DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set $13.99 $8.39
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 3
3 5
0 0
0 0
0 0
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Click to view
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2014 10:23:45
I really like this Base Set. I wanted to get into constructing 3D maps but time is very precious these days, and this set gets you started FAST. It is very easy AND fun to put together. The instructions are very clear. There are a lot of options to customize your layout. One suggestion would be to add some examples of a "full-map" layout, for those less creative types out there. As it is, you are free to design your own layout and make it as big or small as you like, with any number of terrain features. Overall, a great set and a fabulous value.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by William C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2013 13:09:55
This set was great. It has great buildings which go together easy and the way they are designed to go together makes them more sturdy so you don't really have to add anything under the roofs to keep them from sinking in during that big rooftop fight you have going on. I love the inclusion of a fire escape a much needed accessory for any superhero game and the dumpsters. My only real complaint would be no back doors on any of the buildings (Talk about a fire hazard.). I guess you could print out some of just the fronts of the buildings and cut out the doors and add them to the backs or sides. Hopefully this will be addressed in future releases. Other then that one overlooked detail the set is great easy to print out and put together and the buildings can fold flat for travel or storage.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2012 14:34:06
Capital City is a set of buildings and street tiles that is a good value. The textures have good detail and many options, especially the ones for the street tiles. The buildings are easy to make and have the option to be stored flat. The visual style fits modern settings, like gang wars, superhero fights or zombie outbreaks.

Be warned, though: this set seems designed to be used on its own and preferably with the 1.5" grid tiles, i.e. for the "clix" miniatures. Why? first, because the 1" grid tiles are 7"x7" and the 1.5" grid tiles are 7.5"x7.5", whereas a more common format for modular terrain is 6"x6" tiles and buildings. Also, the size of the buildings match the 1.5" grid tiles. So if you want to use the buildings with the 1" grid tiles, you'll have to reduce the size of the buildings when printing. Resizing is not an issue if you use only this set, otherwise building features like doors and windows will seem smaller compared to other buildings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Roy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2011 09:53:03
I have bought both Capital City from Fat Dragon and the Twilight Streets series of buildings. Both sets are easy to assemble and both have high quality graphics. Each set has buildings that the other set does not have. Both are good products. UNFORTUNATELY, they are different scales. One appears to be around 25mm while the other is closer to 28-30mm scale. The size differential IS noticeable. Unless you have the knowledge and capability to print out at a reduced/expanded size, think hard about which set you want to buy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/19/2010 06:09:08
Because my son is showing less and less interest in all the fancy toys we buy him, cardboard play sets seem like a great alternative. Similar (albeit sturdier) play sets sell for upwards of sixty dollars. But why pay money for a play set that will only be put away in storage when, with a little effort on our part and some father-son time, we can build our own?

Our little cardboard city already has a parking garage, a fire truck, a semi-trailer, and people. Now they needed a home. Enter Capital City, a three-dimensional town complete with roads, multistory buildings, and traffic stops.

To begin with, we just printed out a street. I let my son pick the features he wanted on the street (he likes garbage and manhole covers). I skipped the chalk outlines of dead bodies though.

The street is really a loop so it's not quite as interesting as I'd like it to be, but it's large enough to fit under our entertainment center, which is by far its most important attribute. And of course if any piece gets ruined we can print more.

I connected each piece with clear masking tape so that it's durable, and also sealed the interior and exterior edges. So far it's held up well.

The buildings are superb. I began reinforcing the buildings with cereal box cardboard. Of course, my son expects all doors to open, so that takes a little paper surgery. I also put in an office floor so you can actually play inside the building.

I never attached the roof, essentially creating a box for him to contain the other paper miniatures. The only problem is the roof isn't really meant to be removed and attached over and over so it's starting to bend. I may have to reinforce the next building we create.

Each weekend I build one building for my son. We haven't even gotten to all the accessories yet, but we're looking forward to building out the entire city…or until we run out of room in the house.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Kevin L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2010 16:15:24
Excellent set! Being the first thing I have ever built, pretty easy and fun!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Philip P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2010 13:20:04
A quick easy to use system for producing multiple building for zombie games which are easy to transport, and light.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: Base Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2010 19:57:26
I like this. I am planning on running an autoduel campaign for some car war fans and the multi layered street patterns are absolutely fantastic for what I'm doing. I wish the streets could have been wider than 2 lanes, but I might be able to fudge something by taking off the sidewalk layers for some of the streets. The fireescapes will be very handy for PC's as there are no interiors for the buildings. I can't wait to see a player try to hide in the trash bin. I might try to find one that actuall has an interior or modify it by adding one because I know someone will want to hide in it. The buildings look great too and who doesn't like the crashed Taxi?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates