are very close to the 1e rules only nodes are now generic and you no longer get to add your reaction attribute. There is almost no difference between a Hermetic Mage and a Shaman from a mechanics standpoint and target numbers are no longer variable. If this sounds like the streamlining you always wanted you should pick it up.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by gabe w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2010 10:43:39
Okay so I have always been a fan of sci-fi but never found the right game but now I have found shadowrun I have realised it's perfect everything about this game is great I wish I could give it more stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Fred L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2010 10:04:31
I'm really starting to love the .pdf downloads - being able to transport all of my reference material on a portable hard drive and read it on a netbook is a huge plus. This particular book is gorgeous - and with the money I saved by not springing for a used copy of the Collector's Edition (the only copy I can find locally), I can afford to pick up the supplementary rule books as well!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2009 19:41:52
I was really impressed by the ground covered by Catalyst with the 4th edition, although taking away some of the favourite things of 2E vets like myself, it did address many issues, combined all the aspects of SR (Magic, combat, driving, hacking) into the one system seamlessly and updated the cyberpunk vision from 80's based cyber to a better extrapolation of modern technology.

Originally I was sceptical of the 20th anniversary edition, but once I picked up the hardcopy I fell in love. It's incredible production values, numerous errata fixes and excellent new fiction are all selling points and all fully translate to this fully bookmarked pdf. This is the new rulebook for our SR group and not a single member has regretted purchasing the PDF.

It also features a full index that spans across all supplementary products.

At $15 this is a real bargain.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates