DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Operation Nearscape: an Osiris File
Publisher: Sword's Edge Publishing
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2011 08:04:58
You are an agent for a secret government organization in our world slightly twisted five minutes away and to the right. Yes: you investigate the strange and the beautiful. I liked it. The background is systemless and the organization and world has enough to start but I'm a bit neutral. I feel it was missing something and I'm not sure what. Liked: our modern world with a substrata of Terra Incognita (touches of Warren Ellis' Planetary) and secrets has enough to start. Disliked: I hope there is more to come as it feels a bit incomplete in some way.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Operation Nearscape: an Osiris File
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wreck Of Alpha Central
Publisher: BlackWyrm Games
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2011 07:57:49
There are good writers, and then there are great writers. Lizard is a great writer, his setting overflows with playable ideas, creative kick-starters (triggers I call them) and engaging discription. The classic SF genre trope of a world city when it gets wrecked -- think Star Wars Episode III and the Imperial planet city cut off and the lights go out -- gets a thoughough workout here with logical extensions of what would happen and some things that aren't logical but wonderfully bizaare you would never think of (the way the energy is kept shut off is both plot point, source of intelligent traps, and big bad wolf to defeat or work with). Although written for HERO system, the background itself is nearly systemless (only a few statblocks here and there) so can be used in any setting. Highly, highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wreck Of Alpha Central
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Further Tales of Treachery
Publisher: Anaithnid Games
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2011 07:49:17
This took me a long time to review because although Fudge is an easy system to learn and has many options, this game has very subtle aspects and is a high-trust game for serious roleplayers and experienced gamemasters. This expansion has more examples and plots. Just remember that the plots will need some work because the original lacks a setting and the author has to be generic enough to fit into the setting your group has devised and specific enough to be engaging. I don't think you'd understand this without the first book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Further Tales of Treachery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of Treachery
Publisher: Anaithnid Games
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2011 07:45:39
This took me a long time to review because although Fudge is an easy system to learn and has many options, this game has very subtle aspects and is a high-trust game for serious roleplayers and experienced gamemasters. The overview is you are in a sword-noir genre, so if you are familiar with the film noir genre and combine it with fantasy and maybe a dash of pulp this is an excellent place to start. Warning: there is no strong setting, and it really needs that in my opinion -- or at least something more than the reading list provided. The genre is strong and several examples are given, but this is part of game to create your own that I think needed a bit more guidance for GMs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Treachery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D-Percent - 100 Character Traits
Publisher: Black Falcon Games LLC
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2011 08:51:42
Compared to "100 Spaceship Traits", 100 Character Traits (by Black Falcon Games) is distinctly lacking. No definitions of traits, no plot ideas within those definitions. Just one page with a few pictures and a list of 100 adjectives (Helpful, Wary) you can quickly find or choose. At that level it does just fine. I'm just not sure the $0.75 price tag is too high.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D-Percent - 100 Character Traits
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bulldogs!
Publisher: Galileo Games
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2011 06:29:35
Liked: Very few errata (for example, only saw one XX reference (on pg. 63); well-organized and focused action (with expansion examples). Really well written with plenty of examples.
Disliked: no adventure? well, shoot-out in a loading dock is just the map and a sketch of things to destroy. On the other tentacle, good advice on adventure design specific for the setting.
Overall: Enthusiasm overwhelms the few flaws. Hopefully more adventures soon. Although FATE-based, not based on the other SF games Diaspora or Starblazers but very easy to learn (all the rules for Bulldogs here).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Powder, Passion & Plunder
Publisher: UKG Publishing
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2011 06:22:49
Disliked: A bit dry; only a few errata (such as the font change on pg. 30).
Liked: I like the "quick pick stunt packages" (pp. 28-29), good adventures.
Wanted: Would be nice to see some terms defined that aren't ("Riposte") and/or sword fighting example.
Overall: Based on the Spirit of the Century SRD with some changes for the pirate genre. Has some brief advice for space pirates, fantasy pirates, and including voodoo magic.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Powder, Passion & Plunder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masks: 1,000 Memorable NPCs for Any Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Engine Publishing
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2011 06:18:10
Incredible. Clean, well-organized, almost zero typographical errors, inspired... If you liked Eureka: 501 Plots, you'll like this one. NPCs are given background, motivation, names, and either "neutral, ally or villain" along with other tags ("Academic, leader, focal" to name a few) in three genres and several indexes covers not only most of the tags, but also the genres, groups, by author, and more. Note that none of their traits (Leader, Academic, etc.) are rated to give a power/skill level (better than your character or just a mook).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks: 1,000 Memorable NPCs for Any Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dicey Tales #1
Publisher: Evil DM Productions
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2011 07:25:08
Althoug written for Barbarians of Lemuria, the text is incredibly clear and easy to convert to my own favorite system. Pulpy adventure at the end is a highlight.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dicey Tales #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Agents of SWING: Snake Eyes
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2011 07:23:02
Ah that old classic, the Bond/Napoleon Solo and countless others causing trouble at the casino, going up against an interesting villain. My only wish would be some sample Aspects for the casino, incase a fight or chase breaks out. It feels a little dry, otherwise. Small problem, though.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agents of SWING: Snake Eyes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of Treachery Ultralite
Publisher: Anaithnid Games
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2011 07:29:46
I like it, especially the Fudge material which reminds me strongly of Over the Fudge from Fudgefactor. Would some examples (characters, actions, combat) or a short adventure hurt?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Treachery Ultralite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Realms
Publisher: Starbright
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2011 08:15:11
Realms (for Fate 2.0 I think) by Brett Fitzpatrick really demonstrates the author (of Extreme Future) is one of the more creative talents in independent publishing. All the bizarre, gonzo creatures (Muscaliete, the extremely hot human-boar hybrid) you find in Extreme Future apply to his fantasy setting. Unlike his previous product, the organization is much clearer, there are page numbers, and he has several sample adventures. As for the setting, humans are not in control because... uh... Evil! Plague! Dogs! Okay, this history of the (colonized?) world got smacked silly. It's fun. Sort of Skyrealms of Jorune crossed with Gamma World. With more dogs. Complaints? Well, way too little description of sea adventures and the magic section could use another supplement.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Realms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Wrecks
Publisher: Starbright
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2011 08:07:08
Space Wrecks for Extreme Future, like the first supplement and like Extreme Future itself suffers from some organization problems and technical details (like, no page numbers). But on the other hand it nicely describes new equipment, psionic skills, and some characters. Like Extreme Futures itself it has that wonderful Fortean bizarre... things... (like the sentry guns that look like dogs). The wrecks themselves are incredibly creative, even if some of them only come across as concepts without much detail. I liked the idea of the wrekced generation ship, the hospical horror wreck, the Ancient Precursor zoo and some of the "denziens" described (like the Quolash, a giant tape worm in the hall). Hmmm. It even inspired a wreck in my mind: P.T. Barnum's circus, the original building before the fire. I recommend this supplement.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Wrecks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Agent's Casefile
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2011 07:37:25
Fifty pages of character sheets and a GM sheet listing the modified FATE traid ladder used in the Agents of S.W.I.N.G. book, and brief rules (such as automatic fire, or how to handle bit-players/mooks). Like the main book, well-organized.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Agent's Casefile
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hack-n-Slash: Fantasy Roleplay - Item Cards, Set #1
Publisher: Digital Alchemy
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2011 07:33:56
These are six-to-a-page item cards for Fudge Hack 'n Slash. They show the item, how much damage (or protection) it does (or absorbs), how much it costs, and how much it weighs. That sentence provides some basic information the cards lack. I printed mine out then glued them to some light cardboard. I like it and hope they come out with a critter/monster deck and a character deck (complete with personalities and motivations).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hack-n-Slash: Fantasy Roleplay - Item Cards, Set #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates