DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
GMs Companion
Publisher: Chameleon Eclectic
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2013 06:39:03
Although the GM's Companion is written with a modern setting in mind, and most of the advice is toward the techno-thriller genre (and good advice it is -- the list of movies is very interesting), it can easily be used for science fiction and fantasy (the airport could be a very interesting fantasy world location with a little work). Recommended. Use with the free d6 Adventure Locations on this website.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GMs Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The GM's Real-World Reference
Publisher: Bentonite Studios
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2013 08:08:30
This is incredibly useful. I have often seen/heard the phrase "write what you know" and that often plays into your gaming. You use the five senses (gritty side walks, sulpher-smelling dungeon rooms, lemon-tang lamas bread) and combine names and titles and backgrounds. But when you want to go THERE, see what THAT is like, you need research. This book is incredibly helpful if you don't have the time for that amount of research. Pick a place (The Crooked Forest) and a person (Hilde Mangold, genius scientist and technician) from this book and in a page or two you have triggers, hooks, ideas. I can't wait for another one (the selection ranges all over the map and history). I wish this were in print.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GM's Real-World Reference
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Intervention: The Official Series Bible
Publisher: Asparagus Jumpsuit
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 07:33:46
One of the Official Series Bible series. You will need the main document for this. Greek-inspired superheros plus soap-opera roleplaying. Good for "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" television-style series or can be used to rough-out a campaign using Legends Walk (available on this site) as your own TV series.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Intervention: The Official Series Bible
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kaiju Patrol: The Official Series Bible
Publisher: Asparagus Jumpsuit
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 07:31:06
One of the Official Series Bible series. You will need the main document for this. Atomic monsters are on the loose! For fans of large monsters stomping in the city.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kaiju Patrol: The Official Series Bible
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knights of Torque & Recoil: The Official Series Bible
Publisher: Asparagus Jumpsuit
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 07:28:57
One of the Official Series Bible series. You will need the main document for this. In this TV series you are part of a group of pulp-era adventurers. Set your dials to 1920s to 1940s, from action hero to powers-of-the-mind masked crime fighters.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of Torque & Recoil: The Official Series Bible
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Official Series Bible
Publisher: Asparagus Jumpsuit
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 07:25:02
The Official Series Bible is really nice. If you are a fan of Now Playing (available on this site) or Primetime Adventures (elsewhere), this series is an excellent way to break out a pretend television series that allows you to set up roleplaying adventures. Even if you are not a fan of the idea of playing a character in a TV series, each Official Series Bible is good enough to inspire a campaign. The text is clear and concise. The few downsides is that the Official Series Bibles maybe a bit too short. Otherwise, these systemless write-ups are top-quality.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Official Series Bible
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

10 Star Systems
Publisher: Art of War Games
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2012 07:15:59
I wasn't sure what to expect, but I know it was more than this. You get 10 Star names and their solar systems. These objects consist of a name and a type (e.g. Terrestrial, Asteroid, Rock Planet), and then some data.

The data did nothing to trigger ideas, and that's the problem for extended play. On the other hand you can put the data together in a quick, short description such as: "The orbital period of New Kenya is X; it is largely iron/silicate, has 1.25 times Earth gravity, 10 percent water and 5 percent ice, the atmosphere is dense and corrosive and has a colony and an advanced alien artifact."

That could be enough for a grand space-opera setting, but note that is all you get. Compare with West End Games d6 planets, or Hero games planets, or GURPS Space Atlas.

I think I was expecting one page with descriptions, adventures, and characters rather than a few lines of data.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
10 Star Systems
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fudge On The Fly
Publisher: Occult Moon
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2012 10:41:23
Previously only available to members of the Yahoo Communities Fudgemembers. This is an excellent "create-your-character-as-you-go" design using the Fudge system. You will need to know how the Fudge levels (Terrible to Superb) and action resolution work to use this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge On The Fly
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Toys for the Sandbox 40: The King's Gate
Publisher: Occult Moon
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2012 10:34:11
Like: Concise and descriptive enough to be useful
Dislike: All-italic font hard to read, even when printed out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Toys for the Sandbox 40: The King's Gate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fudge Relationships
Publisher: Darkstar Eclectic Media
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2012 07:59:13
What they are: a way of describing relationships to other characters using the Fudge system (but the idea can be used in other games).
What they do: provide a bonus on die rolls, or story-dependent benefits.

Like: clear, interesting idea even if you don't think character relationships need a mechanic to encourage them (as opposed to roleplaying them).

Dislike: Far to short (but this isn't really a dislike as I wanted more). They only provided benefits, but there is an implied opposite to this concept. Watch any soap opera to see penalties for dice rolls or Trouble for story-relationships (this idea isn't stated but it exists in my opinion). So this article could be expanded.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fudge Relationships
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes of Oz: Instant Oz Quickstart Rules
Publisher: Darkstar Eclectic Media
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2012 07:51:03
Liked: Clearly laid out with only a few rought spots. Story-centered roleplaying drama encouraged thoughout and supported by the rules. It's got lots of examples, except for an adventure or two. A game with a deep love of its source.

Dislike: Can't think of much. The few rough spots will improve. But I'm biased: I've playtested this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of Oz: Instant Oz Quickstart Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extreme Future Galaxy Politics Map
Publisher: Starbright
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2012 07:42:53
I like it. It's colorful and you can tell where things are in relation to one another. I can see how you can get an idea of how far away your friends and enemies are.

Dislikes: it's only one page. I hope the author details one or two areas of the map in the future.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Future Galaxy Politics Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

3 Generations After The End
Publisher: Gamer Assembly
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2012 07:41:40
Likes: Neat way to introduce setting. Introduction and key concepts are on one page, followed by several 1-page essays (a place, a person, an adventure location). I also liked the quick character concepts with a sentence or two for roleplaying, they were are very well done. The illustrations are simple and line-drawn but evokative.

Dislikes: It might be a bit too short. The section on magic is one page and gave only a few suggestions; I felt I still needed some advice on how to stage magic in the setting (or maybe my frustration was more with "this is your setting, go play" style of book that needed a couple of examples for different levels of magic?). Although I liked the many plot hooks and one-paragraph adventures, I wanted something a bit more fleshed out (these last two sentences are actually a "like" -- it left me wanting more rather than feeling too frustrated to continue).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
3 Generations After The End
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Private Railroad Car, 1900-1935
Publisher: Loren Wiseman Enterprises
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2012 07:12:39
This is a good product. It provides two styles of railroad car description: the historical and the base of operations for a player charater team (or villain hideout). I thought I would have images of Wild Wild West running through my head as I read this, but the description is incredibly good. I want one of these railcars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Private Railroad Car, 1900-1935
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Operation Nearscape: an Osiris File
Publisher: Sword's Edge Publishing
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2011 08:04:58
You are an agent for a secret government organization in our world slightly twisted five minutes away and to the right. Yes: you investigate the strange and the beautiful. I liked it. The background is systemless and the organization and world has enough to start but I'm a bit neutral. I feel it was missing something and I'm not sure what. Liked: our modern world with a substrata of Terra Incognita (touches of Warren Ellis' Planetary) and secrets has enough to start. Disliked: I hope there is more to come as it feels a bit incomplete in some way.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Operation Nearscape: an Osiris File
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 110 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates