DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Kobold Quarterly Magazine 15
Publisher: Kobold Press
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2011 11:31:06
nicely done ezine. I rated it a 3 because the content is limited usefulness to me, so YMMV.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kobold Quarterly Magazine 15
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World War Ruins #1 Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2011 11:29:44
The best part is the extreme amount of customizability of the set. There are several textures to choose from (concrete, brick, stone, wood of various colors), then a few effects (smoke, bullet damage, etc). With all the shapes, textures and effects, there are many ruined wall combinations.

I would say that this set requires moderate cardstock modelling skills. The tricky part is getting the front and back parts to match, so there are no ragged lines or black-lining work to hide the white cut marks. This is especially important for the windows. I usually cut the piece out with some margin, fold, glue, then trim to the marked lines. This technique does not work in this case, because of the assembly order. Therefore, I had to dry-fit the interior and trim up the windows so they did not look misaligned.

Overall, this kit is a great buy for it ease of building, number of combinations, good graphics and basic game utility. I've built several DG kits and there is a good, consistent thought to his designs (not a builders nightmare) as well as color, textures and choice. I hope DG makes the multi-layered PDFs a standard part of every product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World War Ruins #1 Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crosspiece Ruins Set #2 Paper Models
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2011 11:22:04
This set does an excellent job of creating ruined walls with many shapes and effects. The best part is the extreme amount of customizability of the set. There are several textures to choose from (concrete, brick, stone of various colors), then a few effects (smoke, bullet damage, etc). With all the shapes, textures and effects, there are many ruined wall combinations. Additionally, all the top-bottom pieces are interchangeable for even more variety.

I would say that this set only requires beginning cardstock modelling skills. One tip: to make sure the front-back edges match in the finished product, I cut the piece out with some margin, fold, glue, then trim to the marked lines. Exactly cutting the piece first often results in mismatched front-back pieces that does not look as good and requires more black-lining work to hide the white cut marks.

Overall, this kit is a great buy for it ease of building, number of combinations, good graphics and basic game utility. I would highly recommend also getting the matching #1 kit with this one for more variety.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crosspiece Ruins Set #2 Paper Models
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Crosspiece Ruins Set Paper Models
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2011 11:20:26
This set does an excellent job of creating ruined walls with many shapes and effects. The best part is the extreme amount of customizability of the set. There are several textures to choose from (concrete, brick, stone of various colors), then a few effects (smoke, bullet damage, etc). With all the shapes, textures and effects, there are many ruined wall combinations. Additionally, all the top-bottom pieces are interchangable for even more variety.

I would say that this set only requires beginning cardstock modelling skills. One tip: to make sure the front-back edges match in the finished product, I cut the piece out with some margin, fold, glue, then trim to the marked lines. Exactly cutting the piece first often results in mismatched front-back pieces that does not look as good and requires more black-lining work to hide the white cut marks.

Overall, this kit is a great buy for it ease of building, number of combinations, good graphics and basic game utility. I would highly recommend also getting the matching #2 kit with this one for more variety.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crosspiece Ruins Set Paper Models
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Reptilian Monsters
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2009 16:12:42
Good for any fantasy or post-apocalyptic game. Note that the trim out time is a bit longer, but definitely worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reptilian Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

~delete
Publisher: One Monk Miniatures
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2009 16:11:19
Great for any PA game. This will take a bit longer to trim out than most other paper miniatures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
~delete
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Pulp GM's Toolkit
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2009 16:09:51
Another good work from Wiggy. This is a complete toolkit for getting a world put together that will keep players interested, and GMs do not have to invest a huge prep time.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Pulp GM's Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Burning Lands: A Darwin's World Novel
Publisher: RPG Objects
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2009 16:07:19
This novel is slow to start, and when it starts get interesting, the author seems to rush to the end. After all the character build-up, they have a dissatisfying end. Overall, the end left me a bit empty and depressed, instead of encouraged for the good guys. This is not another Hiero's Journey.

Burning Lands has grit to it (and in some cases a bit too much). So much more could have been done with this good story idea.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Lands: A Darwin's World Novel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Metamorphosis Alpha 1st Edition
Publisher: WardCo.
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2009 15:59:56
This is a good re-print of an old classic. I really wish the font size was increased and the errata included in the text, instead of separate.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Metamorphosis Alpha 1st Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
David, Thanks very much for the feedback! We are looking at a larger print version in the future. The pdf version has a lot of minor fixes incorporated into the main text (typos and grammar), but the main body of text was left alone to keep it as close as possible to the original. The larger print version will incorporate all of the errata as well as many of the Dragon Magazine articles - which Jim Ward owns the rights to. Regards, Craig J. Brain
Sc-Fi Crates Collection 1
Publisher: Joel L. Teply Productions
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2009 15:57:28
I was a little disappointed with this set. While the box styles are nice, all the dark ones print out muddy on all printer settings. That means about half of the set is useless.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sc-Fi Crates Collection 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I apologize for the printing troubles you seem to be experiencing. The demonstration crates pictured in the photographs were printed from Adobe reader using an HP psc 1200 inkjet printer under 'Best' (1200x1200 dpi) mode with 2400 dpi enhanced mode enabled in print properties and using the color management color profile AdobeRGB1998 on 96 brightness 20 lb. weight multipurpose paper. I have not tried printing using other settings, and apologize for the apparent muddy results your printer produced. You may wish to retry printing using similar settings if your printer supports them, otherwise a number of people I know swear by the print quality of FedEx Office (formerly FedEx Kinkos) from print jobs they have outsourced both on-site and online. Sincerely, Joel Teply Owner, Joel Teply Productions
FREE Undead sampler
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2008 20:13:24
Jim does a great job again! The figure variety, poses, color and texture put these paper miniatures above the rest! I own most of his sets because of their quality and uniqueness, and Jim doesn't seem to run out of good miniature ideas.

David "TeknoMerk" Reeves

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FREE Undead sampler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Terra Force: Auxiliary
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2008 11:14:01
The Terra Force Auxiliary have great poses, color and texturing. This set mixes well with the other Terra Force sets. Jim has a great product line and the consistent quality shows.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terra Force: Auxiliary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stuff To Beat Up 1: Tech Terrors
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2008 15:55:36
The Vorgs and Greygores have simplistic poses like they are modeling clothes, instead of battle action poses. I thought the colors were muddy. These figures are not bad, but I found them uninspiring.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stuff To Beat Up 1: Tech Terrors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Tiles: Starships
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2008 15:50:11
SkeletonKey, as always, creates a top-quality product. The tiles have great color, variety and interoperability with their other sets.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Tiles: Starships
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chimera Hybrid: Bio Weapons
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2008 15:48:15
Make your aliens more alien with this set.

OneMonk does an outstanding job of creating cool figure types, great action poses and great texture/color. This set is great for SciFi and post-apocalyptic gaming!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chimera Hybrid: Bio Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for all the great reviews! It really does lift my spirits to know that you guys think this stuff is as cool as I try to make it. I have much more coming, stay tuned... JIM
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates