DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions $0.00
Average Rating:3.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 2
2 3
4 2
2 3
1 3
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Click to view
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by David B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2013 14:53:47
Simple but actually inspiring, as I read the job title and start to wonder more about the character behind the job, and what interaction they would have with my characters.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Jesper A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2013 17:55:53
The product is basically just a list of professions in a fantasy setting - some more useful than others. It is an ok source of inspiration for encounters so you don't fall into the stereotypical encounter with a blacksmith because you couldn't think of anything else. As a free product it is worth getting but I would not have paid much if anything at all to get it had it not been free.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Te K. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2012 19:09:25
A fantastic collection of jobs and professions in a fantasy setting. I will definitely use this product in the future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2012 19:13:46
Spelling and overall editing are atrocious but you get what you pay for. Even so, I'm mentioning it here (even though most of the other reviewers also mentioned it) because it really, really made me think twice before I bought any other 101-X products. (I don't remember, but I think there was a sale that convinced me to give them a shot. Point being: I'd have willingly paid a dollar more for the other product had the free version been up to professional standards.

I also question the organization. Alphabetical is not necessarily the most intuitive or useful reference. If you re-do it, I'd suggest at least considering grouping them by socio-economic level Peasants, Skilled Tradesmen, Academic/Educated, Aristocracy&Retinue. Maybe? I dunno. It just seems like if I'm in a poor town (or poor side of town), I'm more likely to run into peasant-types like Builders and Butchers and more likely to encounter Blacksmiths and Brewers in a middle-class area.

Final suggestion: Use a different font, one legible at a smaller size. You get points for “authenticity” but it's a challenging typeface to scan and the text isn't really written with block reading in mind. Likewise,
there's not enough content to justify printing out 10 pages, but if f I read through it on-screen, I have to do a lot of unnecessary scrolling.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hi, sorry for delay in replying, but all good feedback there - I will be going through the older items and updating them at some point, probably early in the new year
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Zero C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2011 19:26:10
Just a list. I prefer to make up NPCs off the top of my head, based on where the PCs are and what they are up to.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Arnold M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2011 07:59:12
I was looking for something to help when in a creative slump..I found tons of ideas in this! Excellent material and ideas!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Thomas A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2011 10:48:27
Pros: A very useful little piece of work with some very clever hooks. You could build a good adventure out of some of them. A good hip-pocket reference for when the party decides that they just have to RP with the shopkeeper. For a freebie, it's everything I could ask for.
Cons: Some of the hooks are predictable. Editing and grammar are weak.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Ben H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2011 18:11:18
Was expecting something more generic, not pure medival. Maybe change title to 101 Medival/Fantasy Jobs & Professions

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Good idea - will do that when it's updated in the new year
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Bryan I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2011 08:33:25
A handy little memory aid for those times your mind goes blank (we’ve all had them - especially during character generation or when ad-libbing). True, it’s reasonably basic and nothing you couldn’t do yourself but then it is a time saver.

Does what it claims and it’s free. For a time pressured GM or one prone to needing aids to memory it’s a useful tool, but don’t expect it to rock your gaming world - that’s not the intent of the product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Billy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2011 14:15:26
Completely agree with Matthew Reynolds. There is no justification at all for this publication. It does nothing.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Brandon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2011 09:43:48
The list is very basic, and the profession "Dancer" is actually listed twice. Some more exotic professions would be nice, along with descriptions to those who do not know what a Haberdasher does. One of the old 2E D&D books had a really nice listing of professions that you don't hear of all the time and I was hoping that this would have something similar.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Steve A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2011 09:29:06
It is what it is. A list, just as it claims. It's really good if you're trying to populate a town or small city, and need something to fill in the area. As a GM, I find information overload and lack of time to be my worst development enemies. So a simple list to focus the ideas can be great. If at this point I can't develop something or figure out a plot hook, I need to go back to the other side of the screen. So thanks to the developers for a handy tool.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2011 18:17:16
Ok, I understand it is free. That's good. And I wasn't expecting much from a free product; maybe just a teaser that might make me consider paying a dollar or two for another list. However, what I got was well, underwhelming. It's literally just a list of professions. Not unusual professions. Not fantastic professions. Just... professions. The blurb had said that they were meant to spark creativity and that they could be used as the basis of a shop or store. I was expecting therefore that there was perhaps a sentence associated with each profession perhaps giving some creative idea for a problem associated with each profession that might need solving, or that perhaps they had a sentence or two about a NPC or shop associated with the profession. In short, I wasn't expecting that I was to be the one who provided 100% of the creativity. There isn't anything creative about this list, and its actually much overblown graphicly for what it is to the point that simple as it is, it would be far more useful if it was far more simple.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Ennead Games
Ennead Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (184)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate