DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Gods of Gondwane
Publisher: Hari Ragat Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 00:54:59
It's a great little game, surprisingly versatile! It allows me to do a whole slew of genres beyond the Swords and Sorcery originally intended. I'm currently using it to run a Swords and Planet campaign. It's very easy for new players, it turned out!
And riffing is how combat description should be done in all games!
I think more people should try it. On top of it, it's free,you lose NOTHING by trying it out and can only gain!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods of Gondwane
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 18:53:22
There's a joke on RPG forums that if you want a "movie-style" party of a goddess, a special agent and a monkey, you're out of luck.
It's not true when you're playing FATE, though. Better yet, the party is even balanced! Well, obviously it's not balanced for combat, but still. You basically get one of the most versatile systems out there, able to do any setting.
And unlike GURPS, you don't even need a setting book in order to play it, FATE Core is enough!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2013 18:16:59
I was a backer on the KS for this game, so obviously I like FATE. But what matters is, I'm slowly coming to prefer FAE to regular FATE. All of the possibilities with much less mechanics, what's not to like?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition
Publisher: Vajra Enterprises
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2013 18:04:21
Fates Worse Than Death has become my favourite cyberpunk setting. And that's saying quite a bit from someone who has played or run basically every CP game currently on the market.
But I like the game most for what it isn't, actually.
It's not game where violence is often the best solution.
It's not a game where everyone and their granny are totting around heavy guns.
It's not a game where the system is corrupt beyond hope for salvation.
In short, it's a game of neocyberpunk/postcyberpunk, and this makes the characters really feeling like real people.

I especially like the hacking rules. More than one session have had as a focus obtaining info necessary to hack into a protected system. And the game made this activity fun and rewarding!
In short, try it. Hey, it's free, it's not like you've got to commit a lot! And then, if you like it, consider getting the full rules with additional setting information. Yes, despite it not being a small book, Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition is a quick start!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fates Worse Than Death Gameplay Album
Publisher: Vajra Enterprises
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2013 17:53:57
It's great background during a game of Fates Worse Than Death. And what more could one want from a gameplay album?

I liked the music as well, but talking with music fans has taught me that this is, at least, always a matter of personal taste.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fates Worse Than Death Gameplay Album
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2013 15:45:19
5 stars! The system actually can cover a multitude of genre and settings, and retains an element of chance without dice, via the different levels of Effort used. The rules are unified well, no matter the actions, and this doesn't feel forced!
And then there are the setting and genre books for it. I'm quite fond of some of them, and since they have to devote little space to system - the text is already a system - they're quite packed with information!

(As an advice, though, the GM should probably scribble the difficulty of the task down after determining it, and reveal it after the player has decided the Effort used. It only takes a sheet of paper that you can also use to scribble notes on).
Besides, it's free! Try it, you've got nothing to lose even if you don't like it - but if you do, you have found a very sleek, very adaptive system that's to your liking!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures in Oz: Fantasy Roleplaying Beyond the Yellow Brick Road
Publisher: F. Douglas Wall Publishing
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:48:59
Wonderful game that really captures the spirit of the books.
Are you a fan of the books? Get this game.
Have you never read the books? Get this game and you'll know a lot about them. And you might be inspired to look for them afterwards, too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Oz: Fantasy Roleplaying Beyond the Yellow Brick Road
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:18:22
A really in-depth treatment of the setting. Personally, I like picking the combat effects after rolling, the way armour work, the system for advancement, the simple way the game handles the importance of advantages, how magic is powered... and did I mention the work that went in the setting?
It's a splendid game indeed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warband
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:14:21
A really in-depth treatment of British tribes at the time. Since they're part and parcel of 43 A.D., this supplement can help a GM (or rather, a Referee) that wants to run a Roman miliitary campaign set in these times, and be sure they're getting the NPCs "just right".
Or you can just raid your enemies and steal their cattle!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nights of the Crusades
Publisher: Aetheric Dreams
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 03:54:03
A very interesting game, and not just because it does a better-than-average job in introducing the setting! It's got some interesting mechanics as well. The rules for telling a story are a touch of brilliance in a setting inspired where 1001 Nights are an important cultural artefact!
And it's free, so why don't you all download it and see for yourself?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nights of the Crusades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2012 15:14:29
Very good game, which didn't get the attention it deserves.
WARNING, I'm assuming you have and use the errata file. Don't know why FFG aren't offering it as a free download, but it's relatively easy to find on the Net. If you're not using it, the rules are a mess.
That said, I like the mechanics. It's giving a very authentic feeling, and is one of the first games to solve both the issues of using mental actions in combat, and the issue of a character attempting multiple actions at once. Add to it playing in both modern-day London, and in the Mythic time, and you get a very entertaining game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Publisher: Burning Wheel
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2012 09:05:12
I'm going to disagree with all the other reviewers so far. No, it's not unpalyable game - keeping in mind it's obviously meant to be a preview!
Simply put, you don't need a starting adventure included in order to play a short scenario. The adventure is obviously meant to consist of the GM challenging the Beliefs, Traits and Instincts of the PCs.
You don't need the section on combat, either. Combat can be just an opposed test, with set stakes. Yes, that's per the RAW of the game - it tells you to only use the tactical rules when the opposed roll isn't dramatic enough. For a short adventure, you're probably not going to miss them.
So, all in all, I was able to try the game - keeping in mind it's just the basic rules, what you'd put in a quickstart. All I can tell is that the quality is impressive.
I'm only sorry the full BW Gold rules aren't up for download. But that's a different story, and has no bearing upon the "BWG: Hub and Spokes" as a product. As it is, it gave me a good idea of what to expect from the full BWG rules. I happen to like what I saw. Some people are bound to disagree.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Wheel Gold: Hub and Spokes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest II
Publisher: Mongoose
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2011 17:33:39
That's definitely one of the best combat systems on the market. It's not rules-light, but it's solidly rules-medium. The combat manoeuvres are a nice touch, and add a lot of flavour.
True, the skills could stand to be a bit more detailed, as well as the skill improvement rules. However, that's purely down to preferences! For many others, it could be just the right amount of detail.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2011 19:05:24
It's a very nice product. The setting rules are a nice addition to the Savage Worlds rules and really fit the genre.
I especially appreciated the Random adventure generator. It waves some nice plots and allows you to prepare a basic plot in minutes. Then you thrust the characters in it, and wait for the action to start. Normal GMing, just made easier.
I also really appreciated the attention to politics between Red Martian cities and other races. Obviously, these give you even more plots waiting to happen. And it's a good thing that the Earthmen aren't totally overwhelming, like they would be in an ERB books. This way, you can have a nice mixed party.
All in all, I have only good words for this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vikings
Publisher: Design Mechanism
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2011 14:16:54
That's a great supplement for any historical campaign, not just a Viking one!
The supplement has three strong points.
First, it discusses how to create a historical campaign, and gives an overview of possible problem and the different solutions. You are free to pick what works best for your group and playing style. With it, you can run a game that's as close to history as you want, or one that only uses the Viking age as a backdrop. But this backdrop will feel real!
Second, it gives you a wealth of information on the daily life, the impact of customs - and why these were created in the first place - and the way people from this age used to THINK. This way, it is an invaluable resource for both GMs and players who want their Viking PCs to feel like more than "modern people in the viking age". It's all there, customs, religion, beliefs, and the way society works.
Third, Pete Nash manages to present the information in a way that's more fun to read than many fantasy books! It's not like a manual, more like a good novel. Examples from the sagas help a lot, too, and add a nice touch.
Now, there are minor inconsistencies in the historical information - or at least things I've been taught differently in history lessons - but they're so tiny they are not worth mentioning. If your campaign goes to other regions, you would do well to look for other supplements. But the Northern Europe of that time feels real, and any mistakes I have noticed are unlikely to affect a game to any great extent! And maybe I should check my own sources again? Either way, that's the only problem I have noticed, and it doesn't actually make this supplement worse! The main advantages of this supplement are not affected in any way.
In short, I give it five stars, which should give you an idea how good I think this supplement is!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vikings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates