DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Ron B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2013 13:49:39
I like BareBones Fantasy. If DwD can maintain their production values, you'll be getting in on the ground floor of something special. I'm certainly rooting for them. I'd recommend this product to anyone looking for a simplified-but-deep-enough approach to fantasy. I'd also recommend it to anyone looking to learn a thing or two in preparation for their own publishing adventure. I wouldn't recommend this book if your interests lie primarily in the truly crunchy and/or complex.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Insider Issue 1
Publisher: Mystical Throne Entertainment
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/23/2011 23:45:28
Highly recommended!

This is a stylish, well put together resource for any Savage Worlds fan.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Insider Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ingenium
Publisher: Silver Gryphon Games
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/26/2011 15:32:30
Seriously, three words! That's all it takes to make a character. Not only does the system get out of the way in play, it gets out of the way in character creation. I seriously made a character in 10 minutes. I understood what he could do, and he was well balanced.

The art is well done, and the writing gets to the point.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ingenium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Player's Guide
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/26/2011 15:27:06
Fantasy Flight seems to have seen the writing on the wall with this re-packaging of WFRP Third Edition. I am among those who bristled at the very board game-like presentation of the boxed set. I absolutely get the special dice--Fate/Fudge games are the same in that manner--but all the chits and cards and such just seemed to take away from the experience for me. This book iteration gives you the option to play the classic pen/paper way, just add dice. All the "board game" trappings are now completely optional, though they are definitely recommended. Still the option, perceived or otherwise, is nice.

This is one of my all-time favorite settings, and this new rule set truly does an admirable job of presenting it. The dice themselves provide guidance for roleplaying in combat, something oft-forgotten at the table. They pretty much force you to not simply roll the dice and call out damage.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Woodland Warriors Rpg
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/26/2011 15:17:28
Woodland Warriors, based on the Swords & Wizardry iteration of OD&D, is brilliant! I am especially satisfied with the use of d6s that essentially transform the classic game system to a roll/keep affair. Dave Bezio's adventure in the back really captures the Redwall feel this game seems meant to stress. I will be playing this with my 7-year-old daughter and nephew. The excellent side effect is the kids have asked me to read the original Redwall to them!

My one gripe is i would have liked to seen details bringing the classes to Level 10 or more.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Woodland Warriors Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/26/2011 09:13:26
If you want to tweak your C&C game, look no further than this book. Basically the Castle Keepers Guide takes a toolkit approach to modifying the Siege Engine. Much of the optional rules re-introduce elements of the full 3.x SRD, but the real beauty of the book for me is in the analysis of the game engine. Highly recommended for anyone interested in spicing up their C&C game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BASH! Ultimate Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/11/2010 10:23:25
BASH! Ultimate Edition feels like an indie game and an old school game at the same time. The rules are simple and straightforward: roll 2d6, multiply by stat. There are tables for those averse to math. Just about every power I could think of is in there, and the game seems like it scales well, allowing for play at any level in the comic book super hero genre.

My only gripe is there is advice given in the front of the book about transparency with players, but there are key mechanics buried in the narrator's section. Aside from this foible, BASH! fires on all cylinders.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mutant City Blues: Hard Helix
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/11/2010 10:13:22
Robin Laws' Mutant City Blues may not be the best selling Gumshoe game, but it's not for lack of quality. And Hard Helix proves it's a damned shame.

Four excellent adventures are included including the "title track," which is a great introduction to the setting presented in the core book.

I recommend Hard Helix for all Gumshoe aficionados, however, because these scenarios can double as the ultimate guidebook on how to build a Gumshoe scenario as the designer originally intended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant City Blues: Hard Helix
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Craft Second Printing
Publisher: Crafty Games
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/11/2010 10:06:54
This is d20 at its most flexible best.

Fantasy Craft solves my biggest problem with its parent fantasy game. With the use of a simple table, GMs can now put their PC's up against any creature, any time, at any level.

In addition, NPCs are a breeze to make by simply going over a section in the book.

The toolkit concepts begun in Spycraft suit high fantasy well. There is simply no better way to run a home brewed fantasy campaign using d20!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates