DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Armor Grid: Mech Attack! $5.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 11
4 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Click to view
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by Brett R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2014 15:31:10
Paper Craft Mechs, and vehicles are fantastic

As far as I can see everyone has spoken about the game.
I have not played the game.
BUT
This is still worth it for the customization and quality of these miniatures.

Cut files are available on the forums.
Builds are great.
Look great, go together great.

Over all a fantastic product that I highly recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2013 22:19:51
My group was feeling nostalgic for Battletech (BT) so I downloaded the Quick-Start rules, but promptly remembered why we quit playing. Should get college math credit for playing that game, and now that I think about it a 4 player game with only 1 mech each normally took hours. I would really like to field some larger forces but who has the time?

Determined to do some mech bashing somehow so I bought some clicky Mechwarrior (MW) minis. They have gotten pretty cheap, I am impressed with quality and love that they are pre-painted.

Read through the MW rules. Best part of BT was designing our own mechs and seeing how well they did, which is missing from MW. Clicky MW also does not have the same feel as BT combat. I want to blow my opponents arm off, rip open his armor, cripple his leg, not do 2 clicks of damage. MW looks OK but was not what we wanted so I kept looking. Saw some MW players talking about Mech Attack. Heck, for $5 why not give it a try?

Played our first game tonight. Two players, each had 1 heavy mech, 1 vehicle and 2 infantry, 36 points per side. Last man standing. Used an upside down cup, some CD cases and a deck of cards for terrain. Used plastic MW minis so won't comment on print and play minis. Entire game was just over an hour.

Each turn players roll initiative. I like it for a 2 player game. Love it for 3 or more.

We really enjoyed the Armor Grid system. It had the same feel as Battletech, "Oh no! You blew away my right side armor!" or "Ha ha! Shot your arm off!" with less fuss to get there. It also added an additional element of strategy as I had to choose which weapon to use, and in what order to use them. Do I use a missile and clear away layers of armor, or a laser and punch a deep hole?

Infantry was surprisingly dangerous, but not surprising, very fragile. Am curious to see how they get used in future games. Spend the points on them, or just add the points to the mechs and vehicles? They need some bunkers and foxholes maybe?

I liked the balance of skill and luck. To much luck in a game and I figure I might as well leave my phone there to play, it can generate random numbers as well as I do. No luck and it turns into chess, challenging but with few, "Wow, did you see that?!" moments. There were a number of, "Wow!" moments in our game (like my heavy mech getting finished off by an infantry squad) but I never felt I was not helping to shape the outcome by my decisions.

Looking for areas of improvement I would say the game feels like a work in progress. Rulebook could be a little more clear and go into more detail to cover more circumstances. While I do not want it to get bogged down with rules I would like to see additional options. I have an attack helicopter figure I want to do something with and in the middle of the first game we started talking about the possible ways to handle artillery.

At the moment all we have is a rules set. No pre-built units with cool names and custom artwork, (Cauldron-Born, Mad-Cat, etc) and no back story reasons behind the conflict. I am going to be checking out the BT scenario books for possible use by my group.

While it may just be a foundation at the movement, it is a sturdy one that they could build something great on top of. I look forward to many more hours of glorious battle with my tiny giant battle mechs. If you have not purchased you copy yet, what are you waiting for?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2011 16:20:49
I was holding off on writing a review till I actually played the game. Well, now I have, and it was a lot of fun.

Instead of doing anything particularly sensible, we just took large mechs and packed them with destruction. His had one of each large weapon, so Heavy Missile, Heavy Cannon, Twin Linked HMG and TwinLinked Heavy Laser. Mine had all but the missile, swapped out for another cannon (because that is what I could find in the bag of weapons.) As with most battles with my nine year old son, there was no tactics. We just walked up and shot it out. In the end I had four columns of armor gone and he had one gone. I just happened to roll a mech destroyed crit first.

The rules are simple and easy to understand. The layout is logical and quick to grok. The font is not my favorite, but that really is my only gripe about the book.

The miniatures are really neat, whether your looking at the troops, vehicles or mechs, and they go together pretty well. The only problems I had were due to my own arthritic hands. Getting into the game only took me so long because I set myself too large a task of getting all of two armies done.

This game is very much what you are looking for if you want a fun alternative to a much more rules heavy giant stompy robot game.


Mike Heywood =_ Chugosh on the various forums.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2011 21:12:46
My only regret is I can't give this product more than 5 stars!

This is the absolute BEST gaming systems of this type that I have played in years... if not the best PERIOD!

The fact that it allows you to do custom Mechs and has an even playing field is well designed.

I wish I would have bought this sooner. I could have enjoyed many hours of Mech Busting months ago!

Well done!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by Christian G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2011 02:38:16
Easy - fast, a really great streamlined game. I love special the different damage profile of different weapons.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2011 17:53:57
Sort of like Battletech, sort of like Centurion (both by FASA) and yet with a flavor all it's own.

Get it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by gregg l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2011 14:08:56
When I first bought this, I was looking to cannibalize some mechanics to breath some life into some unusued WizKids minis ... but I was so hooked by the simple, but elegant rules of this game that I think I will retire the clix rules ... permanently

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by Karl P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2010 07:22:13
I purchased this game looking for a fast-play set of rules with which to use rebased Mechwarrior miniatures. It did not disappoint. Mech Attack is fast and easy to learn, yet it has plenty of strategy and costomizability. It has a very effective heat and damage mechanics that -in a very streamlined way- capture some of the more iconic elements of the mech universe that so many of us mech-fans grew up with.

Highly recommended to anyone who wants some mech action that won't take hours to resolve, but still wants to be able to create and customize their own units.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2010 19:29:16
This is a real bargain: a solid, concise set of rules, enough weapons with variable damage to give flavor, and most amazingly, all the miniatures you should ever need(unless an air support module comes along-hint-hint). The minis are mechs(3 sizes) vehicles (3 types) and troops (3 styles). All can be printed in tan, green, grey, or B&W. Assembly, using the included instructions, is a breeze. Two evenings of VERY casual assembly gave me enough troops for a "test drive". 25-50 points makes a nice skirmish. 100 point games should be very easily handled.
I'm very pleased with this rule set, and its figures. The rest of the bundle added to the value of my purchase, especially the scenery package.

Again, an air support module would be a great add-on!
=Steve Page

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2010 19:11:29
Good set of rules focus is on mechs. Great damage system like the old Centurion game with damage templates taking out blocks of armor so different weapons do different damage patterns. Paper models are very nice and include different weapons.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Publisher: Armor Grid Games and Miniatures
by James M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2010 23:20:44
Before I review the game itself, let me give some background. I am a long time fan of all games of the print and play variety and I spend quite a bit of time reading the forum on the One Monk site. The thing I like about this site is that it nourishes creativity, and it was here that I began to see the development of some really cool 15 mm scale Mechs, Military Vehicles, and Infantry. I fell in love with their design and followed along most days for several weeks. Then, a rule system was developed and playtested (tho I didn't have time really to volunteer). The final product was a game called Armor Grid: Mech Attack.

So, when I found out the the game was for sell, both the rules and the minis themselves, I jumped on the chance to pick it up. And that was before I found out that it was only 5 bucks. I decided that if I didn't like it, it was only a few dollars, so no biggie.

However, I do like it . . . a lot! The minis are customizable and a blast to build. The game play is actually pretty smooth and relatively quick, especially after a couple of games. Finally, you don't have to build that many models to get started--and there really is nothing stopping you from using minis you may already have, tho the ones that come with the game are pretty cool. In fact, my first game started with only 25 build points and it only took me a couple of days in between real life to crank them out.

Another thing that I really like, and thus happy to support this game, is the interaction that players have with the creators, WaffleM and Dagger (forum names). As you've guessed it, they have established their own website and forum. They are quick to respond to questions and are very open to letting others post their own ideas (house rules, etc). Because this game is new, the community around it is small, but is has grown since I joined and I alway take time to peek in and post on a regular basis--especially since there are some sneak peeks and future products that support an already great game.

So if you want a quick and easy to play game (though, thoughtfully challanging in a tactical sort of way)or just want some cool 15 mm minis, I highly recommend this Armor Grid: Mech Attack. And get it soon, as the introductory price ends on April 15th, tho $7.95 is still a great price. For more information about the community surrounding this game, I suggest that you check out http://www.armorgridgames.com/

For an example of game play with pictures that I've posted, follow this link:
http://armorgridgames.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=meme-
bergallery&action=display&thread=35

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates