DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Some Corner of a Foreign Field
Publisher: Morningstar Productions
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:23:28
£1.20 seemed too good to be true for a set of rules; so I gave them a try.
The rules are only 2 pages (yes, 2 pages); and the army list is 9 pages.
There is also a faq/walkthrough for players to get an idea of how the game plays.

It uses a D20 (no, it's not D&D type/rules), so to speak.
There are rules for spotting your target(s), Hand-to-Hand combat, morale, etc.
The army list has a squad sheet for filling in.
The only thing missing is vehicles.
There is some off table support (snipers, artillery, helicopter, etc).

It's actually quite good; and the price is very good; much better priced than Skirmish Sangin (Radio Dishdash: £7.50 PDF, £25 book).
Some light vehicles might be interesting to see (jeeps, technicals, etc).
Well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Some Corner of a Foreign Field
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fireteam to Fireforce
Publisher: Simon Yang
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:01:59
£7.77 for 32 pages: front cover & introduction, 6 pages of scenarios.
That leaves about 24 pages for rules (Suppression, splitting fire, overwatch, etc).

There are 2 versions, which include a printer friendly version.

The price of £7.77 seems too much for 30-31 pages. Perhaps £3; £4 at the very most.
The mechanics seem quite good (using d4, d6, d8, d10 & d12).
The weapons/equipment is mostly USA/USSR; no British, European, etc.
There could have been more pages (British, European vehicles, weapons, etc).

4-5 stars would have been given for a 'fuller' product.

Fairly good rules, too pricey.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fireteam to Fireforce
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OpenQuest 2 Deluxe
Publisher: D101 Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2014 13:51:58
OpenQuest 2 (OQ2) seems rather familiar to me.
It reminds me of the Age of Shadow (AoS) RPG.

They both use the OpenQuest system, so OP2 shouldn't be too difficult to get into (for me anyway).

Charts in OQ2 are the same as AoS (combat modifiers, etc).

ArtworK: ok; not too bad.
Seems ok for the price since it's now below the £10 price.

Worth a try. Give it a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OpenQuest 2 Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breachworld RPG Kickstarter Preview
Publisher: Jason Richards Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2014 07:47:59
77 pages, of which 71 (approximately) are the main PDF.
Page 39-43 give you the 'story/theme' of the RPG, which seem rather good.

I've not fully read the Mini Six rules (Xena & Hercules, Star Wars, Azamar, Westward, etc) are the D6 RPGs I've mostly got into.

The Breachworld theme, mostly reminds me of 'Stargate' in reverse (instead of travelling out, species are travelling in & out so to speak).
I may be wrong, but just my observation.
Mysterious gate technology being planted all over the world; then everything goes haywire, making gateways to other worlds.

Artwork: some of it is good.
As a 'rough draught', it's not bad.
Well worth a look at.

Any D6 fans out there, I'd recommend it.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Breachworld RPG Kickstarter Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:48:15
At 258 pages, 252 are the content.
A pretty good scan, much better than Heavy Gear 3rd Player's Handbook.

A lot is covered in the PDF: Character & Mechanical Design, Advanced Rules, Open Gaming Rules Conversion, Appendixes, Game-mastering, etc.

Al looks pretty good., wish I had more time to look through section.
I like it.
All artwork is b&w (a fair bit of it from Heavy Gear - my favourite).

Not bad for £5.05.
Well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:28:59
I bought the Silhouette Core Deluxe edition some time ago, which wasn't too bad, scan wise.
This PDF, unfortunately, not so good.
The pages slant to the side, the scan quality is low.
Not a good scan at all.
I can see why they reduced the price.

Don't get me wrong, I like the Heavy Gear RPG & other products); I have the 1st & 2nd edition books with supplements, miniatures, etc; all good.
So this download (PDF) was a disappointment.

I'm hoping for an updated/improved version.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cogs,Cakes & Swordsticks RPG & Setting [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Modiphius
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2014 13:11:24
CCS is an extremely rules-lite D6 RPG.
There are no lists for equipment, weapons, or armour, vehicles, etc.
Artwork is black and white, and not too bad.

The CCS system has 3 attributes (Cakes, Cogs & Swordsticks), basically a tri-stat system like BESM or the Warrior, Rogue Mage RPG.

I feel that both PDFs could have been cheaper (maybe £2-£3 each) considering CCS is only 55 pages, and Atlantis is 43 pages.
Yes, there is quite a bit of background material, etc to get the players in the mood for the time period; but CCS just seems too 'lite' for the £7.99 price.

Steamcraft (Perilous Journeys Publishing) is £8.99 and 216 pages, and appears a more 'fuller' RPG for the price; although not meant to be played anywhere like CCS.

Don't get me wrong, CCS is a good 'lite' RPG; just not a lot of 'content' for the price.

CCS is £7.99, and Atlantis is £5.99 (£13.98), down to £11.99 - not a bad saving.
£4-£5 for both wouldn't be too bad a price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cogs,Cakes & Swordsticks RPG & Setting [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caeron 3000 The Science Fiction Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Magique Productions, Ltd
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2014 11:49:45
This PDF is 171 pages long (167 pages being the actual content).

Artwork: pretty good (all black and white).
Caeron 3000 is basically OSR (D&D) space fantasy.

It has the character sheet (2 page), world map & other sheets with a sample scenario at the back.

There are other OSR sci-fi RPGs: Star Without Numbers (£11.99 - Core, or the free edition), Hulks & Horrors (£8.99) for example.
I believe Dragonstar would also be among the list as well.

Apart from the 2 reviews here, there are no other reviews of any kind on any other RPG sites.
The website (caeron3000.com) is non-existent.
Magiqueproductions.com is barely working; only the Home & Contact are working, and have no mention of Caeron 3000.
It's as if they've just tucked it under the carpet and forgotten it.

The only colour is the front & back covers.

At £4.50, it doesn't seem too bad (some support from the publisher would be nice).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Caeron 3000 The Science Fiction Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Romp
Publisher: Golden Griffon Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2014 09:14:23
At £2.11, this is actually quite good.
The PDF is 44 pages long (42 are the actual content).
The system reminds me of 2 RPG systems: WEG D6 and BESM Tri-Stat).
WEG similarity: abilities are D6 based, for example one might be 3D (3D6), while another could be 2D (2D6).
As for the Tri-Stat similarity, the 3 abilities/attributes are Body, Mind and Skill (BESM: Body, Mind, Spirit).
You choose one at 3D, another at 2D, and the last one at 1D.

The attributes/abilities can be upgraded with gold (P23): 100Gp to increase an ability by 1D (max 3D).
It states on the last page it's for 9+ years, which seems about right.

I'll try it out on some of the younger members of the family, see how they get along with it.
It's good to see RPGs like this for younger RPG players (there's also the JEN Games one as well).

I'd give this 4.5/5, a good introduction to young RPG players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Romp
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I\'m always looking to update and improve, so feedback is appreciated.
Pits & Perils
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2013 08:01:14
At 80 pages (75 are the actual content), it definitely gives the feel of the 'shoddy primitive affairs' of the early 1970's.
The publisher has done a good job doing this, complete with the 'typewriter look' on the pages.
The artwork has that 'cliche medieval look', and does give that early 1970's look.

No character sheet that I can see, but the PDF does give you a website to download one.
It does have that 'olde' tabletop fantasy RPG look.
Page 5 seems a little confusing perhaps: roll 2d6 for your character's attributes and abilities (roll 11-12, and you get 2 choices), the attributes of STR, INT, DEX, WIS, CON, CHA are listed under abilities (shouldn't they be attributes?) - typing error?
Hit points are governed by your class, and what armour/shield you're using.
So, for example, a level 0 warrior (10HP) with chain mail and shield would have 10/+3 hit points.
After obtaining Labyrinth Lord, Tombs & Terrors, Basic Fantasy, etc, it's ok.
It might not be to everyone's taste.
Some people might think it's worth £4.35; others might not.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pits & Perils
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fallen Utopia
Publisher: Homepage Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2013 06:50:18
At £1.87/$2.99, it seems quite a bargain.
But (there's always a but), there's NO indication of what dice to use (most strange).
Although it does say the system is very open-ended.

The ToC (Table of Contents) are a page number off (Skills are p9, not p8, Talents are p13, not p12, etc).

The Generating Ability Scores on p5 might be a little confusing to some.

Nice font for the heading, actual content is approximately 32 pages.
Not ink heavy (no pictures).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fallen Utopia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
In the new file update, we have fixed the Table of Contents error and added the Basics section. Thanks for the review, Stephen.
Quick Decks 1: Starter Pack
Publisher: DSL Ironworks
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2013 08:31:59
A good printer friendly map set.
The pdf is 31 pages (25 pages are the actual maps and items to 'occupy' the maps, including a blank map page.
Good usage tips (p.4) for setting different scales (25mm, 20mm & 15mm).
Well worth the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Decks 1: Starter Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Engage: Spaceship Combat
Publisher: Red Wyvern Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2013 05:02:59
At 94 pages, this PDF of spaceship warfare looks quite good.

This reminds me of Star Fleet Battles (SFB), with it's power allocation system.
I believe someone said it reminded them of SFB with the numbers filed off.

A good number of pictures to show off the various starship models from various manufacturers.
Also includes some themed fleet lists.

The Red Wyvern site does provide some downloads (even a printer friendly ship sheet!).


I would like to give it 5 stars, but the PDF is ink intensive.
A printer friendly version would have been good.
At £6.59, it's fairly good, and should remind you of SFB.

Worth a look at.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Engage: Spaceship Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Stephen, Thanks for your review, we do now have a Tablet/Printer friendly version that comes with all electronic copies of Engage! It should dramatically cut down on ink costs (only text boxes, text and the bare essential images). It comes as a PDF that has also been designed for use on a tablet (small files size) with links from the contents page and a home button on each page to take you back to the contents for quick and easy use. Cheers, Red Wyvern Games Team.
Freefall The Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Friz Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2013 13:14:56
At 48 pages long, Freefall reminds me little of Futurama (a little).
It gives players a chance to play comedic sci-fi scenarios.
Your character starts off with 6-9 positive traits and 1-4 negative traits.
Task rolls involve rolling a D6 plus a D6 for each applicable trait.

Freefall might be an acquired taste (you need a funny bone).
Characters also have notable gear.

At £1.30, it's good for the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Freefall The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Parsec
Publisher: Jolly Roger Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2013 15:26:31
I can see why this PDF has been reduced (£13.25 reduced to £7.95); you CAN'T print it!
That's why I've decided to give it 3/5, otherwise, I'd have given 4-5/5.
The website (www.parsecrpg.com), gives you the character & ship sheet to download (resources section).

Parsec seems quite good for a RPG; weapons, equipment, armour, etc have traits.
The system is D6. So 5D6@3 means roll 5D6, and 3+ is a success.
Sounds a little similar to the FUGLI system (Friz Games).

Artwork: fairly good.
The PDF counts in at 130 pages.
In some ways, I prefer Distant Worlds (D6 system).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Parsec
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 70 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates