DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Iron Bay Megatropolis
Publisher: Louis E Danhoff - AHC
by David S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2014 10:52:10
A solid addition to any ICONS collection! IBM includes the standard fare of superhero-city material. Don't expect to be blown away- it's a city. But if you are looking for a city to base your supers campaign in, IBM will do the trick- no problem. I would only add that I wish there had been a few adventure hooks included, but the narrative included in the back of the pdf will get any competent GMs creative juices flowing. Additionally, the included heroes and villains are a welcome addition. For the price, its a no-brainer!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Bay Megatropolis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ultimate NPC Deck: Obsidian Apocalypse
Publisher: LPJ Design
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/02/2013 09:42:47
A great collection of dynamic art that's obviously perfect for an Obsidian Apocalypse campaign, but also for any sci-fi or fantasy experience.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate NPC Deck: Obsidian Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ruined Mill
Publisher: DramaScape
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/22/2012 11:56:04
Ruined Mill, by DramaScape, is a beautiful overhead color map, which can be used for both hex and square-based gameplay.

The great thing about this product, is that the map comes with the overlay visible or without. As I use maps for online gaming, one thing that has frustrated me about other battlemap products is the option to have a map without the overlay.

The map itself is vibrant and detailed, with lots to look at, but not overly busy. The pdf is 60 pages, which also includes an overall map view.

I would suggest that anyone looking for inspirational maps, to check out DramaScape's other products as well!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruined Mill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City Blocks
Publisher: DramaScape
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/07/2012 14:11:41
First of all, let me say that GMs need more products, like DramaScape's City Blocks! As a GM, I go through certain phases of gaming genres. Currently I am in my Modern/SciFi phase. As 99.9% of my gaming is done online these days, I use battlemaps for my major encounters. I am always on the lookout for more products that can be used in a modern or scifi setting.

There are TONS of battlemaps available for fantasy-themed games, but high-quality moder/scifi maps are hard to find and City Blocks is what I have been waiting for! 15 cut-away section are offered here, that can be used seperately and- get this! The seperate maps may be joined together for one huge 40" x 30" map of 4 city blocks!

All maps in this 22 page pdf are in color and the maps are detailed enough to use as-is.

David's Gripes: Map resolution may be kind of a let down for online gaming, when zooming in for street-level token use.

Final Word: A great effort by DramaScape. I have purchased other products of theirs and have been just as pleased. Be sure to check City Blocks out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City Blocks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Mil Spec Tech 2
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/25/2012 00:06:26
Mil Spec Tech 2 is a great addition to the selection of toys and the headaches that any respectable runners may run into. Although if you see some of the heavy-hitters in this pdf coming your way, any runner with half a brain will lay low!

Included in this full color, 31-page sourcebook pdf are drones, military vehicles (air and land), a handful of guns and even a selection of missiles and torpedoes! Basically just a little something to get a rigger's mouth watering, I should think.

Just to be clear, this supplement is something I would only consider using for a well-seasoned SR campaign, as the equipment is nothing you would see on a typical street run. We're talking big-time arms dealing here, chummers!

Mil Spec Tech 2 is a fun read, and you get just about what you would expect for the price; although a table of contents would have been nice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Mil Spec Tech 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Restless Dreams: A Guide to Modern Psionics
Publisher: Urban Labyrinth Productions
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/18/2012 00:26:43
Having started a d20 Modern-based sci-fi campaign, I was looking foreward to using psionics. But when I looked in the core d20 Modern book, I was sorely disappointed at what I saw. After reading many reviews, posts on forums and peering through many game systems and settings, I finally found a psionics system that doesn't feel like futuristic spell-casting!

Restless Dreams doesn't have everything I wanted, but the sytem works and "feels" like sci-fi! Its much more expansive than the bare-bones psionics in the core d20 modern book and the feats/skills/powers mechanic fits into the d20 system neatly.

Very pleased with this purchase! The only glaring omission is interior artwork!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Restless Dreams: A Guide to Modern Psionics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest 6th Edition
Publisher: Design Mechanism
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/13/2012 08:51:21
Simply a well put-together rpg system that contains all a GM or Player needs in one pdf! Highlights include:

- A setting-generic system. Creative GMs can mold RuneQuest to fit just about any fantasy campaign idea they have.

- Immersive Character Creation. Being a huge fan of point-buy character creation, RQ fits the bill with a very in depth and fun way to create a character that oozes detail.

- Passions. A new way to add drive and goals to your character. Also easy for players to relate and express their character's goals.

- A revised magic system. Almost worth the price of admission alone! The magic is colorful and vibrant. Not just the "same old stuff" gamers have come to expect.

- Combat Effects. Instead of Maneuvers, we now have effects in combat. Same idea, but much better!

- Creatures. Not only do we get a decent creature section, but also guides to creating your own monsters!

Overall an rpg for "intermediate" players and game masters, but well worth the learning curve. For those who have yet to try the RQ rpg, now is the time to start!

D. Semmes

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battlemap - In the Bowels of the Mountain
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/14/2012 08:12:50
This is pdf includes 4 mountain and cave-themed, full color, maps. And the greatest thing ever- the beautiful maps come in both grid and no-grid versions! (Thanks!)

The 4 full-sized color maps included are JPEGS and can be printed out full-sized, if thats your thing. Two of the full-sized maps are massive 24"x24" cave interiors; another is an 11"x12" cave lake detail; and lastly a 24"x24" mountain detail.

Also included are 3 pdf's, which divide the above maps into 8.5"x11" sectors, for at-home printing. Once again, it must be stressed that these full-color map sections can be printed with or without the grid (YAY!).

A very nice product, reflecting the quality that Lord Zsezse Works puts into their pdf's. Highly recommended!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - In the Bowels of the Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stock Art: Ornate Dagger
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/03/2012 19:51:30
Raging Swan Press releases yet another fine art piece! This dagger's lines are crisp and detailed, perfect for print. If I was daring enough, I would get this tatooed on my chest, but since I'm not- I will settle for adding this to my GM treasure trove. Very nice!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Ornate Dagger
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stock Art: Serpent Staff
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/03/2012 19:48:20
A great, dynamic piece of line art that invokes fantastic thoughts of the mage that may have wielded this mighty staff! This piece would be great on the cover of any book, or to help describe a new artifact discovered by an adventuring group. Very nice!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Serpent Staff
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/27/2012 08:39:55
I can't say too much more than what has been said by other reviewers here, so I will keep things short and sweet. Throw all your preconceptions of what a supers game should do- this is a game for comic and rpg game enthusiensts that love to weave stories of adventure.

The game encourages both the "Watcher" (GM) and the Players to let go of needing hard stats for super heroes and to embrace a fluid, more free-form style that, after you get used to it and embrace it, makes perfect sense!

It won't win over many of those who prefer a ton of crunch in their supers games, but there are more than enough options presented within to satisfy those willing to give it a spin. Highly recommended!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zobeck Gazetteer (Pathfinder RPG)
Publisher: Kobold Press
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/13/2012 16:01:18
The Zobeck Gazetteer is a fun delve into the inner workings of the "Free City". Designed to fit into Open Design’s Midgard campaign setting (but fine for any fantasy setting), the ZG is a great read for any GM or Player who loves fantasy cities!

After a brief, 4-page history lesson on the city's history, the pdf goes on to describe both the people and cultures that poulate the city and give it life. Typical of most other fantasy cities, the Free City is home to many a fantastic race. The reader is introduced to humans, dwarves, kobalds and gearforged; all typical residents. Other races are considered to be rare, but not wholly unusual. These include elves, goblins, halflings and lizard folk, among others.

Next we are introduced to the various holidays and fairs that are held in the city; my favorite being "We No Work Day", when the kobold population celebrates! It should be noted that this holiday is never celebrated on the same day each year, and may often occur more than once per year.

The true meat of this pdf are the detailed descriptions of the various city districts and the ZG does not disappoint. Each district is given a full page+ of detail, which includes adventure hooks.

In the next chapter, the underside of the city is examined, detailing the various seedy factions that any fantasy city worth it's weight will have.

"Gods, Cults & Relics of Zobeck" is the section devoted to the divine aspects of the city. Highlights include details about the high priest/priestess of each god and what that god expects of his/her worshipers'. Also detailed is a neat form of "Crab Diving". You have to see it to believe it!

My favorite chapter would have to be the "Denizens of Zobeck". The great artwork and NPC descriptions just ooze with flavor, which chould give any GM a ton of adventure ideas.

Lastly, there is the Magic of Zobeck section, which introduces 2 new schools of magic and over 50 spells. Also included are some nifty magic items; many which have nice twists to them.

In closing, this is a solid product. Minor gripes include the omission of an index and the fact that the city map is in black and white and split over 2 pages. But I highly recommend this product for anyone who is in need of a solid city supplement to drop into their fantasy campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zobeck Gazetteer (Pathfinder RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Earth Magic [Ambient MP3]
Publisher: Lyra Ambient
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/04/2012 02:06:23
This track has a Meditative feel to it, due to the organic effects and semi-chants that echo throughout. It evokes thoughts of a peaceful jungle environment. Truthfully, I can't see using it during a gaming session, but the 9+ minute track is very pleasant, nontheless.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Earth Magic  [Ambient MP3]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clocks and Secrets [Ambient MP3]
Publisher: Lyra Ambient
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/04/2012 01:54:09
Very nice piece that is non-obtrusive enough to be used in the background of a modern or futuristic gaming session, but unique enough to convey a tense mood. I really like how clock sound effects/samples are woven into the track!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clocks and Secrets  [Ambient MP3]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wicked Fantasy: The Reign of Men
Publisher: John Wick Presents
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/01/2012 23:17:55
Having been a "GM" for over 20 years, I have a habit of always wanting to "house rule" rpg supplements. It doesn't matter if it's a module, a campaign, or a creature. I just can't help myself! And I love nothing more than getting my hands on a product that goes "against the grain", turning a classic rpg idea or trope on it's head.

Wicked Fantasy's "The Reign of Men" does just that. This Pathfinder-compatable pdf's mission is to give a new or different twist to the role of mankind in a fantasy campaign. You see, Man is the "Old Race". We were here first. The other races came after. Elves are the new kids on the block. I like that.

We get an explanation of the history of Man and his outlook on life. Then from out of the blue, we are told a shocking truth. I won't spoil it for you, but it explains why man has the courage and the will to perform the amazing feats he does.

Next, we are given background that a GM can use as the backbone of his or her campaign. Political structure, a calendar, and a sketch of the 10 great city-states of Man. These cities are ripe for dropping a group of adventurers into them! Each city has just enough background info to get a GM's head swimming with adventure ideas. As an added treat, each city grants its citizens a related skill bonus of sorts. I must admit having done this with homebrew races and cultures, but never cities. Neat idea!

Then, human-centric Racial Traits and Feats are introduced, some of which are quite clever (see, the Hometown-related traits).

Lastly the Philosopher and Palantine Archetypes are presented; which are a twist on the Cleric and Paladin, respectively. Nothing mind-shattering here, but the archetypes fit the idea and concept that the author is trying to convey, so no foul-no harm.

The pdf itself is in full color, a surprising touch, especially for the fantastic price! Unfortunately there is no Table of Contents and no Index; but the pdf is nicely bookmarked- and for a 32 page pdf, that will do, I think.

Overall this is a really fun product that would be great to integrate somehow, someway into any fantasy campaign- Pathfinder or not. And hopefully, we will see other race-centric products pop up from the talented Gillian Fraser and Mr. Wick duo, although it's good to see the humans strut their stuff first, for a change! And they do it with style!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wicked Fantasy: The Reign of Men
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates