DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Tales from the Ninth World
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2013 07:31:27
I'm a little torn on this. The stories were very good, but it just doesn't seem like there was enough. I'm on the fence about the value, even though it was only $2.99 to begin with.

Also, I wouldn't recommend letting the rpg preview content be your deciding factor in buying. It's really just the first few pages of the intro chapter in final layout form. If you've been following Numenera's development, you won't see much new.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tales from the Ninth World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Other Worlds
Publisher: Signal 13
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2012 14:34:32
This is the game I've been looking for. Other Worlds is a very adaptable and cinematic system. The focus is on making interesting stories that make sense. Conflict resolution is very elegant and shows you how to keep the story moving forward win or lose. Character generation is extremely customizable and ensures your characters are tied to the setting and the story right away.

I'll be honest, I was a little hesitant with this game at first. Most of my experience has been with more crunchy games. The same for my players. But we've played this several times now and my group is still eager for more.

The only thing I'd throw out as a caution is the little bit of front-end work that needs to be done when you set up characters or a new campaign. In fairness, I took a lot of this on myself as the GM. The book recommends doing some collaborative world building and I should have listened. It's not at all hard, but many hands make light work. I can only see that making my results even better next time.

This could be one of the best deals in pdf and worth every penny.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Other Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2012 11:47:19
This is an excellent story-telling game for replicating the feel and pacing of a comic book. But let's be clear, that's what it is. If you're looking for the next M&M or HERO, this isn't what you're after. This game is geared toward making the characters and the story feel right. There's no points to track and not much in the way of nuts-and-bolts. But for making the game feel like the comics, I think its ideal.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
Publisher: Engine Publishing
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2011 08:33:08
Other reviewers have gone into detail about what the book covers, so consider this more of a testimonial.

This is a book that any GM should have. Period. It has gotten me past GM's writer's block. It has helped me finish half-formed ideas for story arcs.

The fact that it's available in pdf makes it even better. While the indexes are impressive (to say the least), the ability to search for a keyword like "horror" or "space opera" and flip immediately to those entries is a huge value.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eureka: 501 Adventure Plots to Inspire Game Masters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Omni System
Publisher: Morrigan Press
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2008 13:09:15
The Omni System is a good product overall. It distills the basic elements of the Talislanta system into an easy to use rpg framework. It's a quick playing system and fairly light on rules. It could be used easily to play fantasy and sci-fi games.

My only real complaints were the race and monster creation sections. There are sample races given, but no details as to how the abilities they were given are decided. Monsters get even less detail, with a brief mention of how to stat one up, but not even a sample.

Overall a good buy, but could be better.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Omni System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ePublisher Guide
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2005 00:00:00
This should be mandatory reading for anyone wanting to start in pdf publishing. There's a lot of good advice on a wide range of subjects. There will be something you didn't think of that's covered here and worth your money to know it.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ePublisher Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Librum Equitis - Volumes 1 & 2 (50 Prestige Classes Compilation)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2005 00:00:00
A wide range of classes and some inventive ideas. Some might need to be altered slightly for your campaign, but this is a good product.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Librum Equitis - Volumes 1 & 2 (50 Prestige Classes Compilation)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GM Mastery: NPC Essentials
Publisher: RoleplayingTips.com
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2005 00:00:00
This product really helped me prioritize how much detail I need to put into npcs. It's been a good tool for organizing ideas and making consistent characters out of them. It's officially d20, but there's plenty of good info for any system.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Mastery: NPC Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lost Prehistorica
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2004 00:00:00
This product was definitely a good buy. There are a number of new races, hazards, and creatures which fit well in a prehistoric or savage world type of game. There are some new feats and equipment, but they aren't redundant or overpowered. There is also a good amount of information on building tribal societies.

Also, even though this is a d20 product, much of the information would be easy to convert to other systems. In fact, I plan on using some of it in an upcomin HERO system game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Prehistorica
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates