DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Eclipse Phase $19.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
70 21
12 2
7 1
0 0
0 0
Eclipse Phase
Click to view
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Evan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2010 11:56:13
Having spent long years searching for games with rich background, psychological depth, and meaningful stories filled with dramatic gravitas and intense action, I was incredibly pleased to have stumbled upon this gem. The setting is stunningly detailed and provides a wealth of story opportunities before the rules are even mentioned. While some readers may find the degree of detail, both socio-political and techno-material, intimidating or overbearing, I found it to be excellently crafted. By the time you've finished reading the text, you've been virtually indoctrinated into an immersive transhuman world.

Stories in the game setting can take nearly any form, containing elements of horror, science fiction, fantasy, espionage, and the political thriller. Through their characters, players will confront issues of identity, lovecraftian horror, deep metaphysical and existential quandries, and loyalty, all interspersed with the role playing standards of fast paced combat, episodic missions, and tests of skill.

The system mechanics are fairly simple and easy to learn, but not rudimentary. Rather, they serve their purpose, creating a standardized method for resolving conflict of all types while remaining in the background. They don't detract from the setting, but rather augment it. They quickly become intuitive, allowing the story to flow with only minimal interruption when needed.

The document itself is beautifully illustrated and emphasizes the game world without being a distraction. The occasional error in spelling or grammar can be overlooked, though there are a few "wince moments."

For the price, the game is a steal and after reading through the pdf, I am more than willing to pay the additional funds to purchase a hard copy.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by liam b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2010 21:26:24
Haven't played it yet, but the book is awesome in its layout and design. The content is well written and excellently laid out. Concepts seem sound and mechanics seem strong. For 15 bucks, its easily worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Brent M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2010 17:45:24
Intensely detailed. Perhaps too much so. Found it hard to get into this product. Perhaps I was too drawn in by the pretty cover and and the idea of gaming in a world of bizarre humans and the horrors mankind cannot imagine. What I got reads more like a socio-political dissertation. Too bad. Was looking for more atmosphere. Maybe I'll take the time to read it some day.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Cliff J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2009 02:14:47
I had started to hear rumblings earlier this year about this game, but all the word of mouth couldn't have prepared me for how much I've come to love this game! The mechanics are simple and allow for a nice level of flexibility in style and tone, and the setting is everything I've been looking for a in a sci-fi game for the last two years. Do yourself a favor if you've not picked it up already and add this to your collection.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Radoslaw K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2009 07:16:32
Eclipse Phase might be the next BIG THING for the coming years. The setting of the game is awesome as is the idea of changing bodies almost at will (and enough money). Just imagine that you do not have to depend on your body any more, because your concience can be downloaded from a body and uploaded to a different one at any time. These 400+ pages are full color, awesome art and for a price anyone is able to pay. After reading the book I can strongly recommend it to any one interested in a SF setting with interesting twists story- and characterwise.
5 stars of 5

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2009 21:14:49
I've been waiting for Eclipse Phase since I saw a teaser ad for it in one of the game store trade publications. Now that it's out I can confidently say that it was well worth the wait. This dark and brooding setting is truly epic and spans our own solar system and beyond. While the rules are a basic percentile mechanic, they are far from simplistic. Character creation appears daunting at first, what with the numerous options from cybernetic and genetic modification. However, the results are well worth the effort. While I feel that the inclusion of "Psi" powers detracts from the "hard" sci-fi nature of the EP setting, the rest of book more than makes up for it.

I can't wait to try this game out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2009 20:58:41
The background of this setting is amazing. Deeply engaging (especially if you like the conspiracy, post apocalyptic and horror themes) and challenging due to the completely different way of thinking about your humanity, life and mortality.

The d100 percentile system works well and (from my experience with other such systems like Dark Heresy) allows a lot of flexibility for players and GMs to modify things on the fly and to make snap rulings on unexpected situations.

This is a great RPG for an adult gaming group that is pretty small (4 players + GM).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2009 03:58:01
I have had this game for a while not and have been slowly digesting it. All told I am extremely impressed by what Eclipse Phase has to offer, the setting is different enough from other SciFi games to stand on its own, in incorporates a number of themes that will be immediately recognizable to anyone familiar with the works of David Brinn, Peter F Hamilton, Iain M Banks, Richard Morgan & Neal Asher.

The system is a simple percentile based one with a lot of flexibility built into it.

Character generation really shines in this game, the degree of customisation is fantastic. As an example character I created an AI inhabiting a drone swarm who makes his living as a cool hunter/blogger/gossip columnist, when he is not working for the shadowy organisation Firewall that is.

The setting brings a lot of elements together to make an engaging world with a lot of scope for play, customisation and character development.

All told a substantially awesome product. Well done! 5 Stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2009 14:38:52
I am extremely pleased with Eclipse Phase. This is an excellent alternative to GURPS TransHuman Space and the price can't be beat. The system is essentially percentile-based with a point-based character creation system. Plenty of templates are provided to help you understand your choices. The book is 400+ pages and is exquisitely illustrated throughout. The only problems I've seen so far are a few, niggling typos and the 1000 pts you have to spend on skills, traits, and morphs (though that 1000 disappears rather quickly, actually).

I recommend this game highly to anyone interested in imaginative, near future SF settings.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 24 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates