DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
ALQ1 Golden Voyages (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2014 11:36:04
I admit to being a "Voyages of Sinbad" nut. That helps make this one of my all-time favorite RPG supplaments.

The voyage begins with a quest for the "ultimate treasure". The authors then discuss different styles of role-playing, and what makes an "ultimate treasure" for each of the different type of players. I've used the player-type guidelines to help shape my games for decades.

The islands themselves are well thought out, but most important, the authors never forget that this is for a role-playing game, and so every island and location is rich in adventures appropriate to player characters. I used many of these islands and locations when running a fantasy earth campaign (using Runequest rules). They fit beautifully.

The physical information on arabian-style ships is thorough, and the rules for trading and the merchant life are nicely detailed, and well balanced (another rarity).

Okay - I'm a fan.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALQ1 Golden Voyages (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FT 0 - Prince Charming, Reanimator
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2014 10:29:17
I ran this adventure for my regular group. The storyline was praised as "wonderfully creepy" by everyone. As expected, about half of the zero-levels died off in the course of the exploration. The various villains and monsters were well placed and appropriate.

This is a sandbox style exploration, with a goal. Players who deduce the goal and move straight towards it, will miss out on some treasure, and one key encounter. Players who explore a little run a risk of TPK.

There's an important lesson here for gamers: Not all encounters are meant to be survivable. Some are meant to be avoided. We lost three characters to PC's being stubborn. There's also a lesson for the GM: Sometimes it does not pay to be merciful. Let the funnel do it's work; the players will need to know when to run for the rest of their DCC careers.

My only criticism is that I felt too many magic items get handed out in the course of the adventure. My older players knew enough to be generally polite to the named, talking, NPC's, and so had no problem collecting some very powerful items which they will now carry into the next adventure. Note: THEY don't think that's a problem.

A great first adventure, and we're all looking forward to more from this author.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FT 0 - Prince Charming, Reanimator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scion Companion Part One: Tuatha (Scion)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2011 15:34:04
Given the number of gamers in my area who are fascinated by the Celts, the Celtic Pantheon was a very welcome addition to Scion. The rules are clear, the roles (and rivalries) of the various gods and goddesses are well done. The additional Enech rules help make the pantheon unique. Gifts and Geasa are also help make the irish pantheon character fun. And they are not something to take lightly!

As usual in a White Wolf game, substance takes second place to artwork and artsy layout. Book length could have been halved by avoiding massive decorative borders. It could have been made easier to read by sticking with plainer pages.

The technical criticism aside, this book is a "must have" for a scion player who is interested in expanding their game from the basic 6 pantheons. The Celtic pantheon is immensely popular with gamers, and this book will expand your game considerably. My only real complaint, aside from the usual layout issues, is the bok would have benefited from more monsters and creatures from the mythos.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Companion Part One: Tuatha (Scion)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Judges Guild JG3: Dark Tower
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2011 15:24:32
Arguably the best of the old-school dungeons. Dark Tower is one of Paul Jacquay's (Griffin Mountain) best.

As with most Jacquays settings, there is a coherent storyline linking the monsters and issues of the Dark Tower. This was designed as an old-school dungeon (kill monsters, take stuff) but a GM willing to put in some effort will find that it works as a heroic saga.

The only real weakness lies in the extremely wide range of encounter levels: The GM will have to be careful that the party does not get ahead of itself, only to be wiped out by a monster that they should have met 'later', or for that matter, that the players will not get too frustrated by numerous interspaced encounters that are so low level that no XP are awarded.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Judges Guild JG3: Dark Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Judges Guild JG1: Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2011 15:09:43
A solid old-school dungeon updated to the d20 system.

The fortress allows players to dungeon crawl, while simultaniously having enough plot hooks to encourage the GM to build some depth of plot into the storyline.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Judges Guild JG1: Thieves of Fortress Badabaskor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sindbad and the Demon Pumpkin
Publisher: Hex Games
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2011 15:04:06
A good, fun, adventure into African mythology. This module can easily be adapted to any game system, for players and GMs who want something different from the usual elves/dwarves&orcs.

The adventure is story-driven; it helps to have players who recognize their character's expectations donot necessarily produce the best adventures.

The only weakness is that the storyline is quite linear, and resolving the story requires the players take certain actions at certain points.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sindbad and the Demon Pumpkin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Temple of the Frog
Publisher: Zeitgeist Games
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2011 14:49:41
This is a classic dungeon - the original published dungeon.

This edition alters some of the science fiction elements of the storyline, while not diminishing them - allowing GM's who don't want crashed extraterrestrials on their game world.

The adventure is solid, with the area around the temple, and the ramifications of the temples experiments nicely explored, for those of you who want a little horror mixed into your dungeon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of the Frog
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds: Explorer's Edition (3rd Printing)
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2010 18:00:50
I picked up Savage Worlds when I was looking for a fast to play, simple game system that I could use between "serious" campaign play.
Savage Worlds has given me all I asked of it, and more.
I have been able to teach a group of players how to play, and get them started in an adventure (pregen characters) in 15 minutes.
The rules are logical, flow quickly, and are easy to understand.
At $10 for a copy of the rules, even impovershed gamers can afford a copy. While I have purchased several expansion books, I rarely, if ever refer to them - the core rules are enough for me. (Exception: We're using material from "Realms of Cthulhu" - good stuff!
I am using these rules for a regular campaign now, and still do one-shots.
The system has two weaknesses: First is the weakness of generic systems: It is generic. For example, magic, weird science, and superpowers all fall under one general game mechanic. It makes wizards a little bland, unless your players will exert the effort to make their wizards more interesting.
The second is that the system is a little too abstract, making it very difficult to adapt monsters from other games, or animals and machines from the real world: What is the strength of a gorilla? a crocodile?

The strengths (ease of play and character creation) far outway the weaknesses.

I recommend this game to anyone who wants to run a game which either plays a fast action and hacking game, or which emphasises role-playing over rules (as the rules are simple enough to not get in the way.

Anyone think we can get Goodman Games to convert their modules to SW?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds: Explorer's Edition (3rd Printing)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest II
Publisher: Mongoose
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2010 17:50:54
Runequest is back. It's about time.
Writing: The rules are clear, divided logically, and contain enough background explanation for a player to understand the logic behind the rules.
Technical Presentation: The book is not overloaded with artwork, useless fonts, or 4 cm wide decorative borders, keeping the page count down and the rules readable. There is enough art to break up the monotony.
Rules Notes:
The skill list is the same simplified skill list as RGM. This helps keep the game flowing, although it can be frustrating (using the same skill to swim or jump a pit is slightly humerous).
Combat is fast and deadly. Fights can still devolve into a "hack until you hit the same location twice" contest, but the special effects available on successful hits mitigate this. GM's are advised to print out the options on pages 88 and 89 and hand copies to their players.
The magic systems are superbly done. In particular, the completely revised spirit magic system feels 'real' and makes the spirit-working shaman a viable and unique character. Divine magic has recieved another overhaul, and is both appropriate to the nature of the game, and highly playable. Divine magic may be too powerful, but I have not played enough to reach that point. The best thing about the magic system is the recommendations for different worlds. Running a Conan-esq Swords and Sorcery world? Dump Common and Divine magic and restrict your magicians to Shamans and Sorcerers. Running Mythological Hawaii? Stick to common magic... Magic very flexible and very good. The "myth" system is very promising, although I have not used it, yet.
I don't like the "improvement points" system for character advancement. One of the virtues of Chaosium RQ was that a character tended to automatically advance in the skills most often used (i.e. rolled on) in a game. On the other hand, this often left the GM scrambling for ways to give the players a chance to make certain die rolls. I use a combination of experience checks and improvement points.
On the downside, there are only a handful of monsters in the book, and no guidelines for build-your-own. If I did not have years of experience playing and GM'ing RQ, I'd be hurting for monsters. The promised "Monster Colessium" supplament will help this, but it's still pricey. I would have liked some guidelines (a la D&D 3.x) on assigning stats and abilities to build your own monsters, or to modify existing monsters.

All in all, this is a far superior game to Mongoose's first edition RQ. While not as flexible as BRP (Chaosium's current publication) it is simpler to play, and it's strengths greatly outway it's weaknesses.

I'd recommend this game system to anyone looking for a moderately fast to play, simple game system, that focuses on characters which are at a human-like level of power. With minimal adaption it could be used in any fantasy world.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates