DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Anointing the Seer - 4th Edition D&D adventure
Publisher: Unicorn Rampant Publishing
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2010 13:34:07
Unicorn Rampant is one fairly new of the up and coming publishing companies. The publish a e-zine called, Claw, Claw Bite and have a variety of different products.

The author begins with this explanation of the events that have unfolded before the players arrive on the scene.

"A new priestess at a flourishing temple, renowned for it's high priest's abilities as an augury, and lays a curse on all there. A call goes out for some brave souls who must enter the now dangerous temple, discover the nature of the woe laid upon the priestess and set all to right. Before all is done, they will face a witch and her minions, a warlock in his aerie and a dragon in it's lair. This adventure is designed for 4th Edition Dungeons & Dragons characters of 5th level."

Here is a partial synopsis of the adventure backdrop, which is necessary for a full understanding of the goals and plot line that the game master needs to know:

"Nearly forty years ago just outside the tiny village of Gomaton a priest of St Cuthbert, led by a vision from his god, established a temple. Built quickly (in a mere five years) the temple soon gained a reputation for the propheticness and accuracy of it's founder's visions.
For this reason the temple came to be known as The Seat of the Seer. During this time the growing clergy of the temple aggressively converted the townsfolk to the worship of St Cuthbert. This angered the local wise woman, a druid and witch who lived south of Gomaton and had been the hamlet's spiritual advisor. She came into conflict with the church and was demonized by them. Cast out of the community, and with bitterness in her heart she moved into the dark and quiet arm of the Verdant wood to the west."

They provide this brief history of how one of the primary NPCs came into being:

"At the same time a Green Dragon named Othokentvivex (Oath-kent-viv-ex) who lived deeper in the woods was awakening from a decades-long slumber during which he had sloughed off younger scales and grown to a mature adulthood. One of his new powers was the ability to take on the form of almost any creature. Curious to see his woods through eyes that would not cause those he met to flee in terror, he began taking the form of the races he met in the woods: the trolls, giants, fey, and finally the humans. Disguised as a human and calling himself Victor he met the wise woman from the village while she
wandered the woods. Othokentvivex found in her bitterness and anger a kindred spirit. She herself likewise became very interested in this wise and mysterious stranger she kept meeting in the woods. He found her by far the most interesting creature in the wood and meeting her again and again learned much about the humans nearby from her while nurturing her malice against them. They spent much of a spring and summer together, eventually becoming lovers. As autumn approached the Dragon, never having revealed his true nature, lost interest in this human woman and spent the next seasons in slumber, dreaming of gathering all the riches the humans had. The next spring, alone in her hut, she gave birth to a male child she named Anduix."

Here are the possible adventure hooks to get the characters involved in the story:

● One character was romantically interested in
or involved with the priestess and hears that
the temple has been attacked.
● The players have been asked by the church to
travel to Gomaston and save the cathedral.
● Erathis is angered at her temple being
violated and grants a vision to one of the
party members.
● The players may need some type of divination
and are sent to the Seat of the Seer only to
discover that the new Seer has been kidnaped.
● A bard's tale of the attack on the temple reaches the party.

The layout, art and cartography are all very good. You will have no problem following the adventure as your players explore and investigate the details, on their way to a conclusion. The adventure has an innovative plot that serves as a backdrop for the triggered events. Each section is well organized with the encounters and statistics needed for a game master to interact logically with the characters as they make their investigation. This investigation leads them to the final section and the conflict with the Big Bad. They may actually redeem the soul of an individual who has known only bitterness and evil. This is a most admirable goal for a group that seeks to defeat evil!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Anointing the Seer - 4th Edition D&D adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quirin Campaign #1: The Temporal Key
Publisher: GMC
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 21:18:28
This product contains another beautiful map, this time of a region that is highly detailed. There is a large text PDF section that explains the campaign and world in extensive detail. It includes campaign hooks, encounters at different levels, etc. For anyone who wants a complete world to run their PCs in, I highly recommend this free product. I've seen expensive products that cannot match this download!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Campaign #1: The Temporal Key
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quirin Stock Art #18.5: Trassp Add-On
Publisher: GMC
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 21:09:02
This is one bad-looking monster! I shall have to give this thing some 3.5 statistics, so I can use it in one of my adventures. This product contains several variations of the same monster, which allows for a variety of preferences. Thanks to Christian for another great free download.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Stock Art #18.5: Trassp Add-On
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hot Chicks 2010 Calendar
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:54:41
This is an awesome calendar with some 'hot chicks' that one would like to see in the gaming experience. My hat is off to the artists who made this happen! Several types and varieties of ladies make their appearance here. I just wonder if they used real models in producing this product!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hot Chicks 2010 Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Generic Maps #7: Terrain Pack I
Publisher: GMC
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:51:20
I have used many of the maps in this pack in my published adventures. They add a standard of quality mapping that I could never match. Christian Janke is highly talented and I know that I will use his work frequently in the future.
The generic map sampling here are what I needed to imagine the actual travel for the adventure. Anyone who has bought our (Black Death Publishing) products knows that I like to incorporate travel throughout my world and the planes. I can say the same for all of the maps that I have purchased from GMC!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #7: Terrain Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Generic Maps #6: Floorplan Pack II
Publisher: GMC
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:50:06
If you look at some of our latest adventures, you will see these maps included within. They are beautifully presented, very imaginative and highly useful for designing encounters in dungeons and buildings. The layouts match up from top to bottom, including stairs and other access areas between floors. The maps can be sized up or down, depending on their application.
I used practically all of the ones in this pack and will use all of them at some point. They bring a professional look to may adventures that I could never match!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #6: Floorplan Pack II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Generic Maps #4: Floorplan Pack I
Publisher: GMC
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:45:03
I have used many of the maps in this pack in my published adventures. They add a standard of quality mapping that I could never match. Christian Janke is highly talented and I know that I will use his work frequently in the future.
The generic map sampling here are what I needed to imagine the setting for indoor and dungeon encounters. These are professional, colorful and imaginative works and it's hard to believe they can be bought for this price!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #4: Floorplan Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Generic Maps #7.5: Terrain Pack I Add-On
Publisher: GMC
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:42:04
I have used many of the maps in this pack in my published adventures. They add a standard of quality mapping that I could never match. Christian Janke is highly talented and I know that I will use his work frequently in the future.
The generic map sampling here are what I needed to imagine the actual travel for the adventure. Anyone who has bought our (Black Death Publishing) products knows that I like to incorporate travel throughout my world and the planes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Maps #7.5: Terrain Pack I Add-On
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EMG Maps Collection I
Publisher: Emerald Giant
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2009 20:36:04
I liked the sample maps in this free collection so much that I decided to purchase the program. I have found this program to be highly useful for random dungeon creating. It has the 'old school' look to it, with a large variety of options and colors. The free download gives you enough to make you want to see more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EMG Maps Collection I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Friar's Almanac - 002
Publisher: Dark Spire
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2009 19:33:16
I found this to be a highly informative product. The layout is very good and the (awesome) background makes the text stand out clearly. If you can solve the problem of the occasional half page blank section, it may come out even better!
Your article on the bad press and outright slander against D & D, propagated by some, was 'spot on' and very detailed. The facts about this are clearly on the Game Player's side.
I am an evangelical Christian and consider the theme of good vs evil to be an excellent way to polish one's own ethics. J.R.R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis were both Christians and they used the fantasy genre to write exciting stories that had positive morals behind them.
I also enjoyed the 'Secrets of the Heavens" very much. The whole publication has a wonderful variety of subjects with each being well-thought out. Add to this the fact that the Friar's Almanac is FREE makes for a great product. Very good job on the part of everyone who participated in this!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Friar's Almanac - 002
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quirin Maps #7: Nrasra's Tower
Publisher: GMC
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2009 07:37:34
When I have good visual images to work with, I can more easily write the details of an adventure. This publication has good artistry and the images are very useful for me as a writer. I am sure that they are also what a DM needs to use in a game situation. You can use the images (or parts of images) by the copy and paste method and place them wherever needed in your own adventure. I like the way the rooms fit together. I like the way they look in a doc, odt or pdf format. The details are taken care of and the options are many!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Maps #7: Nrasra's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of Horror [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Unicorn Rampant Publishing
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2009 05:39:21
All of the products in this bundle are of good quality, easy to use in gaming situations and have interesting stories behind them. Each product has a unique concept that sets it apart from the others. All of the authors, artists and editors have put a good effort into these publications.
If you and your players like horror stories and challenging situations with plot twists, you will enjoy this bundle of horrific adventures!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Horror [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EMG Mapper
Publisher: Emerald Giant
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2009 07:21:49
I found this program to be very useful for making adjustable, random maps. There are a ton of options on this program, it is 'user friendly' and I was quickly able to put it to work for me. I will be using it almost exclusively for my published RPGs.

The categories on the program are adjusted by percentages. They are too numerous to list but include rooms, room sizes, doors, secret doors, colors, shadows, traps, corridors, size of corridors, style of corridors, stairs, layout style and the list goes on and on.

It is designed to print out directly but I wanted to use it to make maps to include in my published adventures. I had a question about this and the designer told me how to save them as PDFs. The support for this is excellent.

The price is a big plus. I highly recommend this program for your dungeon mapping needs. Black Death Publishing is well satisfied with it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EMG Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Horror of the Old Ones
Publisher: Unicorn Rampant Publishing
by Rex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2008 05:01:04
This product does indeed capture the theme of H.P. Lovecraft!
It'is well-thought out and well written. There are some horrible things going on here, both known and unknown to those who live and adventure in this region. The ultimate evil working behind the scenes is very much influencing the whole culture. It's like a cancer; a parasite that needs to be cauterized and eliminated, once and for all!
In the intro they say that your PCs can gain multiple levels while playing through this...Absolutely! There is a lot of gaming material here: a main storyline, side treks, with a detailed village, NPCs and history of the region.
The maps and art work are very good. You can tell that the staff at Unicorn Rampant has taken the time to put together a major effort and it's well worth the price tag. The Layout is appealing to the eye, easy to read and follow which is very important to a DM.
There is a lot of material to digest and those who run this need to know the background well, not just sections of the adventure for each week.
The only negative for me is probably a 'pet peeve' of my own. I don't like to use the future tense when describing events, i.e. "they will encounter so and so", I like to eliminate the 'wills' and such as it gets to the point more directly. I believe that this makes the text more compact and enhances the story!
If you like horror and grim situations for heroes to deal with and defeat, buy this and get ready for a ride that takes surprising twists and turns along the way!!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Horror of the Old Ones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates