DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
 
$0.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
74 32
28 6
10 1
3 0
3 0
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to view
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Tymon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2014 17:16:59
I don't like the FATE system, and would prefer not to play a SciFi RPG in an established universe (SW EU, Firefly, etc) and Stars Without by Number is the closest "freeform" universe system you can get that I've found

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by al f. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2014 13:12:43
Game was great, much more open ended than other games i've played (4e , Swords and wizardry) Easy to set up characters with auto-fill character sheet and lots of third party support for world creation ect.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jacob F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2014 11:38:22
This book is great! 210 free pages of all you need. From a book standpoint it's clear, easy to read and well organized. I am definitely interested in purchasing more material for this system just from a quick read. 5 stars for being a awesome value at an unbeatable price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Wesley P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2014 04:41:59
To be honest, I've never seen a tabletop sandbox rpg. However I'm impressed. Even if I don't use the system, it's a great supplement to any rpg where you need a way to build worlds.

Thus far this is a great d20 system. I like the sector, world, quest, cult, heresy and npc building tables. Filling in the details or modifying what comes up to remain in theme is easy. I also like the the modular 3 class system. Getting rid of feats and making everything a skill also helps.

Its a lot of extra paperwork, but Factions add a whole new dimension to the RP. If used, crime syndicates, governments, et cetera exist in system. Meaning the players can form or join a faction to achieve objectives of their own (e.g. defeat a faction, save the world, educate the masses, et cetera).

However I do have gripes about the book. The table of contents and index lack detail. So it takes time to find needed material to build characters, sectors and worlds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:58:28
Really, wow! For free, absolutely cannot be beat. I look forward to trying this system out. Very cool hybrid of Classic Traveller and old school D&D.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by D. V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2014 22:14:49
I ordered a hard copy of the star field cover, and it does indeed include all of the content of the alien cover, with the same number of pages as the alien cover. So, order the star field cover hard copy if you like it better than the alien cover, since it does indeed have the same content.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by andras f. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2014 19:02:31
I've owned this game in a hardback form (and it's sister product, the Post Apocalyptic game Other dust) for a couple of years now and I'm still running it.

I won't bother going into a detailed review of the mechanics etc, as there are many others in this review list that does an admirable job of that already.

I'll instead talk about the Longevity of the product.
As this is a Sandbox RPG, it provides lots of GM material to generate random content.
but in addition to that, Kevin has provided LOTs of free and cheap additional content as well.
I have found this REALLY useful in the games I run.

If you get Other Dust, the post Apocalyptic RPG as well, it REALLY opens up the possibilities for even more variety.

I can't recommend this RPG enough if you're into Scifi RPGs and want something that moves really fast and easy to customise.

I run this game in a play by forum post setting, which I feel this is ideal for due to the simplicity of the rules.
I also run it at home for my kids, who love it and it really encourages using imagination as I don't feel restricted by the rules.

On top of that, if you're not sure just download the free rules. which only have missing Mech and AI content. Everything else is there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2014 21:26:58
This is a good role playing game with an interesting background. It seems to have elements that are a blend of a number of experience points/level gaming systems and 'space opera' science fiction storysettings such as ones penned by Larry Niven or 'Star Wars' settings. The character generation system and starship creation systems both seem to be farly straight forward proving that it is possible to create a system that can be operated without a PHD in physics and astro-enineering.

Well done!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2013 22:08:50
When I downloaded this product, I was shocked to find it was a Full-on Space Opera, with everything from scientists to Starships to world building. It was free to download, which makes it even more spectacular.

You can build you own character, which is very easy, as it uses the six basic attributes that almost all RPG's use. The gaming "fluff" is well written and enjoyable. Chapters one thru five range from history of the game to character building to what Psionics are.

Chapter six is written for the Gamemaster and goes in depth as to what a "sandbox" is and how to work with on in your RPG.

Chapter seven is one of the longest taking you from step 1 in how to build a world. I've had to buy specific books, like Rifts Megaverse Builder, in order to have a step by step pattern to building worlds for my RPG games.

Chapter eight is something I've never seen before, it teaches you how to build "Factions" for use in your RPG. Tags like cunning assets and financial characteristics were new and enjoyable to explore.

Chapter nine has 100 adventure seeds built into the adventure designer. Chapter ten goes on to create Aliens from scratch. Chapter 11 is a bestiary, filled with lovely little monsters.

This rulebook has one of the longest Designer "notes" that I've ever seen, walking you through the difficult aspects of the book, such as psionics to handing out experience points.

It also can save you money on the "names" front having Chinese, Arabic, English, Indian, Spanish, Nigerian and Russian name creators for both male and female characters.

The end of the book has lots of useful tables, like heresies, and a great index.

For $20.00 this game book is well worth your money, at free, it is impossible for you Not to pick up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2013 08:42:33
While I eventually got the Core Edition copy of these rules, this book along was enough to get me hooked on the system and mechanics. Great for GMs looking to get new players into the game. Get them to download a copy and run a few games. It's awesome.

A tight OSR game that gives a robust, enough, skill system. Dangerious combat at characer and ship levels, lovely optional faction rules, great sandboxing material, and light and easy to read. VERY easy. I wish more authors were this clear.

Worth the time!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Jim S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2013 15:39:54
A Simple, smooth and versatile adaptation of the Old School rules. The setting is simple, yet well thoughtout to cover a variety of play styles. This is a game that can easily cover a Star Wars, Babylon 5, or Star Trek style game, or just as easily do Firefly, Alien or Outland. Though it is a class based system (Expert, Psychic and Warrior) the classes are well balanced and quite flexible. Backgrounds and Training packages allow for a wide diversity within a class, while keeping things manageable for the GM. Only two alien species are provided, but guidelines for developing more are included. The free version does not include the rules for AI PCs or Mechs. I was so impressed with the free version that I had to order the POD of the pay version and I was not disappointed. Great game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2012 12:42:15
What a great free book. I got this from a link from a guy on my local gaming guilds' meetup post. This was awesome. Great character creation tools, great planet, races and scenario creation system. I love sci-fi and with a few throws of the die in preparation you could be off exploring your newly created sandboxed universe with your friends in no time at all. I love this book. There's also an african tribal add-on that just came out recently that I downloaded as well. I'm no GM but I can't wait to find a group to GM this, hell I would play EVERY week if they had this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by andrew t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2012 18:15:43
i love the heart that went into this. Great for a sandbox campaign, gives great ideas

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Anders N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2012 07:01:05
This is a simple but intuitive take on sandbox gaming, with an intriguing setting and well-crafted rules. That this is available for free is nothing short of amazing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2012 11:14:40
A sci-fi theme using OD&D rules - nice! And it's free!

It's a little bit like Traveller, with OD&D rules (in my view, anyway); since it has tech levels, etc, slightly similar to Traveller.

Very well written, with helpful sections: Game Master's Guide, World Generation, Adventure Creation, Alien Creation, Spaceship Design, Hydra Sector.

All in all, very nicely done.

Slight niggles: graphically flat; also, each page heading (World Generation, Xenobestiary, etc) has a large black square with the heading in white writing. That large black heading frame will eat up the ink a bit, considering there are approximately 15 or more headings.

But apart from the slight niggles mentioned above, it's very good, and well recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 39 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates