DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition $3.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 7
3 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Click to view
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2012 09:56:37
Not going to write a long review.
Would defeat purpose of this elegant game.
Want to know lots about Bean? Read other reviews. Game is almost shorter than reviews.
Quick to get into, simple to run and play, abke to concentrate on role play.
Only one thing to say about Jeff's art and his game:

MORE!

-------Herbie Popnecker

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2012 13:57:48
This is one of my favorite RPG discoveries of the last several years. Refreshingly simple, flexible, and yet it all feels rock-solid and complete. The writing style and the presentation are charming and informative, and the whole experience of even just reading the rules is downright fun. I am officially a convert to the way of the Bean!, and anyone who still thinks that a good RPG can be still be fun should buy this game without hesitation.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Kev W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2011 11:53:03
This is a fantastic product and well worth the price, to be honest I would have happily paid more. Bean! is one of the best new RPG's I've seen for a long time. It's easy to learn, easy to play, great for kids and adults. I've not only had the regular magic the gathering group meetup playing this recently but also my children.

My son is only 5 and he loved drawing a picture of his Bean! character (he didn't look very Bean! like but he had fun). As it states in the rules the system is so simple it gives gives the reader no difficulty in being able to change it from a fantasy setting to - for example a sci-fi or even horror. nd this takes no time at all. And if you do use beans the kids love this. There are no guidelines for other settings and you are only given 3 fantasy archetypes and a few skills for these, but again the system is so simple it's easy to put something together and come up with some new skills.

The D2 system is just bliss and again is simple to understand and play. I'm not going to go into this as the price of the game alone is really a 'come and have a look'. Sometimes games this cheap leave you with a 'there is something missing' feeling, not Bean!. Buy it and play it, I'm keeping my fingers crossed there will be more Bean! products to buy soon. After I had read through the first time I thought, 'why is this so cheap'.

The inside is all black and white, with just the cover being in colour. The black and white artwork is quite simple and has that 'old school feel to it but does the job and I love the feel of reading through this and seeing the art it all comes together really nicely.

I've Bean!! playing since the first edition came out and this just improves on the 1st edition. I'm not going to go into any more detail, buy it, it's worth the price. Jeff has done a fantastic job here and I will look forward for what is to come. Bean! is rpg simplicity at it's very best, it wouldn't surprise me if this were picked up by a bigger publisher to be on the shelves in your local games shop in the next year or so. Fantastic!!!!!!!!

Cheers

Kev
(Trollhalla: Gevn)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2011 15:20:04
Wow. Great game. I see now what all the hype was about. Very simple but complete system useing a dice (bean?) pool. Who'd a thought d2 could be so interesting. The game presumes a Bean World were the fantasy tkes place among a world populated by sentient bean people, but it dosen't have to be. This game system can easily be made to fit any genre. The artwork is clever and the cover is great. The game is so simple to learn that ths game makes a great gateway to gaming for younger players. Whats realy nice is that its getting constant support. SOmething you don't usually fine in small, independent rpgs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2011 03:32:15
BEAN! The D2 RPG is a very simple and effective system which works best as an introductory system for young or new role players.

This being said there's no reason why you can't have a lot of fun with this game, especially in one shots or shorter games.

The basic mechanic involves you "rolling beans" which is an Attribute dice pool best represented by coins, marked beans or anything else that has two sides where one side is a success the other is not (although a bunch of D6's with odds and evens would be fine). Success are then compared against a difficulty number.

Skills are in anything you wish and allow you to reduce the difficulty of a task by one. Combat is as simple as comparing positives, certain equipment giving you extra beans to roll and the winner inflicts damage (after any armour) by subtracting the success of their opponent.

There is a good sample of equipment, spells and monsters and whilst there's no in-depth monster creator there really is no need, it's very simple to just file off the names of those already in the bestiary.

Whilst there is a very short solo adventure (think fighting fantasy) and group scenario to get you going there isn't any setting as such - other than it's set in "Bean Land" which is really only an excuse to put in the wonderfully silly and gentle artwork that seems to be excellently placed for its target audience (new or young gamers for the most part). However Bean! is aimed at fantasy more than anything but coming up with a generic game isn't difficult, especially when the rules are so simple.

Obviously not intended for long running gritty games BEAN! is none-the-less a delightfully simple and humourous set of rules that works much better than expected, allowing quick gaming for those days where you really don't want to spend much time on a game but want something fun and enjoyable for your players (young or old).

I would mention finally that the price is excellent, and because of it I end up purchasing the print version which is of excellent quality and great for passing around the gaming table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2011 15:49:55
I'm a huge Tunnels & Trolls fan, so the Bean system works for me, especially since I figured out it can be played with M&Ms! I like the new passages on custom builds and vehicle combat, but Bean still lacks the "pick a Monster Rating and go" aspect of classic T&T. I like the option of that kind of simplicity.because it allows for the details to come in the roleplaying, and for even the most schedule-challenged GMs to make of the weirdest creatures they can think of on the fly.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2011 21:17:59
This second edition is the first edition with a bunch of extras thrown in. So before I get into my 2nd edition specific stuff, here's my review of first edition (which still applies to this edition):

///////////////////////////////////

" Had my first game of this just a couple days ago. Niiiiice.

Very simple, very easy. The gameplay is *extremely* smooth with a heavy focus on story and no focus on rules, as the rules seem so natural that they just 'happen' and are very easy to remember.

When playing, you're working with very small numbers - 4 and under. That's stats, that's the 'beans' (dice), hit points, etc, etc. As odd as this sounds, it *works* and doesn't feel at all unnatural.

Saving rolls/contests/whatever you prefer to call them, are again, so simple - both for the GM to decide upon, and for the player to understand and act upon.

Again, I come back to the word "natural". Once you start playing, it all just works so naturally. And again, it *works*.

For only $2, you've got to give it a try. Seriously.

Oh....and the artwork. Just look at the cover. That pretty much describes it. Gotta love it. :) "

///////////////////////////////////

Ok, and now on to the 2nd edition specific review:

1st edition was $2. This edition is $3. And yet, it's had a *lot* of stuff thrown into it. All the 1st edition stuff works great as-is, and none of the new stuff is 'mandatory' to use, but dang you get a lot. Here's a list:

Health points - If you're one of those who don't think that being hurt in combat should make you less physically able to do things, then use these Health points. These allow you to track damage without having to modify your 'Body' attribute. I prefer using the Body attribute, but I can see how this allows the game to fit into the preconceived rpg concept that most people have, coming to this game from other games.

Skills, skill bonus - You can now have a skill as narrow or broad as you'd like, and can use the bonuses from the skill to aid you in feats that employ your skill.

Non Lethal combat - stun or knock out your opponent without killing them off

Mounted & Ship to ship combat - Yar! Avast ye pirate types! Cool addition. I used the mounted combat recently while flying on a dragon. Awesome. :)

Custom archetypes - warrior, rogue, and wizard not enough for you? Branch out!

More spells - nuff ced

Beastiary - the number of beasts is more than doubled!

Updated character sheets - same size but 3 pages (by folding and cutting)

9 pre-made NPCs

More artwork. And truly, the artwork itself is worth more than the extra dollar paid. I love this guy's artwork.

I don't know what else I could say. The value of what you get far outweighs the measly extra dollar between the editions. And the value and gameplay of the entire game for $3 far outweighs the value we got for $15 back in the early 80's.

Get it. You won't be sorry.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by scott m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2011 11:06:19
It's not often that a game knocks my socks off. After reading through BEAN! and playing a couple of solo modules I'm convinced that my socks are not only off, they are somewhere in the next area code. The thing is, it shouldn't even be this good. The mechanics require tossing coins or beans or anything with two sides and there are three character types to choose from, which is severely limited. But the game's author and artist Jeff Freels has made it so easy to customise that complaining about the lack of archetypes is basically just admitting that you have no imagination.

In essence, Freels has mashed Tunnels & Trolls (he's a veteran T&T artist, don't you know?) and modern 'dice pool' games into a streamlined tabletop gem. It's almost Risus simple, and it works a treat.

Your character can be one of three fantasy archetypes: Wizard, Warrior and Rogue. Unlike Tunnels & Trolls, the Rogue is more of a thief like in Dungeons and Dragons than a rookie magic-user. You fill three stats with 9 'beans': Body, Mind and Spirit; getting an extra bean in your chosen archetypes prominent attribute. Your hit points are equal to your Body and Defence begins at zero. You then get as many skills as your main attribute (which you can make up) that will help lower the difficulty level in certain situations. That's pretty much character creation, aside from rolling for copper pieces and buying whatever you can from the equipment list.

Mechanics are a simpler than simple Simon's simple son. In combat each combatant chucks their beans simultaneously according to their Body + weapons and the one with the highest number scores hits equal to the difference of the rolls. It's very Tunnels and Trolls, yet it's simpler and chucking beans around is worryingly addictive. Contested rolls work the same, each participant rolling on an attribute to see who wins. Challenge rolls are also used, where the player has to roll a set number of successes depending on the difficulty of a task.

The second edition made a few changes to the first, but not many. Firstly the book is more streamlined, making it easier to read. There are hower a couple of formatting issues that need to be addressed, but otherwise it's fine. The main addition to the book is the inclusion of mounted and vehicle combat, which is intuitively simple. There are also a few more creatures and spells included in the new edition, but otherwise it doesn't overhaul any rules.

There isn't a setting for BEAN! although Jeff does mention that even though it's a fantasy world there are portals that spew out anything a la Rifts. So it's completely possible that one moment you could be killing Gobleans (yup) and the next you're in a motorcycle chase with a troll carrying an uzi. Because of this you can set BEAN! in any genre, substituting archetype names for something more appropriate and by jove it'll work.

Jeff includes a short solo adventure at the back of the book to introduce you to the rules. It pretty easy, but you'll want to run all the archetypes through to test them out and go different routes through the story. With Ken St Andre's Death Phrogg Attack solo, it looks like BEAN! is going to be a great source of solitaire roleplaying fun.

BEAN! is a silly game, so those looking for a serious game probably won't want to pick this up, although it's so rules-lite that it could be easily adapted into a gritty game. It's also incredibly cheap, so there's no real excuse not to buy it, even if it's just to take a look at the rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates