DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
#1 With a Bullet Point: 14 Halfling Burglar Feats
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/13/2013 14:58:00
#1 With a Bullet Point: 14 Halfling Burglar Feats from Rogue Genius Games is exactly what it says on the tin, 14 feats for halflings, mostly rogue oriented but other classes will find useful things here as well. As expected, these are solid, Lucky Number lets you share your good luck, Professional Burglar lets any halfling join in the burglering fun, and Knuckle-Cracker, which allows a slinger to make disarm attacks. However, the Duck and Weave feat seems to missing finishing part of its final sentence. Overall, useful if you have lots of halflings in your campaign.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 14 Halfling Burglar Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[PFRPG] Player's Options: Halflings
Publisher: 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/13/2013 14:57:06
Player’s Options: Halflings from 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming starts with a disclaimer that while fictional halflings drink and smoke and there are feats and flaw that relate to such in this product, the authors do not condone such behavior, which struck me as a little odd, but there you go. It then presents two variant halflings: Hidefeet, hardier stay-at-homes, and Willowbranch, adventurous and adaptable, useful for variety. A half-halfling template is provided for those odd crossbreeds, which I like in concept but the execution seems a little odd, as half-halflings, while usually larger than pure halflings, somehow are physically weaker than them, still a good idea that can be made to work. Fourteen new feats, including Frying Pan Mastery (for the combat cook) and Underfoot, allowing you to dodge between big people’s legs, provide more options for customizing halflings as do six flaws (as well as the rules for flaws). Lastly, new halfling equipment including two new sling variants, halfling staples (food, drink and pipeweed) and a few other useful things. Overall, a useful expansion for additional halfling options, if you have enough halflings in your campaign to need to expand them.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Player's Options: Halflings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 18:40:58
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church is more a network of preachers and agents dedicated to the god of pain and suffering who seek to free people of service to the cruel gods, to seek the divinity within. They act to let people find their own path in the world, freed of the dictates of gods who cause naught but suffering and death to get their way. A few radical members of the church actively strive to weaken other religions but most members just try to lead people to a better and more peaceful way. Naturally, the Stitching Church is not usually welcomed by other faiths. It is an unusual faith and one that is suitable for stories and adventures out of the norm.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Temple of Celestial Revolution
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:25:50
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Temple of Celestial Revolution watches the stars, and when the time is right, they topple kings and destroy governments for all things must change, and power structures left to long corrupt and fester. The Celestial Revolutionaries seem likely to end up in opposition to traditional adventurers as they seek to tear down the country in which the adventurers operate in, but the cult’s goals could align with others and allies are always welcome. The Celestial Revolutionaries are also playing a long game of divine politics which could conflict with other aims or lead them to hire adventurers to advance that agenda. Many options in play could arise from this militant cult. A map of the Way Station of Nurlen, a staging post for the sect, is provided as well.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Temple of Celestial Revolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Cult of Summation
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:25:34
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

The Cult of Summation seeks to reduce the knowledge of each individual life to a clear, concise and complete summary, unfortunately they tend to do so through the carefully applied arts of torture. The Cult maintains prisons, libraries and torture chambers, usually in the same complex. The Cult is pleased to serve their Goddess through these tasks, though direction is often given through visions that the cultists receive when undergoing near death experiences. The Cult is unlikely to be friends of adventurers but they may be a place that prisoners can be housed and information gained, if one is willing to bend to the dictates of the Cult. A map of the Prison Library of Stavrok Falls is also provided.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Cult of Summation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Silent Bite
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:24:45
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Silent Bite is a secret religious society of hunters and revolutionaries, dedicated to driving the corrupt from power and promoting the will of the goddess. It is an aristocratic conspiracy that, at its best, seeks to break foreign domination, cull corruption and promote a meritocracy (through the better class of people of course), at its worst, it uses terror to maintain the aristocracy. It is a group that could recruit the player characters or be in opposition to them or both. It also includes a nifty random conspiratorial cell generator.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Silent Bite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Brass Horseshoe
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:21:36
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Brass Horseshoe is a branch of a warrior cult which knows that wars are not won by courage alone, training, discipline, and logistics win wars far more often. The Order of the Brass Horseshoe seeks to provide and perfect those skills to anyone going to war, seeking perfection in their craft and efficiency in war and in clearing up its aftermath. There is a good question and answer section about how the members of this sect view war and their place in it. The Brass Horseshoe Order is extremely useful allies but it is a pain if they are aiding your enemies.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Brass Horseshoe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: Order of the Sacred Deep
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:20:10
The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Sacred Deep is a mystery cult dedicated to keeping the secrets of the caves and under-earth, secret. They are shadowy but not evil, though their action could easily prove disruptive to adventurers, they are not overly confrontational -in most cases- more an annoyance. Yet they could also become allies under certain circumstances. A very flexible group that could be entirely overlooked by player character yet could still impact them in interesting ways. Also, this volume, the first of the Dragonslayer Pantheon products is free, so you can try it without risk and see if the structure and layout appeal to you.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: Order of the Sacred Deep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Pride
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:44:04
#1 with a Bullet Point: Seven Sinful Feats of Pride is just better than the rest, or maybe that is just the Prideful feat talking. Those who are prideful want to be the best, but being treated as the best will be a close second, and their feats allow them to gain additional bonuses when they succeed magnificently and when others fail (though some cause penalties if the prideful fails to succeed which is a nice touch) .It concludes with a brief discussion of the role of sinful feats in a game as they are not just for evil characters. These feats are ones I can easily see being taken by player characters, many of whom have inflated ideas of their own self-importance, why not reflect that with an appropriate feat?

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Pride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Lust
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:42:39
#1 with a Bullet Point: Seven Sinful Feats of Lust as promised seven feats all building off the Lustful feat which allows for the projection of desire across language barriers and rewards the possessor for fulfilling their desires. The other six feat focus said lustfulness towards various purposes, of which are mostly fairly obvious but Write ("You are expert in maneuvering while in tight spaces") amused me. It concludes with a brief discussion of the role of sinful feats in a game. As lust and sex appeal can have a place in games these feat can be used for a variety of character builds, but not the feats you will often see most adventures take.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Lust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Gluttony (Full Clip!)
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:38:39
#1 with a Bullet Point: Seven Sinful Feats of Gluttony is a just what it says, seven feats, all keying off the Gluttonous feat, which allows the consumption of massive amounts of food and gaining minor benefits there from. The other six feats build off that basic idea, expanding the limits and capabilities of the glutton (best name 'Feast Healing'), to the point where they can learn to consume even magic to feed their endless hunger. It concludes with a brief discussion of the role of sinful feats in a game. Useful for unusual character builds, but not the sort of feats you will be needing all the time.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Gluttony (Full Clip!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Folk Fey and Fair [PFRPG]
Publisher: Lee's Lists
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:36:56
Folk Fey and Fair by Lee's Lists comprises a new species, Fairblood, a prestige class, Knight of Frost Court, and two archetypes, one for the bard and another for the monk. This is all framed by a brief introduction to the thirteen courts of the fae before moving into the mechanics of the product. The Fairblood is the child of mortal and fae, gaining gifts from their fae parent one of which (Luck of the Fair Folk) seems a little over the top, unfortunately they are given no further support. The Knight of the Frost Court, as one would expect, masters cold to be used as a weapon, but there are some oddities in the class construction such as gaining no resistance to cold until 5th level when they suddenly become immune and they can summon a blinding zone of cold, which they can make people immune to, which is enormously powerful and is given no limitation on the number of times it can be used. The Knight is a good concept but it needs to be rewritten to be playable. The Mirror Court Student is a Bardic archetype which gives the bard more ability to manipulate emotions but with limited mechanical support for this idea (and some poor editing) makes it nearly unusable. The Brawler of the Clawed Court trades flurry of blows for enhance, claw based damage and it is suppose to be more animalistic but it is not given sufficient support for that idea, which is unfortunate as it has some potential. Overall, while there are some good and interesting ideas here, they need further development to be more than just ideas.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Folk Fey and Fair  [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/26/2013 15:26:57
The Assassin’s Primer provides information about assassins, killer for hire, in the Shadowrun setting. While I was worried about the choice of professional killers for an early sourcebook, after all Shadowrun characters can be quite violent enough as it is, the (in game) author of this work advises restraint and minimizing damage beyond the target. Such things are welcome in the realm of character (and player) advice. Beyond that, it provides a useful -if short- reference to the types of assassins and a basic overview of how they work.

Shadowrun: The Assassin’s Primer, is a short piece on assassins and other killers in the Sixth World, how and why they operate and some advice on what sort of skills and tools they will need to survive and prosper. It is a good general overview and of use to shadowrunners as the tricks of the trade overlap considerably.

The only new toy is the venerable (very by 2072) SVD sniper rifle and there are five new assassin’s creeds (code of honor) qualities, four of which are positive and one negative, which give a few more tools to flesh out hitters but some of them are definitely better suited to NPCs. There is also a short section for the GM on integrating ‘lone wolf’ characters (like assassins) into a game, which is nice.

Overall, a not unuseful resource and a good read, but nothing really new is presented here. It may be best suited as a handout to new players to shadowrun as an “in game” introduction to some of the main themes of the setting.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:22:36
Chrome Compilation of Chrome Books 1 and 2, originally published in 1991 and 1992 respectively, wear their era of origin heavily. Chrome Book 1 is especially heavy with nostalgia and unintentional irony with faxes, wired modems and 80s fashion figuring heavily, the weapons and vehicles being a mix of (then) cutting edge modern and attempts at extrapolation. However, some of the cyberware (including the decentralized heart, one of my favorites) and chipware are still solid conceptually and the services section is full of interesting ideas. Chrome Book 2 is better at not being locked into its era of being made, well except for the computers. There are useful things to adapt for any cyberpunk setting including full conversion cyborgs, exotic body-shaping and crazy weapons. Most of the contents of these books are just good fodder for products and things for a near future setting, the rules are a bit more iffy.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #1 & #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #3 & #4
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/20/2013 20:20:50
Chrome Compilation (2) of Chrome Books 3 and 4, first published in 1994 and 1996 respectively are more successful in being still felling like things from the potential futures also, no weapons in these books just gear and reference. Book 3 succeeds in being more forward looking even the computers are not so wince inducing, but the sections on full conversion ‘borgs and powered armor both require other books for full rules (Chrome Book 2 and Maximum Metal respectively). But the general tech items, cyberware, cyberpets (enhanced animals), robots and WADs (Working Assistant Droids built off the powered armor rules), are all very evocative and useful. Book 4 is good on cyberware but really shines on biotech, the vehicles are interesting though more illustrations would have been welcome. The fashion section is a little dated but still so much fun to read and has some useful note on clothes and the character. These are the best of the Chrome Book line, benefitting for the experience acquired on the first two and full of valuable inspiration for any cyberpunk styled game.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Compilation: Cyberpunk Style Guides #3 & #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 436 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates