DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Leverage Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2013 14:28:42
To get things straight off my chest, I'm a huge fan of Leverage the TV show, and a hardened RPGer. However I'm not much of a fan of the Cortex system, I have The Cortex main rules and the Serenity game but really I think the Savage World system is better. This game has changed my view of the Cortex system, all the stuff I never really liked has been stripped away and we have a lean, mean system that reflects the TV show very well.
The system has been modded to perfectly emulate the concept of a crew pulling heists. Plot Points which I never thought were covered in enough detail in previous games, get more detail and involve the players more.
Attributes range from d4 (bad) to d12 (amazing), as do the five skills (yes five skills! Leverage breaks a crew into 5 specialists and the game follows suit). Everything is kept lean yet there is still plenty of dice rolling to stop your hands from getting bored.
MW have also produced plenty of supplements to expand characters and also provide much needed campaigns to get a Gm started, all I of which I can recommend.
My advice, get your players to watch a few episodes first, let then them go rob some bad guys.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Blood - Solo War Game
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2011 11:15:50
Chronicles of Arax goes epic. Using a variation of the game system in the solo adventure system, Chronicles of Blood is an attempt to create solo wargaming. The system can also just as easily be used for a multi player game. A 14 page FREE wargame with quick easy rules. I call that bargain.
There a few typos, nothing that affect rules, and that's the only downside I can offer. Further supplements (premium content) are coming to expand the choice of regiments and armies. Looking forward to them.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Blood - Solo War Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Arax - Dwarven Stoneguard
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2011 11:02:46
After introducing various human character types for Arax, we now have the first of the non human races. Dwarven Stoneguards are basically tanks. As with the human character types, they have their own special abilities to bring to the game, in particular runes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Dwarven Stoneguard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Arax - Demonmaster
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2011 10:58:25
Another short and great solo quest, ideal when you have an hour spare. I like the different spin on encounters used here. Arax uses a simple system for getting from encounter to encounter and this adventure shows how flexible the approach can be.
I'm really enjoying this series of adventures and look forward to many more.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Demonmaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Arax - Bestiary
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2011 10:52:21
A great supplement for anyone wanting to write their own quests, or use the Arax setting for a simple group game system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rapture: The End of Days. Theological Sci-Fi Horror Core Rules
Publisher: StoryWeaver
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2011 15:31:09
First point - brilliant setting idea and a great use of survival horror tropes.
Second point - a nice simple (and much needed after combat) experience system.
Third point - I'm a sucker for rules lite, character driven games, and this delivers, especially for large combat.
Fourth point - fear rules, best I've seen in ages, an advantage in fight/flight but a serious problem with anything else.

General points - I've not yet Gm'ed this but have discussed points with players and they are keen, just mentioning the basic concept of the game world seems to get people interested.

THE BAD - no printer friendly version. The white text on black background is great for tablets but of no use when you want to print out pages for quick references. Yes, paper is so last century but I don't want to hand over my 'master copy' for players to see equipment rules when they could sneak a peek at something I don't want them to see. Seeing as StoryWeaver have packed so much into this bundle, a print version friendly edition of the game is a bit of an oversight. This loses it a point for grading.

Overall - As a Gm, I can see much fun with this setting and rules system. I particularly like the rules surrounding extra's for extra dice and for experience. It has a polished look which will be great in book or tablet form but ignores print friendly needs, such as character sheets and item lists

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rapture: The End of Days.   Theological Sci-Fi Horror Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Good point on the print friendly version. We've seen the market move rapidly away from print yourself versions - especially for larger works like Rapture. The Benefits of going ebook format are just too compelling, so we put all our design effort into that format. Still, if you think it's needed, then it is. (The customer is always right!) I'll get to work on a print friendly version over the next month. Stay tuned for black and white, paper-gobbling madness!
Chronicles of Arax - Artifacts and Relics
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2011 14:44:36
A very much expanded version of the artifacts table given in the original rules and adds a much needed balance to the game when getting treasure. Some nice concepts, I suspect Yarn's Map will be a life saver at some point.
It's amazing how a few extra supplements enhance this game so much.
Looking forward to a bestiary as a supplement so others can create adventures and maybe use as a game for a multi-player group.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Artifacts and Relics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2011 14:27:53
This is an addictive and original solo system. The system is almost a Savage Worlds lite game with a clever twist on how you proceed through the adventure. It took me five goes to complete the introductory adventure and even knowing what the encounters were from previous plays didn't ruin the fun, it fact it made it more enjoyable.
The supplements add to the game, either adding new hero types or further equipment.
My only grumble is that with a few lucky rolls, you can obtain enough armour to be unstoppable. Fights become simply rounds of trying to hit your opponent while they can't hurt you. I admit this is from using the artifact table in the basic game, however it meant for the second adventure combat became very lopside and a case of rolling dice until the enemy fell. The only threat became spell users and traps.
I'm looking forward to trying the other hero types to see how the game changes and also seeing how the expanded artifact tables affect the game, hopefully less armour.
Another point I like about this game and will try with my game group sometime, is that this can easily be used for a beer and pretzel evening for a quick one off session between games.
For a free game with many cheap supplements, I think this is a winner. I'm only knocking off the 1 star due to the issue of armour imbalance. Never the less, I still bought all the supplements and think I have a bargain.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Don't forget you can only claim one armour bonus at a time, regardless of the source. This seems to be something people keep missing.
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2010 13:50:36
I've been using Drivethru for years and I have to say this is the best find I've ever seen here, and it's free!
I'm not one for retrogaming, and I abandoned D&D years ago, however this is has a lovely feel to it and has me aching to Gm it.
The rules are well written, and well thought out, I particularly enjoy the system/planet creation rules and I fully intend to incorporate the faction rules into my games.
I'll certainly be keeping an eye out for other Sine Nomine games based on this RPG.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hentacle
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2007 17:13:36
This game is wrong. So wrong. After posting a link to my game group as a joke I was disturbed that they heckled me into buying. More so that they actually wanted to play it.

This game is sick, exploitive and frankly downright rude.

So basically great for a drunk Friday night gaming session.

As the saying goes - you've seen it, you can't unsee it.

Oh and all those disclaimers, every word of it is true. Not for the easily offended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hentacle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Force
Publisher: Deep7
by Alistair B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2006 00:00:00
I finally got to introduce my gaming group to the 1PG line and they decided to try this version of the game out. Enough through I consider this to have the most c'comples' rules of all the versions (it has to cover superpowers), character gen still only took 10 minutes and once play began they all happily got into the swing of things.

Playing this game confirmed a nummber of things for me. This really is a good alternative when time is short or people just want a rules light adventure. However I don't think that the system can really bear upto a campaign, it's enjoyable but too rules light.

Saying that I've been told I'm going to be running it again!




LIKED: Well for the price if nothing else you get 6 one shot adventures. Which is a bargain for the money. Also I have to say if you are looking to fill the time between other system led campaigns, this is the one to pick.

DISLIKED: For a game costing less than $4, you simply cannot complain

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Force
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Daisho: Samurai Adventure
Publisher: Deep7
by Alistair B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2006 00:00:00
A great beer and pretzals system. Out does Savage Worlds for Fats, fun and furious.
If you want something for a simple one session game but don't want to get serious, I'd recommend this for a change.


LIKED: Straight to the point, rules light and obviously not to be taken too seriously

DISLIKED: For the money you pay, I don't think you can complain.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daisho: Samurai Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Iron Dynasty: Journey to Red Temple
Publisher: Reality Blurs
by Alistair B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2006 00:00:00
I'm a sucker for Asian adventures and this one is a little beauty. Bascially an introduction to using the Savage Worlds system for samurai action, it gives you some pre-gen characters and lets your players rip.

A good one night session.


LIKED: Straight forward and well written

DISLIKED: Would have liked some material or adventure hooks to expand upon.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Dynasty: Journey to Red Temple
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Features #03 - They Came From Beyond Space
Publisher: Legion Publishing
by Alistair B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2005 00:00:00
A great game for a single night session. Perfect for Halloween as a one off fun adventure.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Features #03 - They Came From Beyond Space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GWG10000 Savage Worlds revised
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Hero A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2005 18:54:21
If you liked Deadlands, check this gem out. I bought this for novelty value for my players. However after a few sessions it became apparent that this system is excellent fast and furious game that suits experienced and novice players alike. As a Gm I apprieciate it it's quick play mechanics and as my players demand more adventures, well I'd like to say it's 'cos I'm that damned fine a GM however I think the fact the campaign worlds and sagas are so enjoyable to play, that perhaps it's the whole Savage Worlds experience that they are into.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GWG10000 Savage Worlds revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates