DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Créer un Compte
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Connexion
 
 Mot de passe oublié?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Suivez Vos Préférés!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par ce client:
Wicked Fantasy: Uvandir: The Pride of Craftsmen
Editeur: John Wick Presents
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 07/02/2013 19:21:17
Based on an article in Kobold Quarterly, this takes dwarf cliches up to eleven and creates a species both familiar and alien: creatures born from the earth itself, obsessed with perfection, for whom a punch to the jaw is more eloquent than words. This supplement explores the culture, language, and psychology of this take on dwarves.

Others have complained about unbalanced feats in the WF series. I can't comment on how well or poorly the Pathfinder stats work, since I don't use Pathfinder. Also, if you're fine with plain old D&D/Pathfinder/every-other-FRP dwarves this supplement might not be for you. If, however, you want surly, drunken, perfectionist dwarves with hidden depths and an inhuman mindset, pick up this supplement.

Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Wicked Fantasy: Uvandir: The Pride of Craftsmen
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

AOTA-TTF - Dark Urth Heiroglyphic system
Editeur: V Shane
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 01/04/2013 01:39:51
Someone considering this font should know it doesn't work in modern versions of Windows and Word, at least for me.

I first saw this several years ago, and with the discounted price I thought I'd try it (and two other VShane fonts). On Windows 7 and Microsoft Word the Dark Urth hieroglyphics just plain don't show up; I get the regular alphanumeric values instead. I tried WordPad with the same result. I even tried "Insert Symbol", which renders the symbol in the grid ... but on the page all I get is "1" "2" "A" etc.

Curiously, the other two fonts I bought -- Draconic and Wizard Kanji -- worked fine, although Draconic is a little light. It's just Dark Urth that doesn't work. I'll give it a shot on my old MacBook, just for completeness's sake, but I'm not hopeful.

The publisher's web site goes to a blog, which refers to a Facebook page, which as far as I can tell has no support for this font at all. This font, and maybe all of these fonts, might be abandonware.

Caveat emptor, guys.

Classement:
[1 sur 5 étoiles!]
AOTA-TTF - Dark Urth Heiroglyphic system
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

R�ponse Editeur:
Hi Frank, I'll look into that and see if I can upgrade them. Yeah things have changed a lot in the computer world since I made those. I might just convert them to a collection of EPS and sell them that way. Get a hold of me and see what I can do for you. Good you posted this,I think its more " unaware " than "abandonware" :) So I will disable Dark Urth and see what gives. I just upgraded myself to Win8 so I'll check into that. ~ VShane
Nope, works jsut fine. I have Win 8, brand new ASUS computer and installed it just fine. Might be an issue with how your installing it. In this case I let Windows install it by double clicking on it. If you check the FaceBook blog you can see the font image I posted to confirm it. ht*tps:*//ww*w.*facebook*.com/pages/Artifacts-of-the-Arcane/236034786470778?ref=hl the stars ** are to be deleted for the full URL, copy paste in new tab and erase the stars. ~ VShane
Trauma
Editeur: Radical Approach
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 08/19/2011 09:39:23
Essentially Trauma is a medically correct and system-agnostic version of Arms Law's critical hit tables. Each chapter details all the things that can go wrong with a hit location (Head, Chest, Abdomen, Arm, Leg), with tables at the end for random results. Unlike Arms Law, these trauma results apply *after* combat; during combat, this supplement reasons it's faster and easier to use existing game systems and assume adrenaline hides immediate. It also describes what first-aid and medical techniques of the past, present, and near-future can ameliorate or repair the damage. If you're at all curious about what really happens to the human body when it's stabbed/sliced/bludgeoned/burned, or you think medical accuracy would enhance your game, buy this supplement.

Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Trauma
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Anachronistic Adventurers: The Enforcer
Editeur: Rogue Genius Games
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 08/10/2011 11:27:15
There's not much I can add to the other reviews. The Enforcer allows players to become a modern warrior trapped in a fantasy world, or some variation thereof. I hope SGG continues the series, e.g. a skill-based expert, a gadgeteer, a robot/cyborg, and/or an alien/mutant/psychic with unusual "racial" powers.

Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Anachronistic Adventurers: The Enforcer
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Living Toys and Harem Mages
Editeur: Skortched Urf' Studios
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 08/03/2011 23:00:59
This supplement is a mixed bag. Harem Mages, artist-wizards who depict their ideal woman/man and bring them to life, didn't do anything for me. I can't imagine any player taking this as a prestige class, and the whole idea seems, well, adolescent. Living Toys, "pseudo-constructs" brought to life through magic, shows far more range, from children's toys and tutors to living fencing dummies and, yes, animate sex toys. Not only can PC and NPC mages make toys with a few feats, Living Toys make interesting characters; they have racial traits based on their original purposes but room to grow beyond their masters' intent. The supplement ends with feats for mages and living toys alike, and a few mediocre magic items. If rules for Living Toys are worth $3.50 to you, or for that matter if Harem Mages sound interesting (despite my reaction), maybe you want to pick this up.

Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Living Toys and Harem Mages
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

The Flux
Editeur: John Wick Presents
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 01/31/2011 05:59:26
"The Flux" expresses a simple but elegant idea: player characters live multiple lives, in multiple worlds, under multiple RPG systems. As someone who owns far too many games I've never played, it's a brilliant narrative device to justify putting away D&D/Vampire/whatever for a while and trying something different.

Past worlds disappear and others take their place, and the "soul" of a character (namely the player) reincarnates into a similar character under the new rules. Those old character sheets, however, still serve a purpose in a brave new world. Old worlds may return, and old lives pick up where they left off ... or not. More intriguingly, player character has a chance to remember an old life well enough to borrow its abilities, but in doing so risks the wrath of the current world.

Unfortunately, the GM may risk the wrath of his players, if (as the author suggests) he surprises them with a brand new world and brand new rules. As cool as the Flux is (as a concept), GMs need to know their players well enough, or need to have cowed them enough, that they'll go along.

For 14 pages of content $5 is a tad overpriced. The contents, however, do get the old brain-meats working.

Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
The Flux
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Ships of the Black Desert: The Paladin Spaceplane
Editeur: Blue Max Studios
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 10/27/2010 00:50:21
This ship projects space shuttle technology a few decades into the future, using existing science. The text could use spell-checking and cleaner formatting, but otherwise it's a great tool for someone running a near-future, hard science fiction game.

Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Ships of the Black Desert: The Paladin Spaceplane
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Ships of The Black Desert: Heinlein Multi-purpose Rocket
Editeur: Blue Max Studios
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 10/27/2010 00:35:58
This map is a boon for anyone running a near-future or hard-science SF game. Gravity comes solely from the rocket's acceleration, and the placement of airlocks, decks, compartments, and control stations follows from a consistent set of assumptions. The text, on the other hand, badly needs spell-checks and a clearer layout. (From communications with the author, he will address these issues in an update.)

It's a promising start for Blue Max Studios.

Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Ships of The Black Desert: Heinlein Multi-purpose Rocket
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Basic Roleplaying
Editeur: Chaosium
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 07/20/2010 01:34:31
I'm not sure why the previous reviewer confused this product with the BRP Quickstart, but this product *does* contain 400+ pages of role-playing goodness. This book is a solid foundation for a DIY game, in any genre: fantasy, science-fiction, horror, historical, post-apocalyptic, or mashups yet to be devised.

The core system will be familiar to players of RuneQuest, Stormbringer, Call of Cthulhu, and nearly every other game Chaosium ever printed. However, the author has included a plethora of optional and variant rules culled from BRP's rich history, from hit locations and strike ranks to EDU and Sanity from Call of Cthulhu, to skill category bonuses and skills over 100%. (There's even a handy checklist of all optional rules for GMs to provide players.) On the paranormal side, the book presents two different magic systems ("magic" from Magic World and "sorcery" from Stormbringer), mutations, psychic powers, and super powers, Allegiance, and creatures from prehistory, mythology, and possible futures. Anyone who wants to emulate a specific game, e.g. Call of Cthulhu, can.

Granted, the book is a little weak on science-fiction, but SF is such a wide field that no reasonable-sized book can encompass them all and other genres too. Likewise, it doesn't contain every creature ever made, but it has common ones and enough examples to extrapolate from. Also, don't expect a detailed treatment of every genre and historical period ... but the GM section includes a rundown of broad historical periods. There's only so much that can fit into 400 pages, after all.

For a straightforward campaign in nearly any genre, this book is all you need. GMs with more specific or outre ideas might need to do a little work ... assuming they can't borrow from previous Chaosium RPGs, Mongoose's RuneQuest, or fanzines and websites, which use practically the same system.

Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Basic Roleplaying
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Rites of the Dragon
Editeur: White Wolf
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 11/19/2009 02:36:08
Rites of the Dragon is written as Dracula's own journals, written over several centuries. They tell of his death as a human, his "rebirth" as a vampire by the hand of God, and his ongoing attempts at self-improvement which became the Coils of the Dragon. It ends with a charter for the Ordo Dracul, defining the roles and rules of the organization.

After reading The Testament of Longinus, I found this book a little disappointing. Unlike that book, this one is written as a straightforward first person narrative, albeit reflecting Dracula's shifting priorities and philosophies. The way the three "brides" of Dracula parallel the original three coils is a little too pat.

Each page contains no more than a few paragraphs, dominated by artwork of varying quality. I don't get the sense of a document new members of Order Dracul might receive. The spartan style of The Testament of Longinus, or a reproduction of a hand-written manuscript with varying styles, might have helped.

No doubt, Rites of the Dragon helps to flesh out the Ordo Dracul, and gives players insight into its founder and its philosophical underpinnings, but its execution left me cold.

Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Rites of the Dragon
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

The Testament of Longinus
Editeur: White Wolf
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 11/18/2009 22:05:26
This was an unexpected pleasure.

The Testament of Longinus evokes memories of religious texts I've read (by choice or not). There's That One Really Boring Book, and That Book Written On Psychedelic Mushrooms. The text repeats itself, contradicts itself, and changes tense and person for a chapter before reverting back ... not unlike many real texts.

Another nice touch is the use of footnotes by the supposed editors and translators. Not only do the footnotes add authenticity, the editors argue different interpretations IN THE FOOTNOTES, almost as if speaking to each other. Appendices by each elaborate his or her respective approach: one points out inaccuracies and contradictions as if to deconstruct it, another touts his theory of up to eight different authors, and a third defends his faith against the arguments of the other two.

This book adds depth to the Lancea Sanctum, provides a prop for a V:tM game when printed, AND is an amusing, if dark and morbid, read.

Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
The Testament of Longinus
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Create a Religion
Editeur: M.A.R Barker's World of Tekumel
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 09/23/2006 06:07:04
Twenty-five years ago Professor Barker criticized the typical D&D handling of gods and religion, a criticism that is still valid today. Beyond that, though, he describes how real-world religions arise and evolve (using Egypt as one example), and how GMs can make more "realistic" religions for their games. His essay meanders a bit, with some typos and one malformed sentence (noted by the editors), but otherwise is a fascinating and enlightening look at the art of world-building.

Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Create a Religion
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Five Classic Fantasy Monsters (Runequest)
Editeur: Seraphim Guard
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 09/23/2006 00:00:00
Pretty much what it says: D&D goblinoids ported to RuneQuest.


LIKED: Short, to the point, cheap.

DISLIKED: In a way I would have liked to have seen one or more alternate takes on the standard D&D species. Maybe not volumes of cultural background, more like different ways of using goblinoids (e.g. Eberron civilized goblins, or disciplined Midnight orcs)

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Five Classic Fantasy Monsters (Runequest)
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Creedbook - The Book of the Sun
Editeur: Mad Kaiser Games
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 09/23/2006 00:00:00
At last a fully-developed religion, instead of brief blurbs. The _Book of the Sun_ details a pseudo-Middle-Eastern religion, detailing not only the creed of the god but the culture surrounding his followers: birth, marriage, daily life, crime and punishment, religious and military structure. I look forward to other Creedbooks, hopefully with different real-world models (e.g. Eastern mysticism, nomadic shamanism, Celtic, Norse, African, Oceanic ...)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Creedbook - The Book of the Sun
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Editeur: Arion Games
par Frank M. [Acheteur vérifié]
Date Ajoutée: 09/23/2006 00:00:00
Possibly my favorite set; a mix of characters that could fit anywhere from near-future to space opera.


LIKED: Plenty of civilians that could fit into a near-future campaign.

DISLIKED: A few too many aliens for me, but YMMV.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Sci-Fi Civilians Set
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 1 de 15 (sur 15 critiques) Pages de Résultats:  1 
Retour
You must be logged in to rate this
 Panier
0 article
 Info Editeur
Rogue Genius Games
Rogue Genius Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Autres produits (257)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate