DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
 
$0.00
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
28 10
24 6
8 2
3 0
1 0
CJ Carrella\'s WitchCraft
Click to view
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Tomas T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2013 09:04:24
It has a very well founded and easy magical background. Although I haven't played it yet I have read parts and found it very well written and anyone who likes this themed Role Playing will use it. The way to create a character is very defined and what I most like of the book is that it's not complicated. I also loved the art displayed in it. A definitive must try for all magic and mystic lovers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2013 12:13:39
This book is the rosetta stone of 'getting' the unisystem. And it's free.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:41:31
This is a Unisystem game, the same rule set that powers All Flesh Must Be Eaten. And WitchCraft is free! If you think you might run All Flesh one day, stop reading this and download WitchCraft right now. Before Eden Studios wises up and starts charging you for it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2012 03:04:41
This game introduced me to the whole Unisystem series of which I now own quite a few products. I was never happy playing WOD games, I considered them too much like superhero games instead of gritty, dark urban fantasy. For me Witchcraft was what I was looking for. I liked the fact that I did not have to roll handfulls of dice, its a personal preference. I liked the dark grim setting, with a slight hint of Cthulhu esque horror. The fluff pieces in the book give a really nice feel for the setting.

If you are not a fan of WOD, but want something in the line of urban fantasy, you will probably be happy with Witchcraft.

After getting Witchcraft for free, I went on to buy all the expansions (starting with Mystery codex), which I consider useful additions to the main rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Rodrigo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2011 14:31:31
muito bom acho que vale a pena pegar esse livro, ainda mais de gra├ža

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Corey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2011 11:41:35
The game looks pretty solid to me. The Unisystem is a little simple for my tastes, and I'm not too sure how it'll stand up if used without Dice or Cards. Still, it looks like it will get the job done nicely, and I look forward to testing it out. The fact that it's free makes this book even better, and I would recommend any gamer take a look at this. It does a lot of things WoD just can't, and I kinda wish I had started my current 'Psychics trapped in an Asylum' game with it instead.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Ramon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2011 23:12:01
Well for me it was great,and at that price much better. as things are going, we need a bit more stuff free so we can keep rpg alive

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2010 09:32:23
This review is based on approximately 1 hour of skimming the rules, reading in-depth into some sections, and is not a comprehensive review.

That said, I strongly recommend this game to anyone interested in contemporary supernatural settings.

The artwork is black and white, but excellent. The fiction that is interspersed throughout the book is well written, although the font used can be just a bit clumsy to read.

The ruleset is solid... similar in many ways to other, more popular and well known RPG's in a similar setting, but they stand on their own and seem to work well.

This PDF is just over 320 pages, and it is a complete system... just because it's free here at DriveThru, don't let that make you think it's any less valuable than expensive games.

I did not give this particular game 5 stars because... well honestly I felt there was almost too MUCH fiction blended in. That's a personal issue with me (I can't stand the tons and tons of fiction in the Vampire series books by White Wolf), so please disregard this criticism if you like a lot more color in your games than I am comfortable with.

Final verdict: Extremely good game, solid game mechanics, excellent art. You can't lose with this.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Dean B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2010 17:16:12
Liked the history and character types for this game, I think it be very nice for people to try out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2010 13:03:33
Great game. One of the best resources for using unisystem in any setting. This too me is what WOD tried to do.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:19:17
This is a great game. I love the concept (witches fighting evil essentially, not exactly like Charmed or anything) which is very well written. The game runs on Eden's Uni-System which serves it's purpose in a workman-like fashion. Nothing fancy, but it gets the job done. There something very '90's about the game to me, it was born out of the same end-of-the-millenium anxiety as the Original World of Darkness, Buffy, Charmed, The Craft, etc. It has a real vibe about it that way. There are supplements for game, but you can play straight out of this book and never miss them. Just a great combination of setting, concept, and a solid mechanical system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2009 15:50:34
I've had this PDF on my hard drive for some time and have just never gotten around to taking a look at it. The PDF is original digital, so it's a perfect copy. Unfortunately there are no bookmarks and it is locked so that you cannot add any. Otherwise, it's flawless.

The system is very simple and to the point. It does not get bothered about the fine specifics of combat; just covers what you need to know and moves on. The magic system is similarly simple.

It seems to approach witchcraft from a viewpoint closer to reality (than Awakening), in that the mages are just people and not children of gods or the like. They are just gifted with the ability to shape aspects of reality. The dangerous nature of the magic is also an improvement over Awakening.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Nathan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2008 16:03:58
This is a great game of Eden studios.

the PDF is well don and it's 7.34 mb

get this game it's great

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Petja S.
Date Added: 06/29/2006 14:35:57
Edens Unisys rules the universe! I don like comparison between WOD and world of Witchcraft bechose Witchcraft is all that WOD is not (for the record I have been game mastering most of WOD games since early 90s). Unisys may look complex and even flawed at first look but it makes hell lot of sense and is much easier than tossing bucket loads dices. In what game you could have reborn Atlantean (from Atlantis that is) and CROWesque relentless dead as same player team with witches, kinghts templars or voodoo priests.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Paul B.
Date Added: 03/13/2006 16:58:37
Excellent rule system, reasonably detailed and interesting character generation.

An occult rpg, with overtones of conspiracy, and a liberal dose of Lovecraft thrown in for good measure.

I suppose a comparisson has to be drawn with WOD Mage:
The general game system has the edge over WOD(and hte New WOD), it feels far more robust and integrates with the other 'undead and Shapechanger suppliements' in a far less hap-hazzard way than say Were wolf or Vampire do.

However, Witchcrafts magic although varied is not as free-form as the new WOD Mage - still its enjoyable if a little formulaic.

So If your players prefer the security of a hard and fast magic system then Witchcraft is probably a good option.

Layout and art work are quite good, and writing is easy to follow, though the double -- become a little irritating.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Eden Studios
Eden Studios
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (70)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate