DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
Publisher: Radioactive Ape Designs
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 06:02:58
A supplement designed to mimic space-faring heroes, especially the Green Lantern Corps. The serial numbers have been filed off, but barely. There is also a not subtle adaptation of Galactus and his heralds. I bought the supplement as I was running a space-based BASH! mini-campaign at the time. Unfortunately I did not find enough material in the text to help my game. This is an Ion Guard supplement, and not a "supers in space" supplement. But if you plan on using the Ion Guard organization (or the Green Lantern Corps), then by all means pick this up.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ION GUARD - BASH! edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The concept was to deliberately make a very clear and heartfelt homage to the source material it was based on, source material that had, quite frankly, not been touched on in supers supplements much at all. This issue is specifically advertised as being about the ION Guard organization itself and their key foes, not a generic "supers in space" supplement. I'm sorry it didn't help your game, but it is very much what it was intended and advertised to be.
Hero System Equipment Guide
Publisher: Hero Games
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:51:38
Not quite a must-own for Hero 6th ed. players, but awfully close. The catalog nature of the product makes it a natural fit for the pdf format. If you already own large amounts of 5th ed. material, this book may not be that useful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero System Equipment Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:41:31
This is a Unisystem game, the same rule set that powers All Flesh Must Be Eaten. And WitchCraft is free! If you think you might run All Flesh one day, stop reading this and download WitchCraft right now. Before Eden Studios wises up and starts charging you for it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CJ Carrella's WitchCraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Murder of Crowes
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:37:05
Fun adventure that is easily adapted to your supers game of preference. A great choice for a Halloween session. The adventure's structure is set on rails, but these can be worked around. Expect to get one or two sessions out of it, depending on your group's circumstances and play style.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Murder of Crowes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wild Talents 2nd Edition
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:24:53
Wild Talents is one of the best task-resolution based superhero rpgs on the market today. It is set up to handle nearly any power. And with the skill rules in its Kerberos Club supplement, any skill as well. The base mechanic (known as the One Roll Engine) is decidedly simple. Roll a pool of 2 to 10 d10s, and look for dice with matching numbers. From this base a lot of nuance goes into how this one roll is interpreted in play.

Actually running the game does involve a steep learning curve. I've GM'd a half dozen sessions now, and still have issues now and again. Despite the flexibility available to characters, I have been sticking to simple power sets when creating NPCs. I recommend heartily to those who enjoy learning new game systems. If your group is reluctant to try new things, I would think twice before springing Wild Talents on them.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wild Talents 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness Rulebook
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 05:07:02
Though I bought the original Vampire when it was first released, I never got a chance to play it. So I missed out on the whole original World of Darkness line. Recently I needed to put together a street-level superhero game with a strong supernatural element. The Dresden Files was off the table for reasons I won't elaborate here, so I decided to give the World of Darkness a shot.

And I was pleasantly surprised at the results. It is a smooth, easy to grasp system that I was able to tweak to meet my needs. The Morality mechanic provided just the right spice I was looking for. My campaign was not quite the sort of thing the rules set is intended for, but it still did the job admirably. This is a hugely popular system with a multitude of available settings. After running it I now have a better understanding of its popularity.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
Publisher: Monkey House Games
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 04:48:51
Loved this game when I played it back in the early 80's. So I was quite happy to be able to play it again (this time as a GM) using the pdf version. Unfortunately it turns out the reason I loved the game back then is my character was broken. There is a reason we switched to Champions back in the day.

The non-system aspects to the rulebook are fine. I happen to like Jeff Dee's art a great deal. The rulebook does a good job of capturing the spirit of fun that can be found in comic books, despite mechanics that have not aged well. Fans of old-school games may still find value in the text. Others would be better off looking to more modern games for their superhero fix.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alpha Omega Core Rulebook
Publisher: Mind Storm Labs
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 04:35:27
An absolutely gorgeous presentation of a kitchen-sink post-apocalypse/cyberpunk setting, that is welded to an unfortunately baroque game system. The game is set in the future, after a series of wars and disasters. Civilization is concentrated in arcologies, while the wastelands in between are inhabited by some really dangerous monsters, as well as folks trying to live free of the powers that control the arcologies. Add to this two alien races that use Earth as a battlefield every 10,000 years, who apparently are the source of our myths of angels and devils. There's a lot going on, but one can simply choose the parts you like best, and ignore the rest.

The game's mechanics are complex and at times odd. One of my players and I managed to create a character, but I simply couldn't muster up enough energy to run the system. The setting is appealing enough that I may give it another try in the future. There is more than enough good material here for me to recommend the game despite its flaws.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Alpha Omega Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Kerberos Club
Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 03:57:08
Tremendously entertaining mixture of Victorian steampunk and superheroes. One can set the level of weirdness (or "Strangeness", to use the parlance of the book) at whatever level works best for you and your players. This is cleverly accomplished by setting your campaign in the early, middle, or late period of Victoria's reign.

Issues one may encounter with the text include the wholesale blending of history with the fiction. Be prepared to Google several items. The setting material does touch on the world at large, but the game's focus is squarely on London. Some heavy lifting will be required of GM's whose players plan to spend more time abroad than at home.

If you haven't already done so, check out the Introduction (which should be in the full preview). From the first paragraph, one is promised a strange, evocative world of wonder to play with. The rest of the book follows up on that promise.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Kerberos Club
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 03:14:08
A fun game that succeeds admirably at its goal; to provide rules for gaming settings that are based on the tropes of 80's action cartoons. Anyone who's a fan of He-Man, GI Joe, or Thundercats, to list just a few examples. Creating characters is relatively simple, but it does call for more player creativity than most systems. I also wish the game had more ambition, and covered the whole of Saturday morning cartoons. If a season 3 ever comes about, it would be awesome to have it cover how to do Jonny Quest, AND how to do the Venture Brothers.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi, Sean. Thanks for the review. I just wanted to let you know that we are indeed releasing Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 next summer, though the focus remains the same. That having been said, it's entirely possible that we'll release "other era" sourcebooks for it.
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2012 02:56:22
The game mechanics are serviceable. The character generation bears great similarity to GURPS, but in a much slimmer package. It is a very traditional task resolution system that runs smoothly, but lacks pizzaz. I would rate the crunch at 3 out of 5 stars.

Everything else about the game is top-notch. The art is right on the money. The other aspects of the visual presentation (layout, graphic design) are even better. And the writing is some of the most entertaining you will find in a core rulebook. This is a fun book to read, even if you never get a chance to play. If you're planning to run anything that has a heavy dose of zombies, this is a must-buy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All Flesh Must be Eaten Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates