DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
DCS
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Stuperpowers Deluxe!
Publisher: Evil Twin Comics
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2010 23:08:01
Stuperpowers is a spoofish rule system for comic book hero roleplaying. Oddly enough, there are a lot of unique ideas in Stuperpowers, which makes it worth the money you pay for it.
However, it is also filled with mature subjects and corse language and themes. While it looks like it would be a good game to introduce to kids, it is not: it is for mature reading audiences only. I think this is a shame, because otherwise it would have been a pretty good game for potential new gamers, especially the younger ones.

INNOVATIVE CONCEPTS Good
SIMPLE TO PLAY Yes, extremely
SUBJECT MATTER Bad
STORY AND CONCEPT Good
INTERESTING GAME TO PLAY Yes

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stuperpowers Deluxe!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Open Core Quick
Publisher: Seraphim Guard
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2010 19:51:32
Open Core Quick is a "rules-light" system that seems to be based on Open Core. You get the bare-basics of the system, with an extensive list of skills, abilities, and traits for character creation.

Although it’s a complete game (with this edition), you won't feel that you have the complete game, unless you get the Open Core Rules also. This seems to be the “bare bones” of what Open Core has to offer, but it definitely works as it is.
(I have yet to buy the Open Core rules so far - March 2010 - but, I have a feeling that OCQ is the "appetizer", while Open Core is the "main course".

It is a multi-genre, versatile, cinematic game system; it even has a scale function - something that seems to be lacking with most cinematic story RPGs. While most story RPGs imbed the scale with the skills and traits (ie: if you have Flame Power, you can fry the entire group of minions), OCQ scales the traits with a numerical function - and it seems to work well for what it is.

The text is easy to read and straight-forward, but there are some spelling errors and information inconsistencies. You may need to examine your copy closely and make some necessary, yet simple corrections to the information. (For example, there are 6 derived scores, not 5 derived scores.)
I don’t mind a few errors here and there, but if you are fussy about perfection, then this game book may get on your nerves somewhat.

The art is simple and sketchy - and, for the price, that’s fine. Some of the art is pretty good, some seems a little rushed or sub-standard, but you get what you pay for.
The cover is pretty good, especially the drawn figures.

Some things I would have liked to see is a little more “meat” in the text, some genre specific rules, or other information to help flesh out the game. Not a big problem, since I like to play “standard games with a twist” - for example, fantasy genre with a twist of cartoony action. OCG can handle that type of thing.

Since this is the “quick” version, everything in the book is needed to play. There is no waste of space.
All things considered, it is a good system, solid and predictable. Actually, it copies some ideas I have been using for years, but that’s OK - I am glad to see good concepts in simple games.

All in all, worth the money you pay for it. If you like to build robust rules from framework systems, you will like this game. If you are looking for a heavy, crunchy game, then you may want to skip OCQ and get Open Core instead. (I liked the cover, so even if I have to get Open Core later, I think I made a good purchase.)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Open Core Quick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bust: Explosive Roleplaying
Publisher: Cold Blooded Games
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2010 02:04:44
The name says it all: it's a BUST. (I would leave it at that, but I have to type 50 characters for DTRPG to list my review.)

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Bust: Explosive Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

POW! Core Rules
Publisher: aethereal FORGE
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2010 02:02:57
POW core rules / March 2010: OVERVIEW -- A workable system with some great ideas. The art is pretty good for the price, and there are some surprises and concepts worth having. It has a serious flaw: no support for expansion. If you like to tweak things and create your own worlds, this system would work OK for you. It's hard to see how it will play, without a sample of how to create a game. This is where it lacks. There are some mentioned game world books, but Ican't seem to easily find them, plus the subject worlds are unique in nature. POW needs a standard world to compare itself to other game systems. For the price, it is definately worth it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
POW! Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QAGS Second Edition
Publisher: Hex Games
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2009 20:43:08
QAGS (kwags) is likable and easy to learn. The cartoony artwork fits the friendly style of the text; it's as if one of your buddys is explaining the game to you, rather than reading dry text.

The downside of this product is the language. The warning is for "mature" readers only, as if people who think profanity is unnecessary are "immature". On the contrary, I cannot introduce this game to kids because the game has curse words in the text.

This is a shame, because otherwise this would be a good introductory game for beginners.

RATINGS: x out of 5

GAME PLAY: 4
BOOK LAYOUT: 4
CONTENT: 1 / without curse words? 5

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
QAGS Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bones: Customizable Dice RPG
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2009 20:14:58
Bones is a great concept that is either under-developed as a story, or it is crushed under the weight of it's own concept. Now, the concept of making the dice themselves your character "sheet" is a novel approach, and that keeps the game from being a "1". The rules are tedious at times, but they are easily understood. That makes the game better than a 2 out of 5. However, that's where it ends. Maybe this is a good time to say, that if you really like the idea of dice characters and you are REALLY creative with your RPGs, then this game would deserve a 4 or a 5. Unfortunately, I like this game (dice: good, rules: basic yet tedious, art: OK) and that's why I am giving it the rating it gets here. I just don't have time to "upgrade" it with my own style of rules and mechanics. If you do, then for the price at under $5, it is a good buy. If you enjoy other games, then this game may not be a good choice for you. It needs tender love and care; if you have that to give, it is an OK game to get. Your call.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Bones: Customizable Dice RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. I've been meaning to update and simplify Bones since we took over publishing, but more pressing projects always keep me busy. Feel free to post your suggestions to the Precis Intermedia message boards or send us an email (see our website for contact info). Thanks again.
Michael T. Desing's Army Ants RPG Third Edition
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2009 20:07:58
Sometimes, there are 2 ways to look at games like MTD's Army Ants. One way is that the CONCEPT is an interesting and unique take on role-playing, pitting insects versus other insects (or aliens or robots or whatever). I really am impressed with the concept of this game, and that's what I bought it for. The game system is OK; nothing you haven't seen before and some math is necessary, though nothing an 8th grader can't handle. It is a detailed system; I think the weapons and some of the ranks are too detailed, but that is according to my tastes (I enjoy a more-ambiguous game system). However, if you are either new to RPGs or you are an experienced Game Master (or you have been playing RPGs a long time) - you will enjoy this game when you play it, if you can really grasp it's concept and embrace it's system of play. For the price, this is a top-notch game - get the supplements, too. All in all, a good game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Michael T. Desing's Army Ants RPG Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dying Lights
Publisher: GhazPORK Industrial
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2009 07:21:24
If you like to read, and you REALLY like space battling, such as Twilight Imperium, then MAYBE get this.
If you have TE or Starcraft Board game, or the likes? Don't bother getting this download. Save your money.

Be warned: the manual is not easy to read; you will have to sit down and concentrate on it. The layout of the manual is terrible, compared to the cards, which are OK at best. The manual is not a big manual, but it is not inspired nor does it have a nice layout. I was not really happy after I bought this game.

It's a shame, because the Icon showing the game on the website makes the game look 10x better than what you actually get. It made me not want to play the game, so I don't really even know if it is a good one to play ... I like things to look nice, because it makes you believe you are playing a good game, even if you are not. This includes the rulebook; I judge everything when I buy RPGs. This is important to consider, because if you get past the look of the materials, this may be a good game to play.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dying Lights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Color System (Core Rules)
Publisher: Seraphim Guard
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2009 07:07:24
Pretty much a rehash of the classic Marvel Superheroes Basic Adventure game from TSR. For the price, and if you still want to play Marvel, then this is a good download. Art and writing are functional, and the game design speaks for itself, if you know how to play Marvel SH.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Four Color System (Core Rules)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faery's Tale Deluxe
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2009 07:02:16
Simply put: this game is a solid, standard system role-playing game, easy to play for kids and detailed enough to play for adults. The rulebook's layout is functional, entertaining, and pleasing to the eye. The writing style is easy to read, straightforward, and informative. If you have played RPGs before, then this book is a piece of cake to understand; if you are new to RPGs, this book is ideal for introducing yourself to HOW an RPG should be designed. This is important to understand about Faery's Tale Deluxe, because the subject matter is, after all, faeries (not a great subject matter for the majority of RPG players).

However, even if you are not "fantasy-oriented" as a game player, and even if you are looking for a more-mature game to play, do not pass up this game. For the price, it is a definate bargain, if you want a simple system to use for other game genres. I have designed a few personal ones for myself, based on the system of play that Faery's Tale delivers. (Admittedly, I even like playing the game with the faeries, which is odd because I usually like to play comic heroes and sci-fi generes).

It is available as a paper-back book for a few dollars more, and I bought the paper-back after I got the PDF. A good buy PDF at $10, if you consider the system as workable for all your other games, and if you like to reverse engineer systems for playing other genres. Otherwise, it is only a good buy if you are new to RPGs or you want your wife and daughter to play any kind of RPG.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Faery's Tale Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 70 (of 70 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates