DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
BEAN! The D2 RPG
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2010 15:39:44
Worth it for the adventuring bean illustrations alone!
Wonderfully compact and well written.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Himmelveil Streets / WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2010 15:44:32
I haven't constructed any of this set yet, but the detail is just astounding.
(bought as part of the Pakistan Flood Appeal - nice one guys)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Himmelveil Streets / WorldWorksGames / TerrainlinX
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Base (1inch Grid)
Publisher: Paper Make iT !
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2010 18:00:52
Really well made. Beautiful crisp effects. Easy to cut up and assemble many different possible layouts. Perfect for a sci-fi crawl shoot-em-up (Aliens colony base?), possibly adaptable to other genres - spy/superhero, zombie infested hi tech refinery, even an alien fantasy dungeon. Many linking features. I like the completeness of this set - all-in-one fun, rapid assembly.

Nice one, Paper Make iT. :)

*thumbs up*

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Base (1inch Grid)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hovel
Publisher: Fantasy Cutouts
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2010 17:22:42
I have still yet to assemble this model, but I still feel compelled laud praise upon it. LH's ink detailed ink work is second to none. The choice of details and colours are bright and inventive. There's something of the fairy tale about this piece, a magical illustrative style. This artist is also clearly a very clever card engineer.
(Free to download at the time of typing this - but easily worth any price under $8)
Ideal for off-the-beaten-track forest encounter, or a dwelling on the edge of a city.
Sublime. :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hovel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
Publisher: Archaia Entertainment LLC
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2010 17:11:13
Marvellous art work, excellent line and colour work (if not a little naughty in places!), inventive use of frame. Compelling story. Ace.

(special offer copy - I don't often purchase graphic novels online - not sure if I can comment on standard price/value for money)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP - Sample
Publisher: Greywood Publishing
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2010 20:36:13
This is a very nice little sample of the QUERP game. I've just downloaded the 2nd Ed rulebook, and would like to point out and it appears that there's just enough material here taken from the rules to start role-playing with the QUERP system using the Sample (or at least get a good idea what it's all about). It reminds me greatly of Fighting Fantasy and simpler game book systems which got me into to role-playing (Incidentally, in the full rule book there is a solo game, as well as the adventure contained here in the Sample). Other players may be reminded of the fastplay fun of Heroquest, AHQ and WHQ.

The QUERP Sample lets you play a Warrior and Sage (2 of the 6 six classes), but you may have to improvise around Defence and armour rules which don't appear to be here (but the weapons are!). The presentation of the Sample resembles the actual rulebook - which is professionally laid out, with stylish b/w images, except that the pages in the rule book proper are a gorgeous parchment beige (but you still have the option use a printer-friendly copy which has no parchment backgrounds).

A high quality sample of a good quality product.
A must for the curious player, considering a fun "beer and pretzels" dungeon crawl (as the Americans say).

(The QUERP Sample was free at the time of writing this review.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - Sample
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Guide To Classic Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2010 20:10:28
If you're collecting old Traveller rulebooks, or are researching role-playing history this is an essential document. As it was free when I downloaded it I'm giving it five stars because I spent more time, pouring over and consulting this catalogue-style listing, then reading the actual products I've recently downloaded.

It has made me do is consider buying the "Classic Traveller Canon" CD-Rom direct from Far Future Enterprises, but for now I stick to downloading the odd little goody from DriveThruRPG - such as Traders and Gunboats, which I never owned first time around.

This is essential reading for the Traveller collector or completist, very useful for finding the "context" of a Traveller product - especially when one mixes up LLBs with Supplements.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide To Classic Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2010 11:04:12
A wonderful nostalgia purchase. I got mine for free as a promotional offer but I heartily recommend this to anyone interested in the history of role-playing and has a few credits to spare.

Playing this version of Traveller today:

In fact the 2d6 system is delightfully simple. The planet generation and trading tables are will remind retro-gamers of the Elite computer game (which may have or may not have been influenced by Traveller). The two books are easy to play with, but can be awkward to navigate in PDF form since the charts and tables are in a different book to the rules book - which is only a problem when learning, but once the basics are learnt the tables and charts book enables very rapid access to the right matrices. At least print out the tables book!

(Good quality PDF and illustrations reproduction, by the way)

Traveller has a strange flavour to it which may baffle newcomers. Spaceship computers are massive, with clunky "programs", most people are armed with rifles and blades. Humans prevail in Starter Traveller, but other races are described in supplements. In a way, it’s hard sci-fi, but the laser guns with back packs seemed dated even in the 80s. For more advance tech weaponry supplements must be sought (Mercenary), but the system is very adaptable for an inventive Referee.

Archivist, collector, gamer or just curious – this is a fascinating game – all you need to play is here, but you may find yourself will craving ship plans supplements, scenarios – loads of which are free on the web, not to mention later versions of Traveller.

It’s the late 70’s, it’s the far future! Pile into that Type-S Scout ship and power up the Jump Drive…

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Haunting Trio
Publisher: Escape Velocity Gaming
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2010 10:39:13
Yikes! :o
Edgar Allan Poe meets Cthulhu, Middle Earth and the modern supernatural.

These sinister manifestations come with stats, tactics and quotes and would are surprisling adaptable to any 4e campaign of any setting - especially the Dreamdweller Raven which has more than a few spooky tricks up at sleeve!

A must for sinister horror campaigns or anyone looking for a fresh encounter.

Professionally laid out to 4e standards - easy to follow. Black and white with illustrations.

And a bargain! (FREE at the time of writing this review).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Haunting Trio
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kobold Warband
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Will M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2010 06:58:46
About a year ago I realised that I had very few kobold figures, and that if I was ever to play low level D&D (or similar) again that I would never have enough figures to match the "numbers appearing" required for a decent double-rowed kobold warband. To cut a long story short I procured a handful of metal kobold figures from ebay but would still need to paint them.

This pack of cut-out kobold solves my problem very nicely (and they - at time of review -are FREE!). And I can print as many as I want. 30 (10 kobold designs x3) should do very nicely.

The colours and lines are clean and sharp. These kobolds have attitude! There's plenty of variety. The style is also wonderfully evocative of old Warhammer illustrations - Chalk/Dever et al.

Heartily recommended to all DMs

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kobold Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 106 to 115 (of 115 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates