DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Counter Collection Digital v3.0 Epic 2 Expansion
Publisher: Fiery Dragon
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/05/2010 10:29:04
These are great collections and I particularly love this option. Combined with the interactive PDF template that Fiery Dragon offers, you can use the individual JPEGs in this collection to print only the monsters you want in any number you want. Also, if you use MapTools or other programs that allow you to create individualized tokens to represent characters and monsters, this set is perfect to create counters that accurately represent the epic monsters from Monster Manual 2. Your virtual tabletop D&D and fantasy games just got that much better.

The art is high quality, the colors are bright, and I have used Fiery Dragon counters from day one for my enemies.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Counter Collection Digital v3.0 Epic 2 Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of the Dark Elves
Publisher: Sonic Legends
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/31/2010 21:06:42
I love the dissonant piano and creepy chimes in the background. It is more than appropriate for your group as they skulk around the streets of a city in the Underdark or other nefarious place. It definitely conveys a sense of unease and mystery. The only complaint I have is the somewhat techno/computer-y sounding effect that runs much of the track. It seems a bit out of place in a fantasy setting, but can be overlooked. I would recommend this for any night time scenes in a strange place that you want your PCs to be a bit wary of.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of the Dark Elves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ancient Archives
Publisher: Sonic Legends
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/31/2010 21:00:53
This track is top notch. Reminiscent of Harry Potter and other magical films, this arcane delight provides intriguing tunes with quiet whispers and mutterings of ancient tomes. One of the best tracks I've heard from Sonic Legends thus far. This is a great track for an ancient library, mage's guild, or even an elven city during an ancient ceremony. I know I like something when it inspires me to write a scenario to use it. I like the idea of a twilight city of magic where mystery abounds and the party is unsure of it's odd customs and secretive denizens.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Archives
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Reaper
Publisher: Sonic Legends
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/31/2010 20:54:02
As always the production values are good. This particular track is somewhat low key compared to what I expected for a battle with a wyvern. However, it is very dark and creepy sounding with impending doom building as the creature approaches. Sounds of wings flapping and angelic choirs pervade throughout. I think this could be used with almost any monstrous encounter with a large roaring creature. It could even be used for a dungeon crawl as the party gets close to their final battle . . . the creature waiting to strike.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Reaper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

On the Open Sea
Publisher: Sonic Legends
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/31/2010 20:47:32
This is a particularly good Soundscape if I do say so myself. It begins with a powerful intro that really inspires a regale vessel beginning its voyage or a camera zoom into a large galleon. The sound effects are of subtle water and gulls. Add in some squeeze box, ropes being run, and creaking wood and you've got yourself some fun on the high seas. I really like this track. It makes me really want to play a pirate session for my PCs. Buy this track if you want to add some atmosphere to your game set on the water.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Open Sea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

After the Battle
Publisher: Sonic Legends
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/31/2010 20:42:38
I like the Sonic Legends line of Soundscapes. This particular Soundscape is an atmospheric representation of the conclusion of a battle. What I like about it is that it could easily be used for background for almost any session. The sound effects are fairly subtle with some vulture or crow shrieks and women crying. It could be any rundown part of a village or just ignore the sound effects for a moody, sullen feel during play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
After the Battle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Counter Collection Digital v3.0 Heroic 3 Expansion
Publisher: Fiery Dragon
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/26/2010 14:57:05
Another great addition to the Fiery Dragon Counter Collection. These counters are a great way to save money if you don't want to buy miniatures. This set includes over 100 counters as jpegs and pdf files that allow you to select the images you want for assembling and printing. It also includes a bloodied template, a nice addition.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Counter Collection Digital v3.0 Heroic 3 Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

d66 Objects Orbiting a Planet
Publisher: Jon Brazer Enterprises
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 21:08:45
This is pretty much free for the price and gives a nice random list of objects that could orbit a planet. For my Rogue Trader games, this is pretty handy. It has some interesting suggestions. In this case, I usually browse the list to find what I want and just use that. Of course, you can always use the random method and roll with that too . . . pun intended. Good for those times you need a kickstart or are just blanking out mid-game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d66 Objects Orbiting a Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D100 Discoveries Series: Caves, Sea and The Great Outdoors (DDS 2)
Publisher: Taurus Twelve
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 21:05:21
This is a pretty straightfoward supplement. It is six lists of 100 random events your players might encounter in various locations: Cavern, Forest, Hill, Prairie, Sea, Volcano. There is a lot of variety in the events. They make great ways to get your creative juices flowing. They can be used a flavor text to spice up your descriptions or you can build whole quests around them. Where did the arsenal in a local cavern come from? Was it bandits looking to raid the town? Or is it a stash from times long forgotten? From one roll, you can get your campaign moving in a whole new direction or you may just need something to kick off a one shot. Good suggestions and ideas in this for just $3.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Discoveries Series: Caves, Sea and The Great Outdoors (DDS 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D100 Discoveries Series: Temple, Castle and Wilderlands Volume I
Publisher: Taurus Twelve
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 21:02:12
This is a pretty straightfoward supplement. It is six lists of 100 random events your players might encounter in various locations: Castle, Dock, Temple, Swamp, Park, Mountain. There is a lot of variety in the events. They make great ways to get your creative juices flowing. They can be used a flavor text to spice up your descriptions or you can build whole quests around them. Where did a group of dwarves come from that just brought a huge supply of iron to the village? Will they get into trouble? Is someone trying to poach their cargo? From one roll, you can get your campaign moving in a whole new direction or you may just need something to kick off a one shot. Good suggestions and ideas in this for just $3.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Discoveries Series: Temple, Castle and Wilderlands Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead of Night
Publisher: SteamPower Publishing
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 20:53:07
This is a fun rules-light horror game for a group of players who are looking for a quick game when someone doesn't show up for the night or to introduce newcomers to roleplaying. You can make characters in 5 minutes if you want and the options are very intuitive. The GM can make monsters very easily and scales the challenge based on how many players you have. There is a ton of flexibility to make a Friday the 13th style slasher, a zombie horde, or pretty much any crazy monster you want. The statistics are the same for the monsters as they are player, making it very simple for everyone. That doesn't mean the game isn't interesting though. I have yet to run it, but it seems like it will run very smoothly, keep things moving quickly, and make sure everyone has a ton of fun and scares without getting bogged down in mechanics. This is a really good buy for people wanting a rules-light system that is fast paced and focused on the storytelling over tactics and "crunch".

The book is written really well, the artwork is crazy awesome, and I can't wait to run this game for a group.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead of Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Magical Memories From Beyond: Forgotten Rituals
Publisher: Taurus Twelve
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 20:44:03
This is a well produced supplement of additional rituals for D&D 4E. I have to say that sometimes these types of supplements are rather barebones. However, this one has great flavor text to describe the various rituals and a lengthy summary of how they can be used. They range from your typical see an event in the past type deal or crafting a magic object that performs some function. I like some of these odd ones though in that they can be very useful in a campaign and many of them include a way to utilize the effect in combat from providing concealment with blast effects to release it and even a way to summon a magical jester to do your bidding. It's a fun supplement that I don't want to tell my wizard about because he'll use it to ruin all my dastardly DM plans. You should definitely do the same to yours.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Memories From Beyond: Forgotten Rituals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Rite Npc Deck
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/11/2010 19:09:49
These are a pretty cool little set of cards for NPCs. It gives the DM a chance to show your players what someone looks like and add some extra depth to your descriptions. You could even hand them out so people can keep track of important NPCs. I also like the idea of looking through them for inspiration for NPCs to add to the campaign. If someone looks cool, just build them into someone important to the campaign. The art is very stylized, but neat. For $6, it's a good buy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Rite Npc Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I wanted to thank NB Niel for taking the time to do a review of our product. As we look forward to any and all feedback; Steve Russell, Rite Publishing
Zombie Death Town
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/05/2010 20:51:34
I try to review things for what they are. In this case, the book is a very short, rules light zombie game for one player and a GM. It isn't meant to be terribly in-depth or complicated. If you want to run a quick game for someone who likes zombies and horror games, yet doesn't want to learn a complicated system, this will work fine. I think the story is really fun. You can learn the game in 5 minutes. After you create the character, you run through the choose your own adventure style story until you likely die. Sorry, it is called Zombie Death Town. You could use the same rules to run your own zombie story as well. For what it is, this pretty much met my expectations. Sure, it's not the most robust game on earth, but you can sit down and run through it in 15-30 minutes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Death Town
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Counter Collection 4th Edition Heroic 3
Publisher: Fiery Dragon
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/02/2010 21:41:51
This is a great product. I love the artwork as usual. All the heroic tier monsters from Monster Manual 3 all in one collection. It saves a lot of money compared to buying miniatures and they take up a lot less space. Print 'em up on some heavy card stock and you are good to go. A must have for the DMs collection.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Counter Collection 4th Edition Heroic 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 113 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates