DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
New Wave Requiem
Publisher: White Wolf
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2012 20:34:09
I wrote a review of this for Flames Rising, so I will keep this one brief.

Put on Hall and Oats "Maneater" and end the vampire's world of the 1980s.

I was not a fan of where White Wolf was going towards the end of its initial lines departure and the creation of the new lines. It all felt like a bad case of "been there/done that."

This particular book changed the way I viewed the World of Darkness. It's a great look at how Kindred would have viewed the Regan Era and used it to their advantage (along with every other creature during that era).

The artwork in this book is particularly great, which isn't always the case with White Wolf. It's full color and gorgeous.

All in all, I want my game books to call to me after I've read them and this one does that in spades. It offers idea after idea to the GM looking for a flashback story or a campaign set in a vaguely distant era.

So grab a New Coke, click on MTV (when they played videos), and give this book a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New Wave Requiem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mutant City Blues
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2012 20:29:00
I'm a huge fan of super heroes in a less than spandex setting (Heroes, 4400, and others in that vein). That is where Mutant City Blues falls into supers role-playing. Players take on characters who have some serious edges over normals, but not to the godlike stature of the JLA or Avengers.

Wins for this game:

- excellent details (powers have to follow a "logical" progression through a charting system). This chart works great as an investigating tool within the game.
- excellent writing. I love the setting and what characterization is given to it. I would have liked a bit more padding to the setting, but I suppose it's best left up to the individual game masters.
- solid system. It takes getting used to, but this game engine works tremendously well for detective style gaming.

Needs work?

- The art is sporadic and not consistently great throughout the book.
- supplements. This game doesn't have the love that Trail of Cthulhu has so there is little in the way of support for the lazy GM.

Overall, I think this is a much stronger RPG for playing super heroes rather than Smallville or the 2012 Marvel Super Heroes. It offers a fresh world without 50 years of backstory to contend with.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant City Blues
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Flux
Publisher: John Wick Presents
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2011 17:05:00
I've been looking forward to this book/chapter/what-have-you since John Wick offered a tease of it on his blog. Most omni-systems leave me cold because game A does something cool that game B cannot really replicate. Attempting to shoehorn all these systems into one generic system just mostly sucks (Savage Worlds may be an exception for me).

The difference with this product is twofold (1) it lets you keep your original rules to each game you want to utilize and (2) it lets you pull a truly great trick on your players. This is a small product (arounnd 20 pages), but well worth its cost.

If you're sitting on twenty plus years of gaming books like I am and worried you'll never play them all, The Flux has seriously offered some help towards shaking the dust off them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Flux
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shanghai Vampocalypse Player’s Guide (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2010 18:40:31
An interesting initial foray into what the demigod level of Savage World playing has to offer. It will appeal to fans of Feng Shui as it has a similar mix of Hong Kong action, weird tech, and magical tomfoolery. Also . . . vampires hordes for your ancient wise one or uzi packing ninja to dive into.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shanghai Vampocalypse Player’s Guide (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hoodoo Blues the Role Playing Game
Publisher: Vajra Enterprises
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2010 20:39:50
This is seriously one of the best games I've seen this year. The PDF price at less than five dollars makes this massive book a must-have for any gamer with a supernatural bent. The setting allows players to take on the role of various immortal types from Southern American folklore. One of the shining aspects of the book is the history section, which offers an insightful (especially for a RPG) look at Southern American history.

In the mood for something different in the horror vein? This book is it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hoodoo Blues the Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

API Worldwide: Canada
Publisher: Third Eye Games
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:56:26
You can find my full review for this product at www.flamesrising.com

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
API Worldwide: Canada
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:54:25
I like the occasional oddness in my gaming collection just as I do with my movie collection. This PDF fits the same niche as "Eight Legged Freaks" and "Slither." This affordable game takes nearly every concept from 50s and 60s sci-fi and turns it into an excellent RPG that can easily be more than a "beer and pretzils" experience.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
'45 - Psychobilly Retropocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stuff To Beat Up 1: Tech Terrors
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:04:28
Savage Worlds oftentimes makes me purchase some oddities. The minis from Dakkar look pretty good and fit in line with most games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stuff To Beat Up 1: Tech Terrors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot: the Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Atomic Sock Monkey Press
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:03:25
Chad Underkoffler sees gaming through a more unique lens. I've collected just about all his titles, but find that this installment may be a bit too quirky. I recommend going with "Truth and Justice" or "ZoZ" before running with this.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monkey, Ninja, Pirate, Robot: the Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:02:01
This is a great looking book even though I honestly haven't gotten around to playing it yet. From a production standard though, it looks terrific.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1  Twilight: 2000
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hot Dudes 01
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 20:59:59
I received this with a free package. It would rank less with a fee.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hot Dudes 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamers Helping Haiti $20 Donation with Coupon
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 20:02:40
Really . . . despite the fact this helps people for a rather modest sum . . . the selfish reasons alone are worth making this purchase. This is not two hundred PDFs of three or four page games. This is a collection that has many PDFs with over two hundred pages to them. Are you going to want them all? Most likely no; however, many games (Savage Worlds, D20, Cortex, and others) are available within this file. It took nearly three days for the download links to reach me, but I ordered on a Sunday.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamers Helping Haiti $20 Donation with Coupon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

THRILLING TALES: Omnibus Edition
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 19:57:07
I've yet to find the right pulp game, although Hollow Earth comes close. The problem with it is its intended focus on certain aspects of the era. Thrilling Tales falls in on the positive side of "eh."

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
THRILLING TALES: Omnibus Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hot Chicks 3.1: Naked Distress
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 19:54:50
Sometimes your Savage World game involves breaking into a brothel. Voila! This solves your miniature situation.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hot Chicks 3.1: Naked Distress
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

12TM: Green's Guide to Ghosts: Savaged edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 19:53:36
This is a fantastic book intended for Savage Worlds (but useful for any genre where ghost hunting comes into play). It has solid advice on the "real" side of ghost hunting and some cool adventures to boot. I find I reread it often for inspiration.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
12TM: Green's Guide to Ghosts: Savaged edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 72 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates