DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack $5.50 $5.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 10
2 1
0 1
0 0
0 0
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Click to view
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2013 21:58:09
I enjoy the artistry and it comes with lots of rooms, corridors, doors, markers for generating random dungeons. Looks great mounted on foam core!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2013 05:51:38
A splendid collection of dungeon floorplans, items, door and hazard counters, with the option to add stand-up doors in two different formats (with or without supporting walls), the whole prepared in a delightful hand-drawn style reminiscent of British artists like Ronald Searle (who drew the original "St Trinian's" cartoons) and William Heath Robinson (who famously drew many imaginary complex machines made out of old bits and pieces, connected by lengths of knotted string, scraps of wood and so forth). The defining elements of all are no truly straight edges, and an eye for detail where needed. Here, that means things such as small texture markings on the stones and occasional irregularly cracked flagstones.

All the expected modular items are included for basic corridors and rooms, using a standard grey stone colouring, although one or two smaller rooms and stairways have cream-yellow flagstone shadings instead for variety, an effect which recurs more fully for the larger chambers. A few of the smaller rooms are more exotically-decorated still, with patterned or wood-plank floors, a nice touch, while a couple of special rooms, one on two levels, the other an Idol Chamber, provide the icing on the cake, with extra emplaced items, encouraging their use as focal points in any adventure. And to get you inside, there's even an overgrown ruin tile with stairs leading down to the first doorway.

In general, the pieces print out clearly and cleanly, though the overgrown entrance and Idol Chamber tiles have colouring a little too dark in places, not a major fault. The "worn parchment edge" border to every page is wasteful however, as it's simply going to be cut off and thrown away. Be careful in doing so, as there are a couple of compass roses, a north pointer, and some interesting curlicues among the marginalia which could have game use as well. The only real lack is an index page showing thumbnails of the set, which would have made planning what needed to be printed much easier. Even so, these dungeons are just itching to be cut-up, board-backed/laminated and above all USED!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Steve M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2013 18:58:14
Excellent set of floor plans. We just use the basic rooms and corridors, but once photo mount sprayed onto foam board they give a fantastic lift to a dungeon crawl. Wish I'd had them way back when.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by JERRY M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2012 16:37:40
A very affordable set of floorplans that evoke the old-style feel of Dungeon Floorplans or the old TSR Kidnapping of Princess Arelnia/Revenge of Rusak sets.

You get a variety of rooms, including some special chambers, lots of hallways and tunnels and doors, and a couple of pages of furniture and other stuff to detail your dungeons.

For the price, its a great set, and fits in well with the other Inked Advenutres line.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by James H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2012 17:39:26
The fantastic line art really sets the mood for your old school style dungeon games. I can recommend this for any basic RPG player and Gamemaster who wants quick and great looking dungeon tiles for their next adventure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2011 17:56:53
When I saw the modular dungeon samples for Inked Adventures, I immediately found myself wanting to run an old-school dungeon hack. I found the artwork lovely, although it may not fit everyone's tastes. The basic pack includes lots of modular pieces like corridors, rooms, doors (stand-up and flat), stairs, along with bits to add detail. As with other modular flats, I suppose it's best to glue each tile or piece to cardboard, foamcore or something like that to prevent them from sliding on the table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Steve C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2011 10:32:56
I found some samples of this in other places online, the creators homepage, etc. Something about the art style stands out, so much so that I've run out of the overly expensive ink in my printer. I recommend it highly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by nik w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 10:26:19
This product would have got a 5 star rating had there been layers you could turn off. Every page has a border and title that cannot be turned off - therefore you waste ink - the artwork is excellent and still gives you plenty of choice

VERDICT - B+, could do better.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
You make a very good point about the border. During the product's development the border was very useful for tuning DPI and printer settings. With the logos and text it's all part of the protecting the product from copytheft - although maybe it could be a little less black - I will review this in future packs. Nonetheless, this product is far more ink-friendly than some of the more photo-realistic tile plans. Purchasers are advised to select carefully which pages they wish to print first, because this is such a large pack. Without the layers feature, I hoped that the PDFs will open in many older PDF and non-Adobe browsers. Other reviewers have also said that it's difficult to copy the art. I must stress that this product is designed to be printed onto card and then cut up to form dungeon layouts with props in play. It is not a digitally editable resource for software like Fantasy Grounds. Anyone interested in using similar graphics in an editor or art package (for personal use only) may like to check out the Art Packs sold by Rusty Axe games. http://rustyaxe.com/apps/dd/artPacks.php (copy and paste into your browser's address bar) Thanks again for looking at the Modular Dungeon's Basic Pack. :)
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2010 20:16:51
This is a pack WELL worth your time and money!

The hand-drawn art is GORGEOUS, and the simple elegance can make ANY fantasy RPG spring to life.

I would suggest ANYONE that likes a good RPG to grab up ALL of these sets!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/22/2010 06:43:21
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack presents three dozen pages of good quality artwork for creating richly detailed 2D and pseudo-3D dungeons. The product includes all the basic tiles needed to construct elaborate dungeons, including stairs, doors, corridors, and rooms. The artwork consists of very good hand illustrated images, though the style may not be to everybody's liking as it can appear quite 'cartoony' with rich vibrant colours. The product includes ample advice on how to use and construct the various structures, as it blends 3D standing doors with more conventional 2D terrain tiles.

One of the great things about this set of terrain tiles is that it includes objects. I've longed for a decent set of terrain objects for quite some time, and here is finally a product that delivers. Now you can populate your dungeons with all manner of interesting features that don't have to be part of the tile itself. The objects include all the usual culprits of tables, chairs, barrels, bodies, chests and then some more. That's the feature of this product that makes it stand out from being just another 2D terrain tile set. On the slightly negative side, some of the larger room maps require you to cut other tiles to generate the required tile that you want. While this is not a major issue (since you're going to cut it out in any case), in a pdf I would've hoped to have seen that tile just reproduced rather than having to cut it from another tile. There aren't really issues with space in pdf. Overall, I think this is a splendid little find. I think the hand illustrated artwork is very good, the variety and versatility is excellent, and you can mix and match the objects to your heart's desire. Very useful product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by William W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/06/2010 23:49:53
This is a great set of dungeon tiles and accessories done in a classic, old-school RPG art style. The set includes rooms, hallways, corners (square and circular), several types of doors (both stand-up and flat), and a few pages of miscellenia - features, objects, hazards, and more. There's even a dungeon entrance included.

All of the tiles are done in an art style reminiscent of the (better) illustrations in the classic RPG rulebooks of the 70s and 80s, and the colors are bright and eye-catching.

I run a lot of RPGs for young people, and I think this set would be perfect for playing fantasy RPGs with kids, or with any group of gamers who appreciate that classic look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Jeffrey J. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/20/2010 20:21:40
(excerpted from the full review at drnuncheongames.blogspot.com)

A product like this will live or die on the strength of its art, and these sets by Inked Adventures are right up my alley. These are not hyper-detailed textures or simple cut-and-paste jobs. The art is hand drawn by the pseudonymous "Billiam Babble", who gives it a funky old-school feel. The tiles have clean lines and are high enough in contrast that they look good in both color and greyscale, and the movement grid is worked into the design rather than being overlaid on top.

The main set, Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack, is an enormous bargain. You've got doors (single and double in a variety of styles, stand-up or flat counters, plus specialty doors like a tomb door, a secret door and a portcullis), 5 and 10 foot corridors, corners (square and curved), junctions (T and 4-way), and dead ends. You get your choice of either diagonal corridors or adapters that let you hook normal corridors on at a 45° angle. You get stairs (straight and spiral) and rooms of various sizes. And you get separate counters of dungeon dressing: furniture, chests, pits, trapdoors, pools, rugs, corpses, piles of bones, piles of treasure, statues, tombs, fountains, bridges (over water, lava, or simply dark chasm), a dungeon entrance, and an idol room for human sacrifices. Phew!

All in all, these are some great, high value packages if you like the art style (there's a free sample if you want to see what it looks like). I'm glad I was sent these as a review copy, because I had no idea they were out there, and I'll definitely be watching for more Inked Adventures in the future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates