DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Wild World Wrestling: Main Event Edition
Publisher: Timeout Diversions
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2011 08:20:49
Probably the best wrestling roleplaying game available right now. Based on the WWE Know Your Role game with some nice updates and modifications that move it a little farther away from it's d20 roots (but not too far). As much as I hold a soft spot for the old WWF Basic Adventure Game this one does a better job incorporating players who aren't immediately involved in "wrestling" the current match such as by making them announcers, refs, or cheering fans. It also does a very nice job replicating the flow of a televised event.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild World Wrestling: Main Event Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 12:19:58
If you have never tried Tunnels & Trolls you should download this and give it a shot. There's a quick version of the rules and a solo adventure to play through. T&T is completely old school and a tad brutal so don't feel bad if your character dies, because they probably will. It's like travelling back to the early days of gaming. And it's free!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

True20 Bestiary
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:53:16
This is the monster manual for True20 and has a collection of monsters, some familiar & some not, just as you'd expect. Let's face it, there's not much to say here. If you like True20 then this is pretty much a must and/or should have for you, and it's totally worth price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

True20 Worlds of Adventure
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:50:14
I want to say first that I like True20 as a system quite a bit. That being said, this is not a really useful product. It provides an overview (with some crunchy bits) of a handful of game settings most of which have now come out with their own setting books (Blood Throne & Nevermore are two that come to mind). There just not enough here to do much more than raise your curiousity. This just seems like a collection of previews for other books.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Worlds of Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:44:01
True20 is a streamlined, slimed down version of d20 that I think exceeds at providing all the good things you liked about OGL without the excess baggage. The game has only three classes (called roles) and really doesn't need any more, and most things that would be class features are now feats. Magic works like superpowers in Mutants & Masterminds and is pretty open to customization. This particular version (the original) has a section at the back containing sample settings none of which really caught my eye. The newer version has replaced these with the True20 Companion. I recommend that version instead if you just getting into True20.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Adventure Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:36:58
I have to admit that I bought this to see what the Mutants & Masterminds system would look like doing a fantasy game. I does a very nice job, but frankly I'm not into romantic fantasy and so didn't ever use this product at the table (I bought True20 when it came out instead). Even though I don't really know much about romantic fantasy and so have a hard time judging whether this game prodives everything a fan would expect I do feel I can say that the game is well written and put together. The setting seems very nice, nothing too radical, but a good solid base to tell stories in. Good art the fit the feel (I assume) they were going for. Good game, even if I haven't really played it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Rose - The Roleplaying Game of Romantic Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Time Professional Rasslin - Steel Cage Deathmatch Edition
Publisher: Team Frog
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:31:37
Honestly, this is not the best wrestling game I've ever seen. I won't say it's the worst, because I think the original WWF game fromt he early 90's might have that honor, but it's not the top either. Essentially a wrestling minis game comeplete with printable wrestling ring battlemat, it breaks wrestling moves down to simple dice roll mechanics that quickly make most moves feel the same. There is movement allotment which in my mind slows things down too much as wrestling tends to be fast paced. The included "setting" material is is good with a tongue-in-cheek tone that pokes a little fun at the world of "Sports Entertainment". It's not a bad game by any means, but I wouldn't call it the best either.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Big Time Professional Rasslin - Steel Cage Deathmatch Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Secrets
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:25:51
Cool prop generator that allows you to customize (to a point) and print a Necronomicon like book for use in role-playing games. You have several cover options (different colors of leather, embossed designs, etc.), an interior page (for use with the covers) with several options, a full page sheet for making single pages of occult secrets, and instructions for putting a prop book together. Options on the various pages are selected using Acrobat's layers feature. Very nicely done. You can't make any page design you can imagine necessarily, but you can make enough to put together several props.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:19:17
This is a great game. I love the concept (witches fighting evil essentially, not exactly like Charmed or anything) which is very well written. The game runs on Eden's Uni-System which serves it's purpose in a workman-like fashion. Nothing fancy, but it gets the job done. There something very '90's about the game to me, it was born out of the same end-of-the-millenium anxiety as the Original World of Darkness, Buffy, Charmed, The Craft, etc. It has a real vibe about it that way. There are supplements for game, but you can play straight out of this book and never miss them. Just a great combination of setting, concept, and a solid mechanical system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Non-Cubical Dice: Generic Role-Playing Game System
Publisher: Improved Initiative
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 11:12:48
This is a little sloppy as a product. Could have used some editing / proofreading, and the tone maybe too casual. As for a game system it doesn't give you much - a dice mechanic for tasks and stat generation is the only firm bit with the rest left up to the GM to decide. Not that it's unplayable, it seems very workable, but you'll need to put some effort into finishing the game before playing. It's not the only free, rules-lite, generic system and frankly I'm not sure it's the best (Simple Sixes or PDQ seem more complete to me). It just feels a little unfinished.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Non-Cubical Dice: Generic Role-Playing Game System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Labyrinth Lord
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:34:33
Basically D&D the way you remember it from back in the day. I personally love it, and highly recommend it. Heck, it's free! It's a retro-clone of Moldvey D&D extended out to the 20th level so it's not an exact copy of say the Rules Cyclopedia, but is very close. Overall, great game with a nice presentation. Good old school fun!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ocean
Publisher: Atarashi Games
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:29:23
This game is really cool. I really enjoy the concept of being survivors in an abandoned undersea lab and solving the mystery of how the characters got there, what the lab is for, and what the heck the "monsters" stalking them are. Has a nice, rules-lite system with no GM whose dice-pool betting mechnics really does a good job simulating how things happen in survival horror / thriller movies. While the mysteries you solve are set by the game you will solve them as a group, as there is no GM to create the story everyone gets a chance to narrate, describe scenes, and have their character discover clues. It's less structured and more interactive than some games and that may turn-off some people. I think this is a great little game to run as a break from your regular session and try something different.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ocean
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of Iceland
Publisher: White Wolf
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:14:40
I liked the concept, Iceland is actually a pretty neat location for a game in the WoD. This preview (the PDF is actually titled "Shadows of Iceland pitch") is a little rough writing-wise and needs some editing work done. As an excerpt it did it's job and made me curious about the completed product. It's free so check it out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of Iceland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The rough writing and bad editing was part of the joke, and was totally intentional.
The Magic Box
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:09:26
Much like the Slayers Handbook, which focused on slayers this book takes a character type and expands it - namely practitioners of magic. Presents the usual mix of character and setting options with a focus on magic. Also presents new archetypes. Not strictly necessary, but well worth the money if you have interest in expanding magic in your Buffy game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Magic Box
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Slayer's Handbook
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:01:34
An extension of the BtVS RPG that introduces new player options and archetypes, and generally expands your game. Is it absolutely necessary? Not really, you can play without it, but is very well done and the options presented are solid in my opinion. I think it's well worth having.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Slayer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates