DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Rapture: The End of Days. Theological Sci-Fi Horror Core Rules
Publisher: StoryWeaver
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/06/2011 20:10:29
Ah, Rapture! Several weeks ago a friend told me about this game, and I promptly forgot about it until I saw it floating around here on DriveThru. The premise is very religious in nature. God has returned and taken the righteous unto him, and cleansed the Earth by fire. And only the Earth. Man's outworld colonies and expansion efforts were of, apparently, no interest to him. As Earth served as the communications hub for all of Man's endeavors, everyone is instantaneously plunged into a communications blackout, without any idea as to what is going on. This premise is very interesting and provides a lot of ideas and problems to explore. The rules are very simple and are very easy to get the hang of. Creating your PC is a simple and quick task. Yet, for it's simplicity, some of the things that define your character will make for extremely interesting PC/PC interaction. With each PC having a differing religious view and/or political allegiance, the possibility for amazing fireworks is unlimited. The layout of the book was good, although the white text on black background made me go cross-eyed for the first few pages until my eyes got used to it. Also, the text was rife with spelling and grammar errors. However, these are extremely minor complaints and I don't feel that they detract from the book or the game much, if at all. This book is a quick read and the material is well presented and easy to understand. Despite it's flaws, I think this is a great game with a great setting and a good presentation!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rapture: The End of Days.   Theological Sci-Fi Horror Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stellar Wind
Publisher: Higher Dimension Games
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/22/2011 15:10:28
This game has many options for the Hard Scifi fan. The amount of detail in the book is absolutely astounding. If a situation comes up in game, and you're not sure how to handle it, there's likely a description of how to go about resolving it in the book. Character generation is quick and fun, but almost entirely random. While it IS a lot of fun, I would have liked to see rules for a more planned out character generation process. I can easily think of some hacks to make it less random, but it would have been nice to see them in the book. Ship and Planet creation looks like it will take a bit of work. I, for one, would enjoy doing that, I just haven't had a chance to set the time aside and do it. There are a LOT of options for you to custom build what you want. When reading the book, the game seemed more complicated that I believe it actually is, simply because there are some many options for the players to choose from. Character advancement/growth occurs through putting your character in stressful situations. I love that, but really wanted to see an alternate method added in for training up skills. This system appears to do away with XP completely, which is a bonus, as now I can concentrate on the story and have my character get better organically, with all growth tied directly to the story and events that occur in game. As a Hard Scifi fan, this game has a lot of things that make me giddy and revving at the gate to play it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stellar Wind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pantalla y libro de apoyo del GuardiƔn
Publisher: Edge Entertainment (Espana)
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/14/2011 14:56:33
Este libro es mucho mas de lo que pense. La pantalla del Guardian es una herramienta esencial para juegos de GUMSHOE, con resumenes de reglas de combate, estadisticas de armas y reglas para cordura. Pero, el libro es el premio de este tesoro. Empieza con una vista a las habilidades y como usarlas de maneras diferentes a lo normal, segun las reglas presentadas en el primer libro. Y tambien muestra unos conceptos y maneras de trabajar de los anos 30, en donde suceden las historias de Cthulhu. Despues, nos presentan con unos PNJ para usar durante el juego. Los detalles de PNJ que presentan me encantan, y dan a los jugadores algo que recordar de cada personaje y los ganchos son muy utiles. Considerando todo, este libro es esencial para cualquier Guardian que quiera jugar este juego. Una queja: Me dieron la impresion que el libro tambien tendria pistas y sugerencias para estilos mas improvisadas. No encontre informacion sobre esa tema.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pantalla y libro de apoyo del GuardiƔn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Brave New World
Publisher: Alderac Entertainment Group
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/12/2011 16:36:01
I purchased the hardcover print edition of this book. In regards to the printing, the pages seemed a little thin for my liking, but the cover was very nice and the book was very well bound. I have no complaints there.

As far as the game goes, the setting is phenomenal! It stimulates my imagination as I read through the book and myriads of stories and scenes pop into my head, just waiting to be seen in a game! If only for the setting, alone, this book is way worth getting.

The system leaves much to be desired. It appears to be a version of Savage Worlds, but without the good things I love about SW. The character generation options are confusing and the rules are a bit more complex that I feel they need to be. The char gen options are also rather limited. I'm sure there are people who will love the system, but I'm not one of them.

All in all, this book is worth it! If you want to play in a world of dark heroes, where the criminals are the good-guys and the superheroes are on the run, this is the game for you!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Brave New World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mirrors: Infinite Macabre
Publisher: White Wolf
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/28/2011 09:59:25
This product has me as giddy as a school girl. Scifi is my favorite genre and the nWoD is one of my favorite systems. And This. Book. Rocks! I downloaded it as soon as I found it available and devoured it. It is filled with ideas and variations for all the different monsters in the WoD and shows how to create space ships! And space has gates! Of course, with their own, World of DARKness flavor. This book is amazing and has me jumping up and down. I'm crazy excited about this supplement. The rules for Other creation are excellent. You want to play an alien? Well, you can. And you can make the alien into pretty much anything you want, by choosing several qualities from a very comprehensive list. This supplement goes on the assumption that the veils of secrecy surrounding the monsters have been dropped, but even so, you could change things a bit to maintain that secrecy. True to it's Mirrors origins, this book is a toolkit of things. Take what you want, leave what you don't. I'm excited to play nWoD Space Opera!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirrors: Infinite Macabre
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hot Chicks 2011 Adult Calendar
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/26/2010 22:38:00
A nice collection of Hot Chicks in a useful calendar. Sadly, it seems that it's of limited utility as other than eye-candy as you can't put the PDF on your desktop and printing high quality could be problematic.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hot Chicks 2011 Adult Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Soldiers of deep space
Publisher: Black Hand Source
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/11/2010 09:17:35
This is a good collection of some scifi soldier art. Whether you prefer lineart, or toned art, it's got versions of both for all the subjects. The file sizes are good and the download is not huge.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soldiers of deep space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2010 14:28:01
The reviews this product has already received are so well written, I hardly think I have much to add. As a scifi enthusiast, I'm always on the lookout for good scifi games. This one has shown itself to be a solid entry. I love the setting. It's interesting and has multiple possibilities for exploration and expansion. I'm looking forward to sitting down with a group to this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes & Heroines - The Ladies of Adventure
Publisher: WyldFurr
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/06/2010 14:29:24
Don't let the price put you off on this collection. The number of figures listed is what comes with this collection... but you get multiple stances and actions for each figure. This is a wonderful collection of sexy female Virtual Tabletop tokens. From walking stances, to action stances, to seductive to dead and dying, this collection has it all to reflect your character's state on the screen. I was a little sad that the images were so small as I would have enjoyed being able to partake of the eye-candy as a much larger percentage of the screen. However, that's not what it's about. And the figures are very attractive with some attractive costumes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Heroines - The Ladies of Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grittier Magic
Publisher: Eridanus Books
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/29/2010 09:26:14
I'm not a Pathfinder player and haven't played D&D for years, but this supplement piqued my interest. I love the idea that magic is dangerous. I like the way it's implemented in this supplement. Having each spell cast come down to a Spellcasting roll is great, especially as the caster has options and sacrifices they can do to boost the possibility that the spell will succeed. I was slightly disappointed in the Rituals, as they basically come down to a single Spellcraft roll and GP expenditure. I would have liked them to be a more involved process. I would also have liked to see more dangers inherent in spell poisoning. While I love that someone suffering from it can poison others, I would expect more magical mutations. All in all, I love this supplement. It just may be the book that gets me to play Pathfinder.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grittier Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

the farm: a game of hunger and horror
Publisher: Memento Mori Theatricks
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/29/2010 08:57:52
The Farm is a super quick read. However, you'll find yourself wondering how to play as the setting is a very different approach from most (if not all) games and the subject material may be a bit challenging to accept. Having said that, the game is very solid. This is a great game for a quick pick-up and will make you think hard about what you're doing. There were a couple times when I felt the text could have made an explanation a bit more clear, but after reading it another time, it makes sense.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
the farm: a game of hunger and horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Systems, Worlds, And Adventures
Publisher: Gamer Lifestyle
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/29/2010 08:52:31
This book is an enjoyable and quick read. If you're looking to publish your own gaming products, this would be a very good read to start. It does not give you a step by step "how-to" solution, but does present some of the pitfalls and some ideas on unique approaches to publishing. As inspiration, this book excels!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Systems, Worlds, And Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Smallville Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/12/2010 20:00:03
This book is my first exposure to the Cortex system. And to Smallville. At times, I did find some of the references to be over my head, as they referenced situations and characters from the show. But that didn't take away from my understanding of the system. This system is very broad and allows you to do so much! The structure actually makes the system feel MORE free and loose. I'm very excited to port these rules over to other TV shows and settings. The layout is excellent and makes for a very easy read. The only issue I had was that the font seemed a bit small when viewing full screen, but that's an extremely minor issue. There's so much I love about the Cortex Plus system as presented in this book. The ability to pull on an opposing character's injuries and add that to your roll? Genius. I highly recommend this book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Smallville Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lpm
Publisher: Action Games
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/15/2010 08:21:12
This game is very short, weighing in at 15 pages in the pdf (5 of which are blank, at the end). There are typos and run-on sentences throughout the text that make it a little difficult to understand the rules. The basic rules are extremely simple and would work well for an extremely quick throwdown game. The advanced rules allow for a little more complexity and different weapon types held by the soldiers. Vehicle are represented very simply and are basically a bonus to the most experienced soldier among their crew. The game suffers in the fact that there is no point system, or no system at all to balance both sides of a game, other than to make each side exactly the same. The rules do talk about cover, but don't touch full cover. The idea is sound and it looks like it could be a cool game, but I think some of the ideas needed a little bit more development. This is a perfect game to tweak yourself, but I think if you played it straight out of the box, it'd be disappointing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lpm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Locked and Loaded
Publisher: Bailey Records
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/13/2010 16:39:46
Full of energy and heavy hitting, this song will pump up your players going into any high action scene. The voice samples sound a bit out of place, but overall, the music is a great scene set up.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Locked and Loaded
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 77 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Pinnacle Entertainment
Pinnacle Entertainment
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (268)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate