DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook $1.00
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 4
9 4
2 2
2 0
0 0
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to view
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2013 15:24:11
Price is exatly right for amount you get. This minimalist roleplaying game gives you everything you really need to start building your own weird west adventures. Propably the best thing I have bought for a single dollar.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/03/2011 23:06:48
(originally posted at TenkarsTavern.com)

So, what can I tell you about Weird West? It's amazingly complete for 8 pages - tho if you take off the cover and the fighting chart at the back it's 6 pages. 6 amazingly complete pages. Pages that include character generation, stats, skills, professions, spells, combat mods, a weapon list, task resolution... phew!

Stuart squeezes so much into so little. Heck, if I go into much more detail I'll be giving the thing away for free. Get your own copy. It's just a buck.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by PAMPA P. A. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2011 05:38:30
Good value for the money, but if you like to tinker with systems you could probably do the same in one afternoon...

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Dave K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2011 21:57:55
The ”Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook” typifies truth in advertising. This delightfully-compact, rules-light system provides players and storytellers with enough basic standardization to play a hearty and imaginative game. The dice required are also readily available by most hobbyists and kids. The possible characters created leaves much to player drive and story-lines. Nobody needs to fill classic roles like a spell-caster, or fight, or lock-pick. Similarly, the adventure can be free-flowing to match zany or serious play. For the price of a dollar, and a regular blog posted by the game designer, this game should be on everyone’s shelf or iPad.

For play-testing purposes, my friends and I made characters for an adventure. In short summary, we had a minotaur sheriff who had a nasty penchant for cattle rustlers, an android from the future sent to the wild west time line to uncover human migration patterns and gold veins, a shovel-wielding monk who used his tool as a prop while fighting, and a barmaid/prostitute who had enigmatic magical persuasion powers. The group successfully uncovered a charlatan’s invisibility tonic than made cattle shrink rather than disappear. While touted as safe insurance against thieves, the chemist quietly made off with cattle which he later restored to normal size. Combats went quickly, and actions were made using the known modifiers. The songbird needed few magical spells, and learned more on her enchantment abilities than spell-casting, per se. Overall, the sober group had an enjoyable time with the rules, their characters, and would be willing to advance characters in the future. Again, this product is well worth the $1.00 investment as advertised!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2011 18:03:25
The rules are incredibly stripped down. Weird West gives you the barest system imaginable, and that's a great thing--for experienced gamers. People new to RPGs might need some guidance to run these rules, the book assumes you understand enough about game systems to fill in the blanks that have been left out. That being said, this is brilliant. This system will run like a bat out of hell during play, and that is ultimately the most desirable quality of any system of rules. Granted, that's just my opinion, but this game is not going to be slowed by a lot of debate over an obscure rule or a long search through a heavy tome to settle a question. If the bare rules don't give you an answer, make it up.
I like it a lot. I had the old Boot Hill system back in the 1980s, and this is better. You could very easily run a straight Western game just by omitting the fantastic elements and substituting what you want.

It's worth a dollar, go ahead and spend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Joseph P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2011 14:52:45
One of the better simple systems I have encountered. Quick characters and quick play. I would have preferred slightly more on skills and a few example non-player characters, but for $1, who is complaining? I am waiting for the Weird West expansion sets! Bravo!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2011 17:32:59
It's very stripped down, just presents an idea (with inconsistent spelling) of a very simple, easy to learn system (like I've seen board games with more complex rules than this). It also seems sort of rushed, as there aren't many rules at all for different situations, and the "armor" section discusses heavy plate mail and chainmail--not often something you see in wild west or weird west games--and that is a little confusing, since there is not enough substance in the book to really justify why you'd want heavy plate mail in a western setting.

There are four classes: Adventurer, Fighter, Gifted, and Magician, except it does not explain at any point what any of those imply. Of course Fighter and Magician are obvious enough, but besides that you just have to sort of glean what they might entail by how they level. Adventurers are ok at fighting and skills, Gifted people are ok with just about everything; Fighters and Magicians are great at fighting, and magic, respectively. It introduces how to roll up Stamina points, but doesn't say what Stamina points are for, except that when you lose all your Stamina points, you are knocked unconscious. Spells and Gifts, it says, can also affect regaining Stamina points, but does not have any indication of what Spells and Gifts are. Obviously there is a lot of additional work a Game Master needs to do in order to make this a serviceable game, and the rules as written are more or less just a suggestion of an idea, rather than a fully-fleshed-out idea themselves.

But for a dollar? Why not. The rules may be just enough to get the creative juices flowing, and there's just enough written in there to whip up an instant party game without too much additional work. However, there's even more lacking, and I'd very much like to see a "version 2" with just a couple more pages of explanation.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Cody C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2011 08:46:59
One of my favorite subgenres of roleplaying games is the "Weird West" subgenre. Something about the idea of having a game set in the Wild West, but having magic-users and monsters running around really appeals to me. so, I shouldn't have to explain my reasoning for picking up the Weird West Roleplaying Game from Robertson Games.

The first thing you will notice is that the PDF for Weird West is very slim, presenting only the system and is strait to the point. You won't be getting a premade setting with this book, just the rules. While some would see this a problem, I really don't. I actually kind of like it because it allows for the GM to drop in whatever setting they want and allows both the GM and the players to better grasp the rules.

Characters in Weird West have 4 attributes that define their natural abilities. The four attributes are Fighting, Grit, Magic, and Skill. The players allocate 4 points between their attributes to create their character, with at least one point in Grit. I rather like this because I like some simplicity in some of my roleplaying games.

After that, a player than chooses a "path", which is somewhat like a class. the paths are Adventurer, Gifted, Fighter, and Magician. Each path allows a player to advance one or two of their attributes (like the Adventurer advancing Fighting and Skill every 2 levels). Again, I rather like the simplicity presented in the paths with more of a focus on roleplaying over mechanics.

Characters also have a number of magic spells and weird abilities. Examples of some of them are Electromancy, Fastest Gun in the West, and Shaolin Monk. There aren't a lot of weird abilities presented, but it should be rather easy for a GM to create some more to fit his specific campaign setting.

The game uses two different mechanics for combat and task resolution. In combat, you roll a d20 and consult a chart to see if you hit or miss. For task resolution, you use a d6 and try to beat a challenge rating set by the GM. While the mechanics aren't that complicated, I wonder why combat and task resolution couldn't have a similar mechanic instead of two different ones. This seems to add a bit of unnecessary complexity to an otherwise rules-light game.

While I'm not a fan of the two different mechanics for combat and task resolution, I like the the rest of the game. Would this rival a game like Deadlands? Not really, but it's still a nice little game. Also, since it is only costs $1 at Drive Thru RPG. Because of how cheap it is, I would recommend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/05/2011 18:20:28
A tiny rulebook. Wonderfully simple and succinct. Uses poly dice.
The setting implies Wild West meets lord knows what (Plate mail is listed?!) - could easily be used for all sorts of pulp settings. I'm suddenly thinking of Space 1889, steampunk, Rifts Cthulhu. With rules this simple, the gates of the imagination are bust wide open for some serious role-playing, or alternatively a string of fast play encounters?

I suspect the author may have something more planned, this feels like a "taster". Well worth the dollar - a shiny silver dollar. The potential is huge. (Ignore this comment if the Robertson Games range is well stocked when you read this)

Nice touch: printable micro-book with instructions. Reminds me of novelty small boxed Steve Jackson games from the late 80s.

Cool cover as well. ;) Go, on. You know you're curious. ;)

Billiam B.
(Purchased copy)
Adventures & Shopping http://bit.ly/rpgblog

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by joe s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2011 03:39:39
Summary: A fist full of rules

Observations: Now I have to confess. I love the idea of cross-over games, and the Wild West, itself being a cross-over of Japanese samurai and American rugged individualism, is always a good source for a mash up. I’ve set explosive kung fu games in the Wild West, zombies in the Wild West, steam-punk in the Wild West, and the list goes on!

So you can imagine my excitement to see this product. A weird, messed up Wild West game. For a dollar? I jumped on it like a hungry cowpoke on a plate of beans.

What I got for my dollar was not what I was expecting, but certainly what I deserved.

Weird West is a slimmed down rule set – just eight pages in total, plus files to print and fold up a tiny ‘pocket book’ of the game. At first I said to myself, “What the darnation is this?” But on a closer inspection, its rules – while ultra light – make good sense and I suspect will keep a game running quickly. This is a game to share with friends and beer. Or whiskey. Or beer and whiskey. It’s one of those fly by the seat of your pants games that can be awesome fun with the right buddies. It certainly ain’t no Dead Lands picnic, but it’ll do the job, thank you partner.

What I hope to see now is some more ideas for world settings. Let’s have some detailed descriptions of mechanized monsters, aliens, wooden Indian clockwork cyborgs, elder ones, dinosaurs, etc. And for that I’d be happy to pay another dollar. Maybe two.

Joe Sweeney, Storyweaver

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates